$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Hotel Map

26.1287 -97.1711
Area served
Notable nearby attractions include the South Padre Island Convention Center; Sea Turtle Inc, the Light House at Port Isabel, and the Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge.
Nearby airports
South Padre Island International is 26 miles.
Area description
Located on South Padre Island, the WindWater Magnuson Hotel is just minutes to Brownsville.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grikkey
Waco, Tx
Jun 12, 2010

A little grungy but worth it over all!

Dirt in corners, mold on bathroom ceiling, and an overall really grungy room had me very wary at first. I didn't want to walk around or take a shower without my flip flops on. However, when in bed, I had no problems at all. It's clean and cozy. We just tossed the comforter first thing and used our own. We had a king suite, and the view out the back is great! And we had a nice place to take our dog out to do her business. She also loved to walk along bay and look at birds and fish. We even saw a large (probably 2-3 ft across) sea turtle our first day. The A/C worked great, and our mini fridge and microwave were great to have. The breakfast is only served from 8-930a, and there's only cereal, coffee, and toast, but I love cereal and my husbands not a huge breakfast eater. A nuisance but not a deal breaker is that the shower head was really low. I'm 5'11" and my husband is 6'1", and we head to bend so low to wash our hair! If you're tall, just be prepared. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and if we were able to get the same $60/night rate that we had, we would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at Steamer's twice because we really enjoyed the food, and the atmosphere is excellent! It's a mostly outdoor restaurant (has covered seating as well) located on the bay and has the best views of the sunset. I had the coconut shrimp and mahi basket.. yum! Hubby loved the mussels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jsysvtzbwodnc
Corpus Christi, TX
Jun 12, 2010

Not too much to say...

The lamps didn't work, there was not a coffee maker, towels were small and old. I suppose the balcony was what we paid for because it was the nicest thing our room had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPG
Laredo, Texas
May 31, 2010

Family vacation weekend

We thought it was going to not only have bigger rooms but be a little bit nicer, decor wise. It was pretty much a run-down motel 6. The refrigerator was not working properly, the wi-fi would not allow me to utilize my computer, shower drain was broken. I wanted to move to another hotel but because of the holiday weekend there was nothing else available. Last night I had to park my car across the street, no parking in the tiny lot called a parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The good thing to come from this trip was that the beach was about 5-6 blocks away and that is pretty much the reason we went there, to go to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tx
May 24, 2010

great weekend getaway

It was just a relaxing getaway. We stayed in and enjoyed the jacuzzi & great weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brownsville, TX
May 16, 2010

Great Weekend

Had a weekend getaway with my girlfriend. Checked in on Saturday morning and as soon as we walked in there was a musty smell to the room, but I have read that it normally happens to most hotel rooms and after putting the AC on, it went away. The room was clean, very spacious for what I paid for and had a beautiful bayview from the back patio area. The only major concern I had was that the front door latch broke and the rear sliding glass door latch wouldnt catch. Fortunately, the rear glass sliding door was taken care of with an additional installed latched. As for the front door, we were informed maintenance wouldn't arrive till the morning, so I simply barracaded the door with the ottoman. The neighbors were noisy at hell, even at 3am in the morning, but not really the hotels fault. Overall, an ok experience. The price I paid essentially made up for some of the deficiencies, though I would consider coming back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
May 9, 2010

Great Value

Really was pleased with the hotel! Our room was on the bottom floor backing up to the water way and we were able to walk out our back door and fish right there. For the price I was very pleased! The bed was surprisingly comfortable as well. Yes like everyone else said the towels were really cheap but again for the price I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
McAllen Texas
May 5, 2010

Quick Weekend Getaway

This was a great place for a weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr & Mrs Leisure time gone wrong
South Padre Island, Texas
May 3, 2010

The night we had to drive home @ 2 a.m.

We waited in the lobby most of the time we spent there, due to the problems we were having. We got down graded to a room without promise of discount. We had to wait for maintence for the a/c, if we wanted it fixed. We were baracaided in our room by the police due to hotel brawls. We were asked to move rooms at 1 in the morning. We had to wait to speak with a manger til 2 in the morning. And his response to our inconviences was,"So?" And ultimatley were left w/o a room @ 2 in the morning with no option, other than to drive home. Did I mention we lived a few hours away? Horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Slavman
Chicago
May 3, 2010

Nice place,but full of v.diffic.guests

I came there for kitesurfing trip, the place is not expensive, that's a good thing, but on the other hand it also attracts people on tight budget with large families. As a result of this, the noise from the swimming pool located in the court is audible all the time until 10pm. There is a lot of families from south of border/Rio Grande Valley, which simply have a very noisy way of living, without respecting the other guests. Police showed once. There was a totally disrespectful guy playing super loud heavy music from his car, insolently ignoring requests to bring it down. Despite a super location (next to kitesurfing/windsurfing areas) and very friendly staff, I disliked the place. Simply because of the other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

almost at the end of town, close to kitesurfing/windsurfing areas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
san juan tx
May 2, 2010

ugly hotel ever

the rms were not clean and the bed lining was dirty small pool and dirty. breakfast was horrible. bread was all moldy and green nasty, milk was spoiled one of the most horrible experinced ever we r never going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search