$29 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Windwater Magnuson Hotel

2 stars
5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
142 reviews
Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that... See full review

  • Josue N Alyssa
  • Jun 8, 2014
ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were... See full review

  • mommy of three kiddos
  • Jun 7, 2014
Budget accommodations with free breakfast and outdoor pool
A budget hotel just two blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel and Resort is conveniently located two blocks from the beach. Guests will stay entertained with the array of outdoor activities, including golf, hiking or walking, horseback riding, windsurfing as well as a number of museums and nature centers. Lounge around the on-site outdoor pool and hot tub. WindWater Hotel and Resort guests can save some money for the attractions by cooking a few meals in the kitchen in their suite -- one way to make vacation more affordable.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and hot tub
  • Business center
  • Free wireless Internet access
Location
WindWater Hotel and Resort is located on the north end of South Padre Island, on the Bay side, two blocks from the beach.
Rooms
Rooms at the WindWater Hotel and Resort have colorful decor and pillow top mattresses. Travelers that want to keep in touch with the outside world have complimentary wireless Internet. For extra space, guests can book one of the condominiums or king suite, with a separate bedroom, a spacious living area, a full kitchen and a huge balcony, many overlooking the water.
Features
Guests who stay at the WindWater Hotel and Resort can request to borrow fishing equipment and fish off the hotel. For those who are not quite up for catching and cooking dinner, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a complimentary breakfast served in the hotel every morning. Walk two blocks to hit the beach, or relax in the on-site pool or hot tub.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.2 mi/6.9 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center offering photocopying and facsimile services

Hotel Map

26.1287 -97.1711
Area served
Notable nearby attractions include the South Padre Island Convention Center; Sea Turtle Inc, the Light House at Port Isabel, and the Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge.
Nearby airports
South Padre Island International is 26 miles.
Area description
Located on South Padre Island, the WindWater Magnuson Hotel is just minutes to Brownsville.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Windwater Magnuson Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Windwater Magnuson Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
Bay View Suite
1 King Suite with Sofabed, Balcony, and Bay Side View. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, balcony, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed Nonview Nonsmoking. Free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, electronic door locks, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron and board, microwave and mini fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ericab21
Rio grande, tx
Jun 3, 2013

getaway

Room was nice but I thought location was too far in, overall it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
avlemus
San Antonio, Tx
Aug 18, 2014

worst hotel ever

When we arrived at 1:00pm the office/lobby was closed. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable, water pressure was low. No adequate parking. Ceiling was leaking. Very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brooke Rogers
Lawton Ok
Aug 10, 2014

Horrible Horrible Horrible

The parking was very tight. The room was dirty. Floors were soo dirty you could walk with your barefeet. Towels needed to be thrown away you could see through them and they were super rough. Pool was very dirty. They give you a parking pass to put in your vehicle well they apparently didn't see mine in the corner passenger side. Put a tow sticker on my vehicle which the sticker was half on window half on paint which caused lots of adhesive to be stuck on window and vehicle. I stayed 3 days seen the same guy working he didn't notice the same car there for 3 nights. The breakfast area is super tiny people had to wait outside due to lack of room. I chose this hotel because it looked descent in the photos and because of the kitchen area which my room didn't have kitchen area. The pictures in the photos isn't this hotel. Very disappointed. Would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mroach17
Dallas, texas
Aug 9, 2014

Wasn't a bad place to stay'

The reviews makes it sound like a horrible place. WHICH IT IS NOT! They cleaned the room daily. The room was in prettygood shape over all. For the price we payed it was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Horseback riding is something no one that goes to south padre should miss. I was wonderful.

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friendlyrog
South padre island
Jul 12, 2014

Kid friendly getaway

Enjoyed the kid friendly atmosphere. Safe & Clean. Enjoyed fishing off the dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Urdafaux
Elkhart
Jun 20, 2014

Vacay stay

For an economical stay near the beach this was perfect for us. The room was "used" but clean and every thing worked. No funky smells, no stains - just a clean basic room. Back porch is very nice on the canal. 5 minute walk to the public access beach. Tile floors inside the room are appropriate. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kelly's bar across the street was a nice local pub

Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
b the man
central Texas
Jun 18, 2014

nooo

Roach in room I had a dirty room they just switched me rooms. Did not compensate. Told me one car per room can park in the parking lot. Did not care for the hotel at all the staff bout friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josue N Alyssa
The Valley
Jun 8, 2014

Skeptical... At first

Well, of course I was skeptical because of the previous reviews but in reality it wasn't all that bad. I actually enjoyed my stay here. My husband and I are planning on returning to this place :). The showers could use some work; the paint is chipped but other than that they were functional. The towels need replacing but we took our own from home. We also took our own comforter and pillows (but we do that in every trip). Breakfast is good, we had no problems with the front desk and the cleaning staff was great. The pool is descent and you get to fish off the patio (located behind the hotel). One thing I didn't like was the smell when we opened our door - it was gross but it didn't seep into our room. The hotel is closer to the access beaches. For the price, it's good! We will for sure be back :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommy of three kiddos
mcallen, tx
Jun 7, 2014

ummmmm

Well my kids and I had a lot of fun while we were at the beach. The down sides of the hotel were the beds had a very weird smell and the parking lots are so tight a lot of people had trouble getting out. The ice machine on the first floor hasn't worked since at least April that we were there last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
torr20
south padre isaland
Jun 7, 2014

good alone time

Good hotel just needs maintenance. Needs ice machines and vending mcachines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Windwater Magnuson Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy S
Houston Tx
Jun 2, 2014

memorial day weekend

Everything was perfect. Convenient to the beach & attractions. The island even offers free public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is very close 2 the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search