$35 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Travelodge South Padre Island

2 stars
6200 South Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
150 reviews
beach day

good value-clean and we were treated well. will return See full review

  • dmdmad
  • Nov 21, 2013
great getaway

Hotel stay was great. Hostess at breakfast time does a great job keep up the good work. Room were... See full review

  • Mrs Nato
  • Sep 1, 2013
Free continental breakfast and outdoor pool at budget beach hotel
Get ready for some serious pickle ball -- the South Padre Island Travelodge has a pickle ball court, along with an outdoor area with picnic tables and grills and a heated pool and hot tub. Not that guests are lacking things to do nearby the South Padre Island Travelodge -- there is the private beach access that guests love, and plenty of diving, fishing, dolphin watching, horseback riding, golfing, windsurfing and more in the area.
Highlights
  • Heated swimming pool and hot tub
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Private beach access
  • Free continental breakfast
Location
The South Padre Island Travelodge is on the southern end of South Padre Island, near the Queen Isabella Causeway.
Rooms
Light and airy rooms have a beachy feel to them, with light yellow walls, bright white linens, and tile floors. Guests can reserve a variety of suites that have a kitchenette with a microwave and a refrigerator, and a living room area with a sofa and a television. Some rooms at the South Padre Island Travelodge have Jacuzzis.
Features
Guests have private beach access at the South Padre Island Travelodge. There is an outdoor, heated pool and hot tub with plenty of space for relaxing in the sun or shade. Families love the barbecue area with picnic tables. Try the waffles at the free continental breakfast each morning. If guests have time to check their email, the hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet access as well.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Port Isabel (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8 mi/12.9 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • On-site meeting room
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1338 -97.1715
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge South Padre Island

Overall score

3.4 / 5
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

5
Cool Aunt Karen
Austin, Texas
May 5, 2012

Bff Getaway

Very good location; good price. Close to beach. Enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Ranch! Incredible sea food! A Must in South Padre!!!!

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
Beach Walker and Looker
Rochester MN
Apr 14, 2014

Beach Getaway

It's a very nice motel, excellent location with beach access at a very low price. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's about a 100 yards walk to the beach via a board walk. Excellent value.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
JarrettLaud
Houston, TX
Apr 7, 2014

Weekend wedding trip among friends.

My experience at this hotel went very well. We checked in late at night around 1:00AM on a Friday night. The room had already been reserved so the check-in process took 30 seconds, if that. We got back to our room (a two-room suite with 3 queen-size beds and a pull-out sofa) and it was in fairly decent shape. Room cleanliness takes a hit here because the sheets were slightly sandy and it had a stale smell. The sand issue may just come with the territory but it seems like it should all comes out in the laundry. The stale smell went away the following morning after a few passes in and out of the front door. Other than that there are absolutely no complaints with the room. In fact, six of us slept VERY comfortably along with all our weekend gear, coolers, fishing poles and special wedding clothes. The breakfast is pretty average. They do have waffles and cereals, but should you want more you can purchase a nice selection of breakfast tacos from the in-house restaurant after 9:00AM. The room was very close to the private beach access route and a washing station was provided for cleaning yourself off after a short trip down there. Parking was decent but we all came in one large pick-up so the story may have been a little different if we had two or more cars with us. All in all, I was very pleased with the arrangement. The value of this place comparing what we paid to the amount of room we got was much better than buying multiple rooms for the six of us. When I come back to South Padre I will be trying very hard to get this same room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea Turtle Inc. facility is just a short walk North on Padre Blvd. It is a home to a few sea turtles that have been rescued from the wild. Some will eventually be returned to the wild while others are unable to return. It is free to go and a fun, educational trip. It is a must-do if you have children as it is very interactive.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
Reno52
Business
Corpus Christ ,tx
Mar 29, 2014

Clean and close

Clean room, quit even with spring break crowds, liked the location away from large crowds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lou's all you can eat seafood buffet good stuff

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
jd winter txans
zapata, tx
Feb 24, 2014

fun adult family getaway

Two nite getaway for 6 adults at SPI, excellent location, close to beach with walkway. Comfortable beds, bring your own pillows as theirs were not good.Nice pool, warm enough to be comfortable. It would've been nice to have a privacy door between the bed area and the sink area. A very good breakfast to start the day with adequate seating. We enjoyed walking the beach, seeing the turtles at the sanctuary and of course watching the kiters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Turtle sanctuary, restaurants within walking distance

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
Maotou
Austin, Texas
Dec 30, 2013

Excellent value to the price

Roomy, clean, good location with access to private beach, comfortable, excellent value to the discount price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We searched all Costco store locations along our planned travel route for gas refueling, that has saved us tremendously on gas expenditure.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
noe jr
mcallen, texas
Dec 28, 2013

great place to relax

the hotel was great, very clean and spacious. price was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
Familia Ruiz
south padre island
Dec 9, 2013

Family Trip

I think that the hotel has been underrated. For the price, it was fantastic. I only wish that the pool had been heated. They said that it will be heated for the Christmas holidays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

5
dmdmad
s.e. kansas
Nov 21, 2013

beach day

good value-clean and we were treated well. will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

brewery

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
ZumbaMom
Minnesota
Nov 11, 2013

Will come back

I wasn't expecting that much when I booked the hotel simply because it was such a good deal but boy what a surprise! Louis (not sure on spelling) and the rest of the staff were all friendly and helpful in making our trip enjoyable and gave us great tips about where to go and what to do. We will be back :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get in your car when you can Utilize "The Wave" to get you everywhere you need to go on the island.

Review of Travelodge South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
garryaj
Livingston, TX
Oct 8, 2013

Nice!

OK, when we checked in, the AC wasn't working, so we weren't very optimistic about our stay. We called the front desk, and they said they'll change the unit. We thought they meant we'd move to another room. 10 minutes later maintenance came to change out the unit, and 10 minutes later we had AC. The rest of the weekend went just as well. The man who ran the breakfast was great. The facility was only a 5-minute walk on the beach to the Sandcastle Days. So, yes, the facility is getting a little long in the tooth, but considering everything, I'd recommed staying here to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top