$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Super 8 South Padre Island

2 stars
4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
55 reviews
Couple's getaway

Booking a motel vs a hotel concerned me from the start. But it was 300 dollars less than a hotel... See full review

  • Jacjac
  • Aug 22, 2014
South Padre Vacation

Very good; enjoyed morning breakfast.very clean and nice staff. See full review

  • Zap5s
  • Jul 27, 2014
South Padre Island budget hotel with pool and free breakfast
The Super 8 South Padre Island offers a convenient location with rates that are easy on the budget. Guests can walk, bicycle or take a free shuttle to many of the sights on the island, including water parks, nature parks, lighthouses and museums. Or head to the beach for some swimming, fishing, sailing or windsurfing. Families love the free breakfast and in-room kitchenettes at the Super 8 South Padre Island, both great ways to save money on vacation.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi open year round
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Free breakfast with waffles
Location
The Super 8 South Padre Island is on the South Padre Bay side of the island.
Rooms

Ever had popcorn room service? The Super 8 South Padre Island offers free popcorn -- a great accompaniment to watching a movie in the room after an active day -- with any room service order from the restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

 

All rooms are clean, with bright white tiling, modern furniture and a vanity area. Book a room with a kitchenette, which offers more space, a table and chairs and bar stools. Go for a little luxury by reserving a room with a Jacuzzi. There is also complimentary wireless Internet in all rooms.
Features
Before heading to the beach, just a short walk from the Super 8 South Padre Island, stop by the breakfast room for a free breakfast, featuring Belgian waffles. Later on, relax by the outdoor hotel pool with a cabana and a hot tub, and plenty of space for sunbathing. For guests with more energy, they can check out the on-site fitness room or arcade games.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Policies and fees
Pets policy: Pets must be declared upon check-in. $25 USD pet fee per night per one pet, under 15 pounds. Pets not declared will be charge of $100 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 South Padre Island

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funny familiy
edinburg, tx
Aug 16, 2013

excellent family beach fun

super good,,, it was comfy and relaxing stay here and get away from every day stuff!!! the breakfast was delicious the pool relaxing the near to the beach walking there was fun and walking boulevar thru stores and restaurants a super good thing. i love it and want to go there again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking thru the spi boulevar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacjac
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 22, 2014

Couple's getaway

Booking a motel vs a hotel concerned me from the start. But it was 300 dollars less than a hotel for three nights so I went with the motel. When we walked in I was pleasantly surprised. It was really clean, neat and looked relatively updated unlike some of the other motels I've seen. Location was great! The beach was one block away, totally walkable. So overall the value vs other places was fantastic! The only problem I encountered was our last morning we needed more towels because when they cleaned the day before, they took all our towels but didn't leave any which I thought was odd. So my husband called the front desk asking for more towels and their response was "they won't be making their rounds for another 30 minutes so you're going to have to bring your dirty ones to the front and then you can get some clean ones" ...really? It was really weird cause we had no problems up until the morning we left. So overall I would definitely suggest this hotel for the price, just not who was ever working the front desk that morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zap5s
Business
Orchard, TX
Jul 27, 2014

South Padre Vacation

Very good; enjoyed morning breakfast.very clean and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimsilva
Business
Harlingen, Tx
Jul 3, 2014

Stay-cation

It's was a nice room and clean. It was for one night but I could of stayed for a couple of days more there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christy0218
Business
Rio Grande City, Texas
Jun 26, 2014

Nice place

It was a nice & convenient place to stay at last minute, I would stay there again if need be. thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amantes
Business
San Benito, tx
Apr 28, 2014

Smell

Had a great experience there, the only thing I did not like, was the smell of the room, it smelled like humid,like wet dirty socks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Romantic get away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed lily
Business
Mission, texas
Apr 20, 2014

I don't recommend it

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. First we got stuck in the guest hospitality room right next to the lobby with no privacy at all. We could here all the guests in the lobby from this room. The exit door next to our room was broken so we could only go out and had to go around the hotel and into the lobby to go in our room. The room was clean but not what the pictures looked like. It had two old garden chairs three lamps that didn't have light bulbs and instead of a closet it had a rack to hang ur cloths. The sink in the restroom did not have water all our stay. Horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle rescue center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The traveler 79
Business
san antonio tx
Apr 4, 2014

good price for a nice place

Recently upgraded this red roof in defiantly earns its plus. Nice new upgraded rooms staff is very nice and hospitable. I would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The traveler 79
Business
south padre island tx
Apr 2, 2014

not so good

Fast access to beaches. Good Bad list: Room was in need of A LOT of maintenance repairs. Micro clean remote control for TV was nasty dirty. Bathroom has rust on shower parts and hoses were falling apart. Light shades were falling apart Blinds drapery have no medium just pitch black. Bed was not comfortable They were doing some sort of construction work upstairs at 830 am and woke me up. Thanks I enjoyed sleeping in on my vacations! I will never be coming back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lexus Driver
Business
houston
Oct 8, 2013

can't beat it for the price

very clean rooms, a little north of where all the attractions are, but very quiet and near to some good restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

capn roys...outstanding seafood and mexican eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funny familiy
Business
edinburg, tx
Aug 16, 2013

excellent family beach fun

super good,,, it was comfy and relaxing stay here and get away from every day stuff!!! the breakfast was delicious the pool relaxing the near to the beach walking there was fun and walking boulevar thru stores and restaurants a super good thing. i love it and want to go there again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking thru the spi boulevar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top