$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Travelodge South Padre Island

2 stars
6200 South Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
255 reviews
i love it

We loved it... super close to the beach "walking distance" See full review

  • fabilous fab
  • Apr 16, 2014
beach day

good value-clean and we were treated well. will return See full review

  • dmdmad
  • Nov 21, 2013
Free continental breakfast and outdoor pool at budget beach hotel
Get ready for some serious pickle ball -- the South Padre Island Travelodge has a pickle ball court, along with an outdoor area with picnic tables and grills and a heated pool and hot tub. Not that guests are lacking things to do nearby the South Padre Island Travelodge -- there is the private beach access that guests love, and plenty of diving, fishing, dolphin watching, horseback riding, golfing, windsurfing and more in the area.
Highlights
  • Heated swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Private beach access
  • Free continental breakfast
Location
The South Padre Island Travelodge is on the southern end of South Padre Island, near the Queen Isabella Causeway.
Rooms
Light and airy rooms have a beachy feel to them, with light yellow walls, bright white linens, and tile floors. Guests can reserve a variety of suites that have a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator, and a living room area with a sofa and a television. Some rooms at the South Padre Island Travelodge have Jacuzzis.
Features
Guests have private beach access at the South Padre Island Travelodge. There is an outdoor, heated pool and hot tub with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun or shade. Families love the barbecue area with picnic tables. Try the waffles at the free continental breakfast each morning. If guests have time to check their email, the hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access as well.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Port Isabel (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • On-site meeting room
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1338 -97.1715
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge South Padre Island

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san antonio
Jun 12, 2010

great breakfast service

we liked the hotel room, it was big, beds are good, room was very clean, cold a/c, only thing is the sofa sleeper was old and uncomfortable, the continental breakfast was great, they have a employeer there who actually makes the waffles for everyone and asked you if you need anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

many seafood places, although dont order the shrimp cocktail at the pirate landing, its frozen.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not a happy lodger
tx
Jun 11, 2010

Overpriced for Quality

This was a spontaneous trip, so we were happy to find them so accomodating for last minute plans. The pool and hot tub were nice and the room was spacious. However, housekeeping repeatedly would not leave the correct number of towels when they cleaned, the private beach access isn't wide enough for two people passing in the opposite direction, there was quite a bit of noise coming through the walls, there was only ONE washer and ONE dryer on the entire property (which means it took many hours of waiting in line), internet connection/activity was slow, and breakfast was super limited: no fruit or yogurt. For the money, it wasn't worth it... especially if you have kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not a happy lodger
tx
Jun 11, 2010

Overpriced for Quality

This was a spontaneous trip, so we were happy to find them so accomodating for last minute plans. The pool and hot tub were nice and the room was spacious. However, housekeeping repeatedly would not leave the correct number of towels when they cleaned, the private beach access isn't wide enough for two people passing in the opposite direction, there was quite a bit of noise coming through the walls, there was only ONE washer and ONE dryer on the entire property (which means it took many hours of waiting in line), internet connection/activity was slow, and breakfast was super limited: no fruit or yogurt. For the money, it wasn't worth it... especially if you have kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Trails...
South Padre Island
Jun 1, 2010

South Padre Island Travelodge

Was not sure what to expect, but this trip turned out OK! Rooms were OK, about what you'd expect for the price. They were clean and comfortable. Very close to the beach with an area to clean off the sand when you're done. The included breakfast is tough to get during busy seasons, we opted to go somewhere else rather than wait in line for a waffle and juice. But if you're not in a rush it'll do. The pool is small and apparently very popular with a lot of families. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at several places but really enjoyed Tom & Jerry's hamburgers.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Trails...
South Padre Island
Jun 1, 2010

South Padre Island Travelodge

Was not sure what to expect, but this trip turned out OK! Rooms were OK, about what you'd expect for the price. They were clean and comfortable. Very close to the beach with an area to clean off the sand when you're done. The included breakfast is tough to get during busy seasons, we opted to go somewhere else rather than wait in line for a waffle and juice. But if you're not in a rush it'll do. The pool is small and apparently very popular with a lot of families. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at several places but really enjoyed Tom & Jerry's hamburgers.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
May 24, 2010

Weekend Trip

We checked in late (about 2am) and when we got in to the room we noticed it was very humid and damp in the room, and sleeping was absolutely miserable! We later found out that this was because the ac unit was broken. We called to have it fixed and they told us they would replace it but instead they just tried to give it a freon charge, which didnt work... Eventually after a few more calls to the front desk they finally came and replaced the unit. After that though, our room was perfect! And even though there were a lot of people partying late, the room was pretty much sound proof it seemed. We were right by the pool and didnt hear anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Palm Street Pier on west palm street behind the HoJo is amazing and its a very short drive. Great Food, reasonable prices, and the atmosphere is ideal for vacation dining.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, tx
May 24, 2010

Weekend Trip

We checked in late (about 2am) and when we got in to the room we noticed it was very humid and damp in the room, and sleeping was absolutely miserable! We later found out that this was because the ac unit was broken. We called to have it fixed and they told us they would replace it but instead they just tried to give it a freon charge, which didnt work... Eventually after a few more calls to the front desk they finally came and replaced the unit. After that though, our room was perfect! And even though there were a lot of people partying late, the room was pretty much sound proof it seemed. We were right by the pool and didnt hear anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Palm Street Pier on west palm street behind the HoJo is amazing and its a very short drive. Great Food, reasonable prices, and the atmosphere is ideal for vacation dining.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
May 22, 2010

Nice but noisy

Our room was a nice size and very clean. The location was great, very close to great restaurants and only a short stroll to the beach. The staff was friendly. My biggest complaint would be the noise level. This hotel allows dogs, and unfortunately we got stock next to a room that had three dogs that were left alone in the room for most of the day and evening, causing them to bark endlessly. We called the front desk to complain but apparently they did nothing about it because the barking did not get better throughout our stay. Also, there is a lot of noise all night. We did not stay during the busy season either. I recommend ear plugs. Also, the breakfast was disappointing, only carbs, no protein or healthy options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Taco Company inside the Valero gas station for a cheap but yummy meal! Also, they have a very good fruit bar, only $2.99 for a huge cup of your choice of a variety of fruit.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
May 22, 2010

Nice but noisy

Our room was a nice size and very clean. The location was great, very close to great restaurants and only a short stroll to the beach. The staff was friendly. My biggest complaint would be the noise level. This hotel allows dogs, and unfortunately we got stock next to a room that had three dogs that were left alone in the room for most of the day and evening, causing them to bark endlessly. We called the front desk to complain but apparently they did nothing about it because the barking did not get better throughout our stay. Also, there is a lot of noise all night. We did not stay during the busy season either. I recommend ear plugs. Also, the breakfast was disappointing, only carbs, no protein or healthy options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Taco Company inside the Valero gas station for a cheap but yummy meal! Also, they have a very good fruit bar, only $2.99 for a huge cup of your choice of a variety of fruit.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pontiac, Illinois
May 5, 2010

Worse hotel i have ever stayed in

I reserved a smoke free room and they gave me a room that stunk like smoke. Secondly, i asked for a different room they gave me a room that was not clean, the sink was dirty, pillows and bed sheets smelled horrible,floors were also dirty, tv cable was not working properly. Room looked and smelled like it had not been cleaned for awhile. I asked for a refund and they refused saying that [...] would have to refund the money. As of yet still dealing with the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top