Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south padre island
Mar 14, 2011

Cheap

I would have to say for the area not many places have high ratings. The staff was friendly, it was cheap and had breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juls76
Business
San benito,tx
Jan 23, 2011

Weekend getaway

Rooms were good beds were very comfortable and service was great r chances of returing there r good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jan 17, 2011

1

Staff was excellent, Hotel room was mostly clean but very old. Bed was hard, there was no hot water and furniture was falling apart. Breakfast was below expectations at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mi Lindo Valle
Business
Harlingen Tx
Dec 6, 2010

"Close to home,sweet getaway"

To begin with the outer looks of this hotel are unjust for the beauty that lies within. As my girlfriend and I pulled up, we thought that we had been fooled for the price. Athough when we walked into our king size suite and openend the back patio door, we were amazed by the picture perfect sunset over looking a few residential homes on the water. I have lived in the Valley all my life and I have never visited the Wind Water Hotel. It was a pleasure and if you are looking for a nice getaway at a reasonable price, this is definetly worth it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 25, 2010

Don't believe the bad reviews

For the price, you get what you pay for - it is a budget motel. Overall the room was clean, the linen was soft and towels were fluffy. I had reservations about staying here based on the bad reviews, but they are WRONG. You need to go to this place with the state of mind that it is a 1 star hotel vs. a 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Daddy's - Good, cheap place to eat. Amberjacks - Expensive to eat, but you must try the White Chocolate Bread Pudding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Saynotowindwaterandresort
Business
Tx
Oct 17, 2010

Terrible

The hotel room was absolutely disgusting. The bed sheets had cigaret burn marks in them, the towels that are supposed to be white had brownish stains on them. The toilet didn't work half the time. The name of the hotel should be changed because it is very deceiving and it doesn't even come close to resembling a resort in any way. I've been to south padre many times and this was by far the worst motel I've stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas Tx
Oct 10, 2010

The good & the bad.

Was there something missing that would have made your stay more enjoyable? Yes the so called complimentary breakfast was lame at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining, and beach were within walking distance. The room I stayed in was ok, clean and comfortable but just one hint to the owners the room needed a good paint job and some pictures on the wall, other wise everything was ok we took our little dog with no problems and he had a great time at the beach chasing the birds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BEA...
Business
MCALLEN, TX
Oct 3, 2010

BIRTHDAY GET AWAY...

GREAT FISHING SPOT AT NITE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

SPARK PLUGS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicharo_70
Business
Brownsville Tx
Oct 3, 2010

unbeatatable price

Staff wasn´t so kind....!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 19 Restaurants & Bar!!! Simply the best, Blackbirds is cool too...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy customer from Dallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 4, 2010

You get what you pay for

The hotel staff do not turn the air conditioner on until you get there, and when it is 97+ degrees out, it doesn't cool very fast. Front desk moved me to another room, but the room was dirty. Ceiling tiles over bathtub had toilet paper hanging from them, and were cracked in several places. Refrigerator was not plugged in, and never cooled while there. Breakfast was cereals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top