$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Travelodge South Padre Island

2 stars
6200 South Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
165 reviews
Labor day & b'day getaway

This was a great hotel, room was nice, friendly staff and great location. Breakfast was definitely... See full review

  • p. rivas
  • Sep 4, 2014
i love it

We loved it... super close to the beach "walking distance" See full review

  • fabilous fab
  • Apr 16, 2014
Free continental breakfast and outdoor pool at budget beach hotel
Get ready for some serious pickle ball -- the South Padre Island Travelodge has a pickle ball court, along with an outdoor area with picnic tables and grills and a heated pool and hot tub. Not that guests are lacking things to do nearby the South Padre Island Travelodge -- there is the private beach access that guests love, and plenty of diving, fishing, dolphin watching, horseback riding, golfing, windsurfing and more in the area.
Highlights
  • Heated swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Private beach access
  • Free continental breakfast
Location
The South Padre Island Travelodge is on the southern end of South Padre Island, near the Queen Isabella Causeway.
Rooms
Light and airy rooms have a beachy feel to them, with light yellow walls, bright white linens, and tile floors. Guests can reserve a variety of suites that have a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator, and a living room area with a sofa and a television. Some rooms at the South Padre Island Travelodge have Jacuzzis.
Features
Guests have private beach access at the South Padre Island Travelodge. There is an outdoor, heated pool and hot tub with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun or shade. Families love the barbecue area with picnic tables. Try the waffles at the free continental breakfast each morning. If guests have time to check their email, the hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access as well.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Port Isabel (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • On-site meeting room
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge South Padre Island

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Regio091412
Business
Monterrey
Sep 17, 2012

Very disapointed

My wife detected not hot water and dead roach close to the table on the floor next day in the morning. I reported this two issues to front desk hoping to be resolve, However Isuues were not resolve, more over toilet fail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Regio091412
Business
Monterrey
Jun 24, 2013

Family Weekend

We allways use this hotel in South Padre Island. Two iisues we had in this visit: 1.- We found after check-in around 5 PM that A/C cooling system was not working and take time to report, send maintenance crew thhen final replace cooling unit. my family was waiting with tem around 100 degrees. 2.- Hotel personnel did not make the room next day. they sais because we did not allowed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel have a quick access to beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beanzer4
Business
SAN ANTONIO.TEXAS
Aug 4, 2013

Not as Advertised!!!!!

We understand that ADVERTISEMENT plays a great part in the promoting/selling of an item...HOWEVER...the Advertisement for this hotel...Far EXCEEDED, the Actual Experience!!!! We somewhat felt DECEIVED!!!!! From the Initial LOOK of the Hotel, Rooms and Amenities..{Compared to what was Advertised}...to the Actual Service received. After initial arrival, we noticed our bathroom door would not close and was falling off the hinges, the toilet was also not bolted to the floor and our daughter almost fell and hurt herself after sitting and stumbling, thankfully grabbing the side of the wall to brace herself as the toilet Rocked!!!...when sat on! The television remote also did not work...continually pressing various buttons, yielded (NO RESPONSE)...we eventually called the front desk for some help...someone eventually came..put a screw in the bathroom door...left a few screws on the floor by the bathroom door..left to retrieve some more items to complete the work order...BUT...to our Amazement....NEVER RETURNED..AT ALL!!! There was only 2 tissues in the box by the sink and No shower caps, trash bags or soap for bathroom provided..( which I guess was an Oversight of Expectation) on Our Part...non the less, we carried on with our Vacation on The Island..and tho we would have Loved to Extend our Stay for Sat & Sun...We just decided to Leave...as we DID NOT FEEL...JUSTIFIED!!!..in Paying the Cost for "Such an Uncomfortable Experience"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KL2013
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 10, 2013

Terrible Hotel

This hotel was awful! It should not even be offered as an option for a hotel. The sheets are our bed were not clean - and in fact had leftover SAND in them. The bathtub was not clean - the parking lot was a pot-hole nightmare!! We paid $186 per night and this hotel was like a campground! Trash all over the property, and overall feeling of unsanitary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 1, 2007

maintenance and cleaning very dissatisfed

The Travelodge in South Padre Island was terrible and durty, it's smells to much of cigars, and the bathroom have fongus. The location was very good. The brackfeast was ok but they went out of almost everthig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SPI fan
Business
New Mexico
Aug 6, 2010

So bad we checked out

I can say that the staff here was very courteous and helpful. Our toilet was broke and maintenance came right away and fixed it. The staff is the only thing I can speak highly of at this hotel. The walls were super thin, the noise level was horrible and it claims to be on the beach - uhm, no. After the first night, we checked out and found other accommodations. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, Texas
Aug 29, 2009

The unexpected

When we first arrived the room was not ready and we were half an hour late checking in(3:30 pm). They told us that the room would be ready in 30-45 mins. We drove to the back to look at the beach while we waited, much to our surprise, there was a fence and several houses blocking any view of the beach. We went back to the lobby and asked about this, (the pictures do not show any other buildings between the hotel and beach) and we were told that we had to follow the path and use our room key and walk appox. a 1/4 mile to get the beach. They also advertised that the hotel had internet access, "NOT".. we went back to the lobby to inquire about this and they told us it will be fixed very soon and they would call us...2 days later, still no phone call. Needless to say, we never had internet access and we are still waiting for them to call...Once we got into the room, we noticed that the sheets and the towels were dirty. We went 2 days without hand or face cloths. When the housekeeper came in to clean (if you want to call it that) the only thing done was she made the bed and took out the trash and sprayed deodorizer. Nothing was cleaned or wiped down. We finally had to leave a note for the housekeeper asking her to clean the room, and the bathroom, leave towels and face cloths, and change the sheets. The bathtub wouldn't drain, we were without water. I called the front desk to inquire about not having water and was told a water pipe broke and they would have it fixed soon. There were ants and roaches everywhere in the bathroom and dining area. On the 4th night we were there, a stanger came knocking at our door asking me to let him in to see our room. I refused. After I got rid of him, we called the front desk letting them know what had happened and maybe they should send their security officer around to investigate it. Needless to say, nothing was done. I don't believe we will be staying there again..... It was overpriced for what they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
brownboii
Business
san angelo tx
Sep 5, 2009

liers

When we arrived we where looking for South Parde road but theres not one theres only parde rd. The address is wrong, the hotel was ugly surrounded by landfill, the picture that shows the hotel is not even close to what you see, the staff horrorble maners. I would say Parde Island is not a fun place we went there for attractions, the beach, and to experience something new. But all we got is worn out stores with very high prices like a bathing suit cost $88 OMG! I wouldnt go back ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Isable is a nice place to take the family comparing to Parde Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Groesbeck ,Tx
Jul 2, 2010

Almost a great vacation

[...]The pool was small and dirty. The toilet in our room backed up on the very first flush, I informed the front desk about the problem. Theysaid they would send a maintenance man right over , but he never arrived. On our next vacation I will likely stay at another hotel. One more thing, when we arrived at 3pm to check in our room wasn't even ready we had to wait from 45 minutes to an hour so housekeeping could go and get it ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BobbyD69
Business
South Padre Island, TX
Aug 16, 2010

Not worth the Money!

My family and I were disappointed in our stay here. We arrived mid-morning but were told no rooms were ready, to check back at 1:30, still no rooms ready then. 3pm, no room ready, we finally got in a room around 340pm. The staff was not very nice by then. [...]The room was ok. The spings in the mattress made sleeping very uncomfortable. They need new ones. The AC worked great. The toilet cloggs, the towels were thin and small. My biggest concern was the walk to the beach. There is a very narrow boardwalk and it has NO lighting. At night, its kind of scary to walk on. Other than that, the location was good, easy to get in and out of. The pool was too crowded to enjoy. Will be staying somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Turtle Resue Center is worth seeing! Affordable, $3/adults, $1/students. Jet ski rentals are pricey but was so much fun! Bunji jumping pricey but fun. The club "The Pelican" was very clean, nice crowd, good music and the AC worked great. The Reef Sports Bar was nice. The owner was very nice. Guests were cheerful and welcoming!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top