$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 4, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Travelodge South Padre Island

2 stars
6200 South Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
165 reviews
Labor day & b'day getaway

This was a great hotel, room was nice, friendly staff and great location. Breakfast was definitely... See full review

  • p. rivas
  • Sep 4, 2014
i love it

We loved it... super close to the beach "walking distance" See full review

  • fabilous fab
  • Apr 16, 2014
Free continental breakfast and outdoor pool at budget beach hotel
Get ready for some serious pickle ball -- the South Padre Island Travelodge has a pickle ball court, along with an outdoor area with picnic tables and grills and a heated pool and hot tub. Not that guests are lacking things to do nearby the South Padre Island Travelodge -- there is the private beach access that guests love, and plenty of diving, fishing, dolphin watching, horseback riding, golfing, windsurfing and more in the area.
Highlights
  • Heated swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Private beach access
  • Free continental breakfast
Location
The South Padre Island Travelodge is on the southern end of South Padre Island, near the Queen Isabella Causeway.
Rooms
Light and airy rooms have a beachy feel to them, with light yellow walls, bright white linens, and tile floors. Guests can reserve a variety of suites that have a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator, and a living room area with a sofa and a television. Some rooms at the South Padre Island Travelodge have Jacuzzis.
Features
Guests have private beach access at the South Padre Island Travelodge. There is an outdoor, heated pool and hot tub with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun or shade. Families love the barbecue area with picnic tables. Try the waffles at the free continental breakfast each morning. If guests have time to check their email, the hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access as well.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Port Isabel (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • On-site meeting room
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge South Padre Island

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pariheaven15
Business
South Padre Island, TX
Mar 26, 2013

Spring Break Trip

I had a pleasant experience at this hotel. Staff was friendly for the most part, had a safe to keep important items in, made your bed every morning along with free breakfast and free parking. One side of the hotel was specifically for college students (so we could be loud and party) and the other side was more family friendly. :) Wouldn't mind going back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jsmoline
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 25, 2013

Good location

The location was great but the cleaning staff need improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacy77alamo
Business
Alamo
Feb 28, 2013

CLean?

Room was not swept and a few glasses that were not thrown away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

bead shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Regio091412
Business
Monterrey
Sep 17, 2012

Very disapointed

My wife detected not hot water and dead roach close to the table on the floor next day in the morning. I reported this two issues to front desk hoping to be resolve, However Isuues were not resolve, more over toilet fail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mikethetherapist
Business
san antonio
Sep 12, 2012

perfect for beach

we wanted something that was close to the beach and good price, we got it all. the breakfast is all the cheapest stuff, no whole grains or anything. The AC in the room did not work, had to be fixed 2 times before it was working. But we came for the beach and we sleeping dead, so the bed actually seemed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

dirty al's is the best dining experience on the island. you can see the bay and it is very pretty inside

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sally and Rupert
Business
San antonio, texs
Sep 12, 2012

Weekday getaway

The hotel did it's job for a beach getaway. It was clean and spacious. Not too many amenities, but when you're staying at the beach, it's okay :) also pet friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wako
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Aug 18, 2012

OK place to stay

The room only had two bath towels, no face clothes. The coffee was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kikij
Business
san antonio tx
Aug 14, 2012

pretty good!

it was a great location, close access to the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meeeeeeeee
Business
okc ,ok
Aug 12, 2012

We Will Go Back.

It was nice i would stay there again great for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jabra8108
Business
South Padre Island, TX
Aug 6, 2012

Very pleased

Was a little apprehensive to see the condition of the Travelodge after reading all the negative experiences posted. However, when my husband & I pulled into the hotel parking lot and caught a glimpse of one of the rooms, all apprehension faded. Upon checking in, we were told that we would be on the 2nd floor. My husband requested a room on the bottom floor and the staff went above and beyond to accomodate our request. Our room was within a short walk to the beach so we didn't have far to go carrying chairs and coolers. Other than finding and killing 2 roaches in our room, it was in excellent condition. Housekeeping was there everyday to clean and 're-stock' our room. Whatever we found to be lacking was quickly corrected by one phone call. Other than the roach problem and the pool being way too small for this size of hotel accommodating that many guests, I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top