$26 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. LD
Business
Iowa
Apr 27, 2014

weekend getaway

easy fast checkin, pleasant staff, pool could have been a little warmer but was okay, like the location,parking was tight but I think the hotel was full.overall good value will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like karoke check out the Coral Reef , 2 blocks south

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alma Garcia
Business
Weslaco
Apr 7, 2014

Great Deal

I am definitely staying here again. The view from the patio is great! Definitely recommend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mercadis
Business
Leonard Texas
Mar 16, 2014

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST!!!!

This is ranked in my personal experience the WORST stay I have EVER had at a hotel. I caught a bacterial infection from the pillows or bed, I woke up with a completely swollen face, my eyes swollen shut!! The WORST customer service I've EVER RECEIVED! I booked our hotel room and had forgotten to book the last day so I called and added a day and gave my credit card information. We stayed Tuesday-Friday, and on Saturday they told us to check out and I said we still have one night I've added it already, so I went to check out what happened at the front desk, a girl who could hardly speak English told me they hadn't charged my card yet, however when I called two weeks earlier it was taken care of. So they were trying to charge me another 450 dollars because their employee messed up and didn't get the expiration date from me two weeks ago. I didn't bring an extra 450 dollars with me!!!! That's not chump change!! So I said how is that my fault she didn't do her job right, the lady was so rude raised her voice at me, and kept cutting me off as I was speaking. Didn't offer to comp us I'm ANY way. So we were stuck in padre without a place to stay because THEIR employee didn't do HER JOB right! I will NEVER book with Windwater EVER AGAIN! I've never hated a vacation more in my life than this one!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! 1800 dollars down the drain and I didn't even get to stay for my whole vacation. I CAN NOT STRESS ENOUGH ABOUT NOT GOING HERE! It's more like a 1 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daylight Traveler
Business
Woodland Park, CO
Nov 19, 2013

Pleasantly Surprised

The room was clean...with clean bedding and linens. Phone, clock, microwave and refrigerator were all functional. The room was a good value; however, I am uncertain of the rates during the peak season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chowmac orignal
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 3, 2013

Service is good, but the motel (not hotel) seems old

Staff seems friendly, fixed the key lock (battery low) at check-in. We rented a King suite with a "view". It's actually looking at other people house with ship dock. It's ok, but not exactly a great view. The room is spacious with a living room. The room seems old, but it's expected of a 2-star place. Parking is limited. Free breakfast is ok, but the room is very small - can only seat a dozen. Good location, in walking distance to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ericab21
Business
Rio grande, tx
Jun 3, 2013

getaway

Room was nice but I thought location was too far in, overall it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nune Ray
Business
Texas
Nov 1, 2012

Get away

It was good for the price and location. Very nice balcony by the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrible staff
Business
McAllen, TX, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Horrible Staff

While trying to enjoy our stay there were a few other people aside from our party trying to relax in the hot tub when the evening staff rudely used profanity and yelled at all of us to get out. Apparently the pool had closed while we were there and without any warning we were cussed at by one of the female staff members. The children that were in the pool were scared and ran to tell their parents what had happened. All the parents confronted the female staff and she then denied the claim. Overall i would never stay there again. This left a nasty taste in my mouth!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
valo
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 19, 2011

so so

it seems to be old, elevator without AC and floor look like dirty, i definetly donot will be there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 1, 2011

windwater motel

good location on the north side, even though it's on the bay side, and the cheapest hotel on the island when I booked. The pictures on the website are misleading, and I'm not sure why they can call it a "hotel & resort" when it's clearly just a motel with a very warm pool. The free breakfast was not even worth going to...they didn't even have orange juice, instead they had some cheap sugary orange citrus punch that made me sick. Basically it was the cheapest place on the island and we got what we payed for, but we didn't spend much time in the hotel anyways so it didn't really matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Louie's is the most popular place at night. it's only 2 miles away, so it's a little too long to walk but it's a pretty cheap cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top