Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
In love with the beach
Business
Wichita falls tx
Aug 17, 2010

Loved it!!

I thought it was a great deal! We had a blast. The staff was very kind and kept our room very tidy. I was very satisfied and would highly recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tummies has great coffee. We went there every day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Fly Lena
Business
Harlingen, Texas
Jul 6, 2010

The Greatest Getaway Ever

Very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex Castillo
Business
RGV, Texas
Jul 26, 2010

Quiet & pleasant stay for the price

After a long Day of having fun at the beach at south padre, it is great to unwind and cool off in a cold air conditioned room at the windwater hotel & Resort..The Rates are very Reasonable and the rooms are very Comfortable i have three small kids and we all had a restful night sleep...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cap'n Roy's Fish Tacos so Delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Jul 31, 2009

So much better than I expected...

After reading all of the negative reviews about Windwater, I was very worried; however, I was pleasantly surprised at what a great experience I had with this hotel. Here are some things I learned: - All king suites face the bay and include a sofa bed. - All rooms have direct access to the parking lot. - The pools were clean all four days that I was there. - There were fishing poles for us to borrow for free. - It takes 5 minutes to walk to the beach. - Breakfast was always served from 8 to 9:30 AM and included coffee, orange juice, apple juice, milk, 2 types of cereal, toast, butter, peanut butter, and jelly. - The lobby was open 7 AM to midnight. - The bay was beautiful, especially in the cool morning and evening breeze. Many fish jump around in the bay! - The housekeepers, front desk workers, and all other staff members I met were very accommodating. Turns out people didn't return the fishing poles to the front desk, so they went out to buy three new ones for me to borrow. That's great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Free Shuttle that travels all throughout South Padre Island and even goes into Port Isabel. Just wave at the yellow bus labeled "The Wave." It will pick you up anywhere along Padre Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Padre Island, Tx.
Jun 2, 2011

Helena

I stayed here and I would not believe the poor reviews, after all it's not like it is a Five Star Hotel. I stayed in a king with a sofa sleeper in the back where the sliding glass door opened to a nice patio on the water where my family and I fished and relaxed to a sweet little view in the evening. The bed and the sleeper were divided by the bathroom and kitchenette, both having there own T.V. So us adults enjoyed our evening while the children slept comfortable. We all absolutely loved it AND the price was perfect. So we had alot of extra money to do all the fun stuff on the island as well. We go all the time. Plus the staff are exceptional as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Money saver and short walk to all the good attractions. It's right in the middle of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alamo, tx
Oct 12, 2009

"fantastic getaway"

best getaway with my spouse went there for bikefest week hotel was just a perfect location near the water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dining was at walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeXXXusMADE
Business
Temple, TX
Apr 30, 2010

Great night stay!!!!

[...]as soon as my wife and I got to our room, we were very happy. The decor was nice,our room had 2 TVs, nice shower and bathroom. The only bad thing is that parking is really bad, but other than that the staff is really friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ericab21
Business
Rio grande, tx
Jun 3, 2013

getaway

Room was nice but I thought location was too far in, overall it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daylight Traveler
Business
Woodland Park, CO
Nov 19, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised

The room was clean...with clean bedding and linens. Phone, clock, microwave and refrigerator were all functional. The room was a good value; however, I am uncertain of the rates during the peak season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alma Garcia
Business
Weslaco
Apr 7, 2014

Great Deal

I am definitely staying here again. The view from the patio is great! Definitely recommend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top