$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Super 8 South Padre Island

2 stars
4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
55 reviews
Couple's getaway

Booking a motel vs a hotel concerned me from the start. But it was 300 dollars less than a hotel... See full review

  • Jacjac
  • Aug 22, 2014
South Padre Vacation

Very good; enjoyed morning breakfast.very clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Zap5s
  • Jul 27, 2014
South Padre Island budget hotel with pool and free breakfast
The Super 8 South Padre Island offers a convenient location with rates that are easy on the budget. Guests can walk, bicycle or take a free shuttle to many of the sights on the island, including water parks, nature parks, lighthouses and museums. Or head to the beach for some swimming, fishing, sailing or windsurfing. Families love the free breakfast and in-room kitchenettes at the Super 8 South Padre Island, both great ways to save money on vacation.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi open year round
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Free breakfast with waffles
Location
The Super 8 South Padre Island is on the South Padre Bay side of the island.
Rooms

Ever had popcorn room service? The Super 8 South Padre Island offers free popcorn -- a great accompaniment to watching a movie in the room after an active day -- with any room service order from the restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

 

All rooms are clean, with bright white tiling, modern furniture and a vanity area. Book a room with a kitchenette, which offers more space, a table and chairs and bar stools. Go for a little luxury by reserving a room with a Jacuzzi. There is also complimentary wireless Internet in all rooms.
Features
Before heading to the beach, just a short walk from the Super 8 South Padre Island, stop by the breakfast room for a free breakfast, featuring Belgian waffles. Later on, relax by the outdoor hotel pool with a cabana and a hot tub, and plenty of space for sunbathing. For guests with more energy, they can check out the on-site fitness room or arcade games.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Policies and fees
Pets policy: Pets must be declared upon check-in. $25 USD pet fee per night per one pet, under 15 pounds. Pets not declared will be charge of $100 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 South Padre Island

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Apek
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Check your room carefully

i HAD A DEAD COCK ROACH AND LEAKING WASH BASIN IN MY ASSIGNED ROOM. i REQUESTED TO BE ASSINGED ANOTHER ROOM..IT WAS HECTIC LATE AT NIGHT TO DO THIS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The traveler 79
Business
south padre island tx
Apr 2, 2014

not so good

Fast access to beaches. Good Bad list: Room was in need of A LOT of maintenance repairs. Micro clean remote control for TV was nasty dirty. Bathroom has rust on shower parts and hoses were falling apart. Light shades were falling apart Blinds drapery have no medium just pitch black. Bed was not comfortable They were doing some sort of construction work upstairs at 830 am and woke me up. Thanks I enjoyed sleeping in on my vacations! I will never be coming back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed lily
Business
Mission, texas
Apr 20, 2014

I don't recommend it

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. First we got stuck in the guest hospitality room right next to the lobby with no privacy at all. We could here all the guests in the lobby from this room. The exit door next to our room was broken so we could only go out and had to go around the hotel and into the lobby to go in our room. The room was clean but not what the pictures looked like. It had two old garden chairs three lamps that didn't have light bulbs and instead of a closet it had a rack to hang ur cloths. The sink in the restroom did not have water all our stay. Horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle rescue center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 29, 2007

nasty room

This hotel was the worst I've ever been to. The staff members were very unfriendly and unhelpful. The rooms were horrible! Our sheets had sand in them, the trash had not been taken out, and there was hair in the bathtub! Not to mention the rotten fruit left lying on the floor. When confronted with these things, the staff merely said, It had been cleaned prior to our arrival. I find that hard to believe. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. It was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zuljin
Business
Mcallen, Tx.
Aug 22, 2009

Super Uncomfortable 8

The room itself was gross. The tile floor was left my socks and feet black, The bed had som sort of plastic pad underneath the sheets that made me sticky. The pool was too small and the water in the pool felt like pee. It was warm and smelly. The decor in the room look like something out of the 50's with hospital green on the walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

At S. Padre Island, you have to go take a cruise on the blackdragon pirate ship. It was a blast and my 5 year son and 6 year old niece loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss Tan
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 19, 2009

Getto !!

Loved the island! Hated the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Black Beards was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edinburg, Tx.
Aug 9, 2009

Front Desk not professional at all

Decided to head to the Island after a long weekend at Brownsville, Tx. at the Comfort Suites and got online to book Super 8 for Monday, Wow What a surprise, Hotel smells and is very dirty, asked for a non smoking room and only one smoking room which made the smelly room worse, front desk staff were not friendly at all and treated everyone who walking in the door as if they did not want any business, in other words rude. I do Not Recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas,tx
Jul 14, 2009

bad experience

could not get into room door locks old need replacing roaches

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sunsetcrazy
Business
Austin, TX
May 20, 2012

okay for the price

The beds are very cheap and uncomfortable. Got there sun. afternoon got woken up by garbage truck at 4 am Mon. morning. The continental breakfast was not very good and worst of all a sign saying you can't bring breakfast out of small breakfast room. I brought it up to my room the whole time without them saying anything to me. I really didn't notice the sign. The day before we left a girl @ the desk was watching people leave the room & she is the one who told me about the rule. I went thru O and got a good price like $32 a night. But the beds were just so uncomfortable and the pillows were not great either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Ranch Restaurant has the best and biggest crab legs I have ever seen! Kinda pricey but a nice treat! Very nice atmosphere with beautiful water view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lups
Business
Mcallen TX
Mar 5, 2013

Very noisy and low life people

We couldnt sleep at all. Some idiot started his car at 5 am and sounded like an explosion. We woke up very scared, didnt know what it was. Then he kept revving up the engine for like 20 min. Someone else had their "boombox" so loud that the room was vibrating because of the bass. Terrible, wouldnt reccommend or go back. Rather pay a little more but with more educated people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top