$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Travelodge South Padre Island

2 stars
6200 South Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
254 reviews
i love it

We loved it... super close to the beach "walking distance" See full review

  • fabilous fab
  • Apr 16, 2014
beach day

good value-clean and we were treated well. will return See full review

  • dmdmad
  • Nov 21, 2013
Free continental breakfast and outdoor pool at budget beach hotel
Get ready for some serious pickle ball -- the South Padre Island Travelodge has a pickle ball court, along with an outdoor area with picnic tables and grills and a heated pool and hot tub. Not that guests are lacking things to do nearby the South Padre Island Travelodge -- there is the private beach access that guests love, and plenty of diving, fishing, dolphin watching, horseback riding, golfing, windsurfing and more in the area.
Highlights
  • Heated swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Private beach access
  • Free continental breakfast
Location
The South Padre Island Travelodge is on the southern end of South Padre Island, near the Queen Isabella Causeway.
Rooms
Light and airy rooms have a beachy feel to them, with light yellow walls, bright white linens, and tile floors. Guests can reserve a variety of suites that have a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator, and a living room area with a sofa and a television. Some rooms at the South Padre Island Travelodge have Jacuzzis.
Features
Guests have private beach access at the South Padre Island Travelodge. There is an outdoor, heated pool and hot tub with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun or shade. Families love the barbecue area with picnic tables. Try the waffles at the free continental breakfast each morning. If guests have time to check their email, the hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access as well.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Port Isabel (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • On-site meeting room
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1338 -97.1715
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge South Padre Island

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Facilitator
South Texas
Jun 21, 2014

Awesome value

Fantastic staff & great location. Great price for the South Padre area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff Monty
Houston, TX
Jun 16, 2014

weekend trip!

They room was great roomy and clean, loved that it was located near the beach. The only down side was the pool area...it was super crowed and filthy. Aside from the pool area this is a great hotel for the location and price! We're willing to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angel from tx
San Antonio , tx
Jun 13, 2014

Good vacation

Great location and just one block from beach and good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denny From Arlington
Arlington TX
Jun 8, 2014

Recommend

All was good, no problems & we will be back. We went before school got out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the dinner cruise on the 49' Catamaran. Very nice! My wife will never forget it.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chilled Guy
Houston, TX
May 20, 2014

Great weekend with friends

I stayed here for a weekend with friends. The experience was positive overall. Staff was kind enough to give us several extra towels. Bathroom tub's faucet was a little broken, but still functional. Amenities were good with microwave, fridge, coffee maker and free wifi. Cleanliness was fine. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonataliano
el paso
May 12, 2014

great trip

The staff at breakfast was exceptionally friendly and very helpful during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

best fish and shrimp-Dirty Als

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fabilous fab
Mission,Tx
Apr 16, 2014

i love it

We loved it... super close to the beach "walking distance"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Walker and Looker
Rochester MN
Apr 14, 2014

Beach Getaway

It's a very nice motel, excellent location with beach access at a very low price. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's about a 100 yards walk to the beach via a board walk. Excellent value.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JarrettLaud
Houston, TX
Apr 7, 2014

Weekend wedding trip among friends.

My experience at this hotel went very well. We checked in late at night around 1:00AM on a Friday night. The room had already been reserved so the check-in process took 30 seconds, if that. We got back to our room (a two-room suite with 3 queen-size beds and a pull-out sofa) and it was in fairly decent shape. Room cleanliness takes a hit here because the sheets were slightly sandy and it had a stale smell. The sand issue may just come with the territory but it seems like it should all comes out in the laundry. The stale smell went away the following morning after a few passes in and out of the front door. Other than that there are absolutely no complaints with the room. In fact, six of us slept VERY comfortably along with all our weekend gear, coolers, fishing poles and special wedding clothes. The breakfast is pretty average. They do have waffles and cereals, but should you want more you can purchase a nice selection of breakfast tacos from the in-house restaurant after 9:00AM. The room was very close to the private beach access route and a washing station was provided for cleaning yourself off after a short trip down there. Parking was decent but we all came in one large pick-up so the story may have been a little different if we had two or more cars with us. All in all, I was very pleased with the arrangement. The value of this place comparing what we paid to the amount of room we got was much better than buying multiple rooms for the six of us. When I come back to South Padre I will be trying very hard to get this same room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea Turtle Inc. facility is just a short walk North on Padre Blvd. It is a home to a few sea turtles that have been rescued from the wild. Some will eventually be returned to the wild while others are unable to return. It is free to go and a fun, educational trip. It is a must-do if you have children as it is very interactive.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reno52
Business
Corpus Christ ,tx
Mar 29, 2014

Clean and close

Clean room, quit even with spring break crowds, liked the location away from large crowds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lou's all you can eat seafood buffet good stuff

Back to menu Return to top