$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Travelodge South Padre Island

2 stars
6200 South Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
165 reviews
Labor day & b'day getaway

This was a great hotel, room was nice, friendly staff and great location. Breakfast was definitely... See full review

  • p. rivas
  • Sep 4, 2014
i love it

We loved it... super close to the beach "walking distance" See full review

  • fabilous fab
  • Apr 16, 2014
Free continental breakfast and outdoor pool at budget beach hotel
Get ready for some serious pickle ball -- the South Padre Island Travelodge has a pickle ball court, along with an outdoor area with picnic tables and grills and a heated pool and hot tub. Not that guests are lacking things to do nearby the South Padre Island Travelodge -- there is the private beach access that guests love, and plenty of diving, fishing, dolphin watching, horseback riding, golfing, windsurfing and more in the area.
Highlights
  • Heated swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Private beach access
  • Free continental breakfast
Location
The South Padre Island Travelodge is on the southern end of South Padre Island, near the Queen Isabella Causeway.
Rooms
Light and airy rooms have a beachy feel to them, with light yellow walls, bright white linens, and tile floors. Guests can reserve a variety of suites that have a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator, and a living room area with a sofa and a television. Some rooms at the South Padre Island Travelodge have Jacuzzis.
Features
Guests have private beach access at the South Padre Island Travelodge. There is an outdoor, heated pool and hot tub with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun or shade. Families love the barbecue area with picnic tables. Try the waffles at the free continental breakfast each morning. If guests have time to check their email, the hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access as well.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Port Isabel (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • On-site meeting room
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge South Padre Island

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noe jr
Business
mcallen, texas
Dec 28, 2013

great place to relax

the hotel was great, very clean and spacious. price was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Familia Ruiz
Business
south padre island
Dec 9, 2013

Family Trip

I think that the hotel has been underrated. For the price, it was fantastic. I only wish that the pool had been heated. They said that it will be heated for the Christmas holidays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dmdmad
Business
s.e. kansas
Nov 21, 2013

beach day

good value-clean and we were treated well. will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

brewery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZumbaMom
Business
Minnesota
Nov 11, 2013

Will come back

I wasn't expecting that much when I booked the hotel simply because it was such a good deal but boy what a surprise! Louis (not sure on spelling) and the rest of the staff were all friendly and helpful in making our trip enjoyable and gave us great tips about where to go and what to do. We will be back :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get in your car when you can Utilize "The Wave" to get you everywhere you need to go on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
garryaj
Business
Livingston, TX
Oct 8, 2013

Nice!

OK, when we checked in, the AC wasn't working, so we weren't very optimistic about our stay. We called the front desk, and they said they'll change the unit. We thought they meant we'd move to another room. 10 minutes later maintenance came to change out the unit, and 10 minutes later we had AC. The rest of the weekend went just as well. The man who ran the breakfast was great. The facility was only a 5-minute walk on the beach to the Sandcastle Days. So, yes, the facility is getting a little long in the tooth, but considering everything, I'd recommed staying here to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric boyfriend
Business
Austin Tx
Sep 23, 2013

Boyfriend and girlfriend get away

The room was awesome it had everything we needed, and then some. The only reason I gave it a 4 was because the people upstairs were running around at night and you could hear footsteps, which was kind of hard to sleep in. The walls are not sound proof, which isn't really a big deal but it can get annoying our 2nd night was so much better, the people were more calm. My other problem was the bed sheets, The comforter was so uncomfortable that me and my girlfriend had a hard time sleeping, I know not everyone sleeps with a comforter but We need one it just makes sleeping so much better. To solve our problem we went to a local Walmart and bought a better one, which made sleeping so much better the 2nd night. Other than that Everything else was amazing, I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My biggest mistake was going to the Sea food restaurant Called Louie's Backyard. I understand why the food is overpriced(because the restaurant serves as a tourist attraction and they must make so much money on spring brake that they jack up their prices) I spent $42.00 for me and my girlfriend on a buffet that was $22.00 which was a bit to overpriced for the amount of food chooses they had,. $13.99 would have seemed fair. A plate with about 10 baked shrimp for 17.99 with a side. which you can get at Long John Silvers for 5.99... Bottom line is be smart if you have the money go for it. Otherwise its a waste of money. A trip to Long John Silvers will be better. Why waster $42.00 almost $50.00 when you can go get a cheaper dinner for under $25.00 or less!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Max the creator
Business
Edinburg
Sep 23, 2013

Ok place.

It was a great stay. Overall had a fun trip. Enjoyed the fact that it was so close to Clayton's beach bar and grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Nato
Business
mission
Sep 1, 2013

great getaway

Hotel stay was great. Hostess at breakfast time does a great job keep up the good work. Room were clean n comfy. Will stay again next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the birding center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LolzKitty
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 28, 2013

Budget Getaway

My boyfriend and I needed a weekend getaway on the cheap and I got a good deal on this hotel. The location was fine. The island is small so we really weren't too far from anything we wanted to do. We were very close to the Sea Turtle Rescue which was awesome. The hotel also offers private beach access via a narrow wooden walkway. Our room was good enough. My only complaint was the blow dryer did not work. We booked a room with a Jacuzzi tub and this made our stay special. I fulfilled my dream of watching cable television from a hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KL2013
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 10, 2013

Terrible Hotel

This hotel was awful! It should not even be offered as an option for a hotel. The sheets are our bed were not clean - and in fact had leftover SAND in them. The bathtub was not clean - the parking lot was a pot-hole nightmare!! We paid $186 per night and this hotel was like a campground! Trash all over the property, and overall feeling of unsanitary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top