Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan tx
May 2, 2010

ugly hotel ever

the rms were not clean and the bed lining was dirty small pool and dirty. breakfast was horrible. bread was all moldy and green nasty, milk was spoiled one of the most horrible experinced ever we r never going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeXXXusMADE
Business
Temple, TX
Apr 30, 2010

Great night stay!!!!

[...]as soon as my wife and I got to our room, we were very happy. The decor was nice,our room had 2 TVs, nice shower and bathroom. The only bad thing is that parking is really bad, but other than that the staff is really friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
mcallen,tx
Apr 6, 2010

the good the bad, and the ugly

Went for Easter Weekend. I would have liked bigger room like on adds said they gave me Handicap room 1 bed no sofabed and very small price was high for type of room could of done better. Very Poor compare to other stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Could of been Better

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver,CO
Apr 6, 2010

Should of taken more time to research

My Mom and I came to S.Padre to visit for only 2 days, but in the past our family would get a cando. We just wanted something different and a place to rest our heads. Well resting was the last thing we were able to do.We stayed 4/1-4/3, everynight there was loud dance music being played from cars in the parking lot. Crowds of people playing football(hitting other cars),dancing and drinking.The pool was also occupied throughout the night, I guess no Pool hours or sleep hours.Lastly, staff needs to inspect the white towels before placing into rooms. I found 3 large body towels w/ clumps of dark hair in them. I tossed them on the floor and kept the good ones before my mom notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scampi's made us forget about our hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kiteboarder
Business
austin, tx
Apr 6, 2010

this hotel SUCKED

old hotel, holes in comforter, holes in blankets, tile floors were dirty, no carpet. seriously - do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

brewery is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 30, 2010

Great! Great! Great! Will Stay Again!

First- South Padre is a great place to be in Spring, we went after the spring break so it was not very crowded, but still buzzing with tourists. This hotel is excellent, given its value.You get free wifi, good location and free breakfast. The rooms were much cleaner and bigger than the other hotels I have booked in this price range. The (bald)guy at the front desk (I think his name was [...]) was extremely friendly. Their breakfast ended at 9:30 AM but when I called him at 9:50 to inquire, he gladly let us in the breakfast area and kept it open until 10:15 for us. His advice on good restaurants and things to do helped us. If you are in Padre- must go to BLACKBEARD's sea food, the food was amazing, we were in a group of 6 and loved all the 6 dishes. So basically- [...] advice worked!The hotel is conveniently located next to places that let you go do water sports, he also gave us value coupons for water sports which helped us save money. The beach is on the opposite side of the road and the entrance is very close to this hotel. We went to the beach on the north side which was okay, my tip is also check out the beach on the south side- its a little better.This hotel also has a outdoor jacuzzi that we all enjoyed. The hotel provided special beach towels for the pool area, which were clean and said that the hotel owners cared(I have not seen a hotel in this price range even carry a towel)I came to know that they charge deposits and fee during spring break, but since we were out of the break period, we did not have to pay any fee- which was great.I don't know why people are writing bad things about this hotel coz we liked it, given its price. I booked it through orbitz for $40 a night for double bed :) and I believe the walk in charge was 79.99. So, we were really happy!South Padre is a must see, esp if you live in Texas and such places are hard to find......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san marcos tx
Mar 28, 2010

trave

no parking and (to small) very noisy liking shower foset

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spring break college student.
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Mar 18, 2010

Stay at the wind water resort.

I will not be staying here ever agian. we had to pay $20 a person extra for a wrist band so that we could get into the hotel at night. it makes no since to me how they would make you get a parking pass but then also charge you to get a wrist band saying that you stay here. there were lots of hidden fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The nearest clubs or bars that were worth going to were 3 miles or so down the road so i would get somthing close to the southern part of the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 15, 2010

Good price, low quality

It was frustrating at first because of the hidden fees ($200 safety deposit for each room, $20 wristband fee even though it said 10 in the contract). The room didn't seem very clean. There were stains on the towels and sheets. However, the room size, view and amenities were good. I would stay here again if I was looking for a budget friendly option but not for luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There's public access beaches across the streets, in between the other hotels. You can park in the alley and walk into the beach. It was a drive of 2 or 3 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fab5Sunlovers
Business
Texas
Feb 16, 2010

Relaxing Weekend

Great Value, and everything you would want in a motel at the beach. Comfortable beds and a nice pool. Close walk to the beach, or hop on the Wave for a free ride around town. Great value and exactly what we expected for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Parrot Eyes Restuarant isw right next door, and it was quite enjoyable. Coconut/Mango Shrimp were great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top