Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MG5
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 26, 2009

You get what you pay for.

This is an older hotel(formerly Best Western). My wife and I will not go back to this hotel. The new owners need to invest into the building by adding more lights in the room and changing the carpet. The room was very dark even with the lights on. The carpet in the room had areas that were stained and sticky. We were very unsure on how clean the room actually was. Upon our check-in, the bathroom sink and bathtub still had sand from the previous guest. The towels are very thin. I am not a person that judges a hotel by the towels, but newer towels would have provided a much better stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sevillada
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 22, 2009

Good, clean, inexpensive hotel, courteou

Within walking distance of the beach, clean hotel with courteous staff. Was allowed to check in early and was also given an extra pillow per my request. The hotel was clean. The rooms weren't that big, but it was still comfortable. The location was good, and it included the amenities I needed, including a small fridge. Would stay in that hotel again. Not a 5 star hotel though, but you know by the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of Mexican Seafood Restaurants(not those national chains that don't really make Mexican food)

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FREER, TX
Jul 20, 2009

DIASTER THE PLACE WE STAYED AT !!!!!

WE WERE VACATIONING AT BEACH AND THEME PARKS!!!!! THIS HOTEL WAS THE MOST DIRTIEST PLACE I'VE EVER SEEN!! THE WORST STAFF RUDE AND COULDN'T EVEN GET US PARKING IN THE HOTEL PARKING LOT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Spring Tx.
Jul 19, 2009

OK for the money.

The motel seemed clean but had a very bad musty smell. The walls were very thin, we could hear our neighbors conversation and television. Our room was right beside the motel laundry service and we could hear the maids radio early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mcallen, tx
Jul 17, 2009

friendly and quiet

business and pleasure. we used same hotel at island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sugardust
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 15, 2009

You get what you pay for

My boyfriend and I drove 4 hours to this hotel expecting a 3pm check in. When we arrived at 3, they told us that the room was not ready but they would let us have another. When we arrived at the new room there was a young man fixing the plumbing in the bathroom. We decided to go for a short drive to look around the island and come back expecting him to be done with his repairs. Around 4pm we arrived back at the hotel and the door to our room was still wide open. They were still repairing the room. We went back to the front deck and got yet another room. When we finally got into our room we discovered a few damages. There was a hole in the bedroom wall, a hole above the shower head, and the top lock on the front door had a broken latch. They advertised cable but half of the channels didn't get reception. They also advertised free breakfast which consisted of a loaf of bread, a jar of jelly, a jar of peanut butter, a couple of bins of ceareal and a jug of milk and orange juice put up on a counter in the front lobby. The milk and the orange juice were left out infront of a window for at least an hour and a half unrefridgerated. On the second day we stayed they put out the cereal without any milk. Lucky we got a great deal through this website. $45 a night for a king suite. They were charging $100 a night there for a single room. At least our trip was more about the beach than the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you stay here opt for the King Suites on the first floor facing the bay. If you are on the first floor you can fish right from your patio. The fish bite as soon as you cast.

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pharr, Tx
Jul 15, 2009

Not bad but could be better.

This hotel was fine but it was run down and could use some TLC. The pool was dirty most of the time and crowded. It was closed one day for cleaning. I Was not happy about that. One evening we got to use it but it was dirty again and full of sand. Continental breakfast was a joke. Toast and cerial, orange juice and coffie. That's it??? Could it hurt them to add some pastries and fruit. There was no coffie in the room because they ran out. The staff was friendly. The size of the king size suite was really nice, room enough for 3 to 4. The balcony had a cool view and a table with two chairs. I might stay there again if it is updated and improved. Compared to all the others I have stayed at on the Island this one was my least favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Turtle rescue sanctuary.

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stacy, Isalnd lover
Business
Combine, TX
Jul 12, 2009

Don't risk it!

The place was awful! The first room they gave us had holes in the wall, a big spot of white paint on a tan wall, purple paint dripping down the door, and smelled like mildew. The second room appeared to be in better shape, but the toilet ran all night long, and there was a large gap at the bottom of the door letting out all of the a/c. Finally, on the second day we got a better room, but it just felt dingy and run down. The breakfast was only 2 kinds of cold cereal, bread for toast, and mini muffins (which they did not replenish when gone). The walls were so thin that we could hear the next room's conversations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Pier 19. Great food all day, and reasonable price.

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrownSugaMommy
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 9, 2009

You get what you pay for...

The hotel is a good choice if you are looking for a place to lay your head. Don't expect plush bedding and thick towels but it wasn't that bad. The rooms don't sparkle but it was fairly clean. The staff was friendly and helpful and accommodated all our needs. This a good choice for folks who will only be in their room to shower, change and sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The gelato place is the best!!! Dolce Something or other. I can't remember the name but there are two of them on the island. One is across from Blackbeards\'s.

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MCALLEN,TX
Jul 6, 2009

NEED REMODELING

THE BATHROOMS WERE SO SMELLY AND THE POOL IS TOO SMALL THE ROOMS NEED MORE UP KEEP, THE TOWELS WERE SO DINGY. I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top