Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rained out!
Business
Missouri
Aug 1, 2011

Horrible!

Attempted to cancel or reschedule this reservation based on a tropical storm. Hotel was not willing even though I made the call within the 24 hour window.[...] I will never make a reservation with this hotel [...] again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 27, 2011

Fixer Upper

The first clue should have been the 2" gap under the door. The shower handle easily pulled away from the wall when you tried to turn the water on or off. There was no strainer in the sink. The toilet was loose so it rocked when sat upon and on and on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray Ray 24!
Business
San Antonio,Tx
Jul 26, 2011

"unbelievable price with good quality"

we enjoyed the view of the ocean and had a great time... but the parking was small and not enough for everyone.... this was a great buy compared to other stays and met all necessities... thank you!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

hotel was a good stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midland tx
Jul 24, 2011

its a bed. poorly kept run down over pri

Well I just expected more. Washer didn't work and no one could direct us to a laundering facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

No comment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SPI, TX
Jul 2, 2011

decent hotel/good fishing right there

Enjoyed the view from the hotel, plus the fishing right on spot. Walking distance from shops and resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charbo
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 1, 2011

Good cheap place

So my husband and I just needed a bed to sleep in because our family had a house, and I would definitely stay here again. It was really cheap, that said, the bathroom ceiling was falling apart and our fridge did not work. We stayed in a king suite, so I liked the living room area, and the view of the water canal was nice. Our patio overlooking the water was big so we enjoyed breakfast there in the mornings. Now I would only stay here again as long as we had a room on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grapevine Cafe, great place for breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,TX
Jun 27, 2011

It was a bed and cold A/C

The rooms were out dated and not very clean, but the beds were comfortable and the air conditioner blew cold air. The view was not bad either. I would stay here again, but I would not bring my children to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Loius Backyard has good food and music, and the view was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2011

Very Disappointed and Upset

The Hotel advertsies it is newly remodeled well I sure did not see anythiing new at all. To put it mildly the place is a dump. In my 2 rooms the phones did not work - The shower head fell off in the one the outlets did not work in another - The place was dirty and broken glass int he elevator - The pool was dirty the grounds were dirty the A/C did not work in one romm and the staff was less than helpful. I would never recomend this place to anyone ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SPI
Jun 18, 2011

Was good for the $$$$s

Clean, good beds, plenty of parking, will stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Padre Island, Tx.
Jun 2, 2011

Helena

I stayed here and I would not believe the poor reviews, after all it's not like it is a Five Star Hotel. I stayed in a king with a sofa sleeper in the back where the sliding glass door opened to a nice patio on the water where my family and I fished and relaxed to a sweet little view in the evening. The bed and the sleeper were divided by the bathroom and kitchenette, both having there own T.V. So us adults enjoyed our evening while the children slept comfortable. We all absolutely loved it AND the price was perfect. So we had alot of extra money to do all the fun stuff on the island as well. We go all the time. Plus the staff are exceptional as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Money saver and short walk to all the good attractions. It's right in the middle of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top