$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Super 8 South Padre Island

2 stars
View map of 4205 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
59 reviews
great room

this room was a real treat- it was huge, and had everything needed for a great stay! staff was... See full review

  • katocathie
  • Nov 19, 2014
Couple's getaway

Booking a motel vs a hotel concerned me from the start. But it was 300 dollars less than a hotel... See full review

  • Jacjac
  • Aug 22, 2014
South Padre Island budget hotel with pool and free breakfast
The Super 8 South Padre Island offers a convenient location with rates that are easy on the budget. Guests can walk, bicycle or take a free shuttle to many of the sights on the island, including water parks, nature parks, lighthouses and museums. Or head to the beach for some swimming, fishing, sailing or windsurfing. Families love the free breakfast and in-room kitchenettes at the Super 8 South Padre Island, both great ways to save money on vacation.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi open year round
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Free breakfast with waffles
Location
The Super 8 South Padre Island is on the South Padre Bay side of the island.
Rooms

Ever had popcorn room service? The Super 8 South Padre Island offers free popcorn -- a great accompaniment to watching a movie in the room after an active day -- with any room service order from the restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

 

All rooms are clean, with bright white tiling, modern furniture and a vanity area. Book a room with a kitchenette, which offers more space, a table and chairs and bar stools. Go for a little luxury by reserving a room with a Jacuzzi. There is also complimentary wireless Internet in all rooms.
Features
Before heading to the beach, just a short walk from the Super 8 South Padre Island, stop by the breakfast room for a free breakfast, featuring Belgian waffles. Later on, relax by the outdoor hotel pool with a cabana and a hot tub, and plenty of space for sunbathing. For guests with more energy, they can check out the on-site fitness room or arcade games.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Andy Bowie County Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
Policies and fees
Pets policy: Pets must be declared upon check-in. $25 USD pet fee per night per one pet, under 15 pounds. Pets not declared will be charge of $100 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 South Padre Island also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 South Padre Island

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skilsaw
Fredericksburg, Tx.
Oct 17, 2011

Vacation

Super Clean , Had a grat time. The staft went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katocathie
Business
minnesota
Nov 19, 2014

great room

this room was a real treat- it was huge, and had everything needed for a great stay! staff was super helpful, breakfast was yummy-(gotta love those Texas shaped waffles)-and it was on SPI!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Fins2Feathers is so much fun-Scarlet and George run a 1st class operation,and they are great people- this is a must have experience!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacjac
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 22, 2014

Couple's getaway

Booking a motel vs a hotel concerned me from the start. But it was 300 dollars less than a hotel for three nights so I went with the motel. When we walked in I was pleasantly surprised. It was really clean, neat and looked relatively updated unlike some of the other motels I've seen. Location was great! The beach was one block away, totally walkable. So overall the value vs other places was fantastic! The only problem I encountered was our last morning we needed more towels because when they cleaned the day before, they took all our towels but didn't leave any which I thought was odd. So my husband called the front desk asking for more towels and their response was "they won't be making their rounds for another 30 minutes so you're going to have to bring your dirty ones to the front and then you can get some clean ones" ...really? It was really weird cause we had no problems up until the morning we left. So overall I would definitely suggest this hotel for the price, just not who was ever working the front desk that morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yanii
Business
spi
Aug 19, 2014

Reasonable price

Can't really complain everything was okay... Room was really comfortable and neat. Can't beat the price. The only bad thing is that there is not that many parking spaces. I had to park a far distance from my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zap5s
Business
Orchard, TX
Jul 27, 2014

South Padre Vacation

Very good; enjoyed morning breakfast.very clean and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimsilva
Business
Harlingen, Tx
Jul 3, 2014

Stay-cation

It's was a nice room and clean. It was for one night but I could of stayed for a couple of days more there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christy0218
Business
Rio Grande City, Texas
Jun 26, 2014

Nice place

It was a nice & convenient place to stay at last minute, I would stay there again if need be. thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amantes
Business
San Benito, tx
Apr 28, 2014

Smell

Had a great experience there, the only thing I did not like, was the smell of the room, it smelled like humid,like wet dirty socks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Romantic get away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed lily
Business
Mission, texas
Apr 20, 2014

I don't recommend it

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. First we got stuck in the guest hospitality room right next to the lobby with no privacy at all. We could here all the guests in the lobby from this room. The exit door next to our room was broken so we could only go out and had to go around the hotel and into the lobby to go in our room. The room was clean but not what the pictures looked like. It had two old garden chairs three lamps that didn't have light bulbs and instead of a closet it had a rack to hang ur cloths. The sink in the restroom did not have water all our stay. Horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle rescue center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The traveler 79
Business
san antonio tx
Apr 4, 2014

good price for a nice place

Recently upgraded this red roof in defiantly earns its plus. Nice new upgraded rooms staff is very nice and hospitable. I would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The traveler 79
Business
south padre island tx
Apr 2, 2014

not so good

Fast access to beaches. Good Bad list: Room was in need of A LOT of maintenance repairs. Micro clean remote control for TV was nasty dirty. Bathroom has rust on shower parts and hoses were falling apart. Light shades were falling apart Blinds drapery have no medium just pitch black. Bed was not comfortable They were doing some sort of construction work upstairs at 830 am and woke me up. Thanks I enjoyed sleeping in on my vacations! I will never be coming back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top