Peninsula Island Resort ★★★★

2.5 /5
Overall score
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.3
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

Peninsula Island Resort & Spa is located on the Gulf of Mexico at the end of the Isabella Causeway on South Padre Island, Texas known for the most beautiful and secluded beaches in the area. The vacation ownership suites are luxuriously designed with Italian porcelain floors, ten foot ceilings and Brazilian furniture. The accommodations vary with 39 units in total: ten studios, five two-bedroom suites and 24 three-bedroom Presidential Suites. The resort features a Five Star Restaurant, Las Olas, directly on the water, and Aveda Exclusive Spa, and Endless Infinity Pool and 24 Hour Concierge Service. The hotel also offers non smoking policy.

Dining

LAS OLAS Restaurant
This elegant restaurant serves up delicious combination of fine ingredients and fresh seafood throughout the day. Meat lovers can enjoy a juicy rib eye or Black Angus beef. If you're looking for a spot where you can savor breakfast, lunch or dinner, come to Las Olas restaurant.

Recommendations for you

Pearl South Padre

★★★★
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$78
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$99
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$70
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$32
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$93

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities

Activities

  • Pool
  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Reviews

2.5 /5 Overall score

  • Amenities: 2.5/5
  • Cleanliness: 2.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 2.2/5
  • Comfort: 2.5/5
  • Location: 3.6/5
  • Value: 2.3/5

Great Stay!

Would recommend Fri, Mar 7, 2014
This trip was great. Check-in was flawless. Friendly staff. I ordered a 2 bedroom beachfront condo and got a 3 bedroom beachfront--201A. Fantastic view, right on the beach, lovely pool and deck for relaxing, and the onsite restaurant food was very, very good. Oh, and the servers were super friendly. Bottom line, hated to leave, but with Spring Break crowds beginning to come, we hightailed it out.

Dining

Restaurant food is very good! No need to drive anywhere.

| South Texas Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Major Disapointmant

Would not recommend Mon, Sep 23, 2013
From the ridiculous walk to and from the parking lot, to the front desk which resembled a classroom and a teacher's desk, we knew we made a big mistake. The room was equally disappointing. We were told we would be on the 5th Floor. When we got there we were on the 2nd Floor There were Roaches in the bathroom and bugs in the bed. The Walls are paper thin so you hear everything. We were there for less then 2hr. when we where solicited for a 2hr meeting about the timeshare. If we knew it was a timeshare we would not have booked there. The side we were put on was in bad shape the light coming into the room at night was so bright it was like daytime. They have music going all night long. We asked if we could be upgraded on the 5th night and they said sure. This was not an upgrade it was same room with different issues the upgrade was the Fl. we were given. I Slept 11hrs. because we no longer had to listen too that music and Loud shouting from the other side. There was no room service no one ever answered the phone when we called for room service. There was also no safe in the room. I can not understand where the 4 stars came from I would not even give this place 1/2 a star. P & B Georgetown Texas

Attractions

Boca Chica Beach .Primitive, private, drive along beach.

| Georgetown, Tx Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

A rocky start, but overall a nice place.

Would recommend Wed, Aug 14, 2013
The only real complaint I have is that there was no way to know how everything operated at the resort unless you had someone to ask. Luckily we were able to get information from another family that owned a timeshare. There was no information available on how to get towels, rent a beach umbrella, how to reach the front desk, etc. By the last day, we finally had it figures out. However, if there had been some literature available like most hotels, we could have enjoyed the amenities a little sooner. Our room was without a remote control for the TV and no hair dryer (which they provided once we trekked down to the front desk to tell them since we didn't know how to call down there). The elevator was broken until the last day so we got plenty of exercise going up and down five flights. All this being said, the staff was very friendly and accommodating if asked. They are not going out of their way to see what you need. The rooms are clean and spacious. (It should be notes that the pull out couch is only a single). The bottom line is that this is a condominium advertised as a hotel. If you go in knowing that, it is a nice place to stay. Do not expect hotel service and be sure to ask lots of questions about how things work when you check in.

Attractions

Breakaway Tours has great adventures!

| Albany, TX Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Horrible

Would not recommend Mon, Jul 1, 2013
I DO NOT RECOMMEND!!! First off, the front desk is some guy behind a folding table of a converted hotel room, the staff catered only to the Mexican Nationals, the room was sub par for the price I paid for the night. Cleaning staff enters the room when you dont want them to, making me suspicious. Overall one one the worst holiday experiences I have ever had.

| South Padre Island Texas Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Not Good at all

Would not recommend Tue, Feb 5, 2013
We were 4 and they have only 1 room with 1 bed king size. The restaurant only opens wensday to sunday and opens at 8am and close at 2 pm. The pool was very cold and the jacuzzi was not working. The person on the front desk was really rude with us and when we ask for the manager we doesn`t even wanted to talk to us. I do not recommend this hotel.

Entertainment hint

There is a place on port isable and sport place really cute with really good people there.

| Mexico Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

One Star - Maybe.

Would not recommend Sun, Oct 7, 2012
Just checked in and can't leave my room because the front door won't lock. Two calls and one visit to the front desk and still no response. It's been about two hours so far. BTW the wi-fi sucks and there are ants in the condo....5 floors up no less. Run from this place.

| south padre island Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

NOT luxury!!! Dirty!!!

Would not recommend Tue, Sep 11, 2012
This hotel in not clean and is falling apart. The furniture is worn out the hotel is worn out and dirty. My room had black mold, human hair and rust every where.They make the excuse that they are by the ocean and the salt water wear and tear is a constant up keep. Well they shoukd keep it up then, because they do nothing. It takes a good amount of doing nothing for black mold to grow on fhe sink area. The problems with this hotel are far beyond salt water wear and tear. I left the penninsula and checked into the Saphire condos, which were clean and not a bit of rust any where, not salt water wear and tear and they are right on the beach as well. The Peninsula Resort pretty much ruined our vacation. FALSE advertising!!!!!!

Time saver

Do not book this hotel!!! Get a condo!

| Austin Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great Time at the Beach - Hotel Almost There!

Would recommend Mon, Jun 18, 2012
Positive: Great pool and super access to the beach. The location is in a perfect spot to enjoy the beach and avoid the crowds. Staff was very friendly! Room was really nice! Overall a awesome property that just needs a few small tweaks to make it top notch. Negative: There was lots of confusion about when the resturnant was or was not open. Needs a few more staff to help everyone get back and forth to the parking lot and beach cabanas. Seems like there were charges for everything you might need to make the trip more relaxing.

Dining

The Sea Ranch Resturnant is a great nighttime dining spot!

| Texas Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Moms 60th birthday

Would not recommend Tue, Aug 30, 2011
We expected a much better experience when we booked at this resort, that was priced at about $550 a night. The staff barely spoke English to begin with. We entered a room that already had blinds that were broken. The iron and washing machine did not work. We were also trying to conduct business there and we tried numerous times to get the staff to help us with wifi connections and in our 3 nights there, still never could access the wifi. In the pictures you see beautiful bed spreads, etc, and the rooms looked nothing like this. In fact we got a blanket and sheet on all the 5 beds we had in our room, and we felt lucky to get that because every time we tried to get towels, sheets, even wash clothes they told us they were out, yet the resort was no where near full capacity. They advertise a "fully stocked kitchen" and the room came with 2 frying pans, 2 spoons and a spatula. . . this was not enough to cook breakfast with for 7 people. We inquired about getting more pans, etc and they told us they could not find any. If you expect a hottub with your suite you will be disappointed since it seems they are on the patio but none seemed to be working. As a group we loved the beach, but the resort is not worth the money to be called a "resort." There are other hotels on the island with better pricing and service. I would not recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend $500 a night . . .

Dining

Claytons bar and grill, directly across from the birding center . . . best food on the island and great atmosphere and view! (over looks the Gulf not the bay)

| Houston, TX, USA Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Best hotel on the island.

Would recommend Thu, May 19, 2011
Stayed here with a group of friends. We were very satisfied with the 3 bedroom suite. It was large and included a fully stocked kitchen, 3 full bathrooms a large balcony with private jacuzzi and a must have at a beach resort, a washer and dryer. The pool is a great place to pace the time. Very large with two jacuzzis, although one was not working. I would recommend this hotel to anybody planning on going to south padre island.

Dining

We visited Amberjacks and Parrot Eyes. Both are located on the bay and have bay side dinning.

| Laredo,TX Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz