$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Peninsula Island Resort

4 stars
340 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
11 reviews
Great Stay!

This trip was great. Check-in was flawless. Friendly staff. I ordered a 2 bedroom beachfront condo... See full review

  • bzv143
  • Mar 7, 2014
Great Time at the Beach - Hotel Almost There!

Positive: Great pool and super access to the beach. The location is in a perfect spot to enjoy the... See full review

  • Mark and Crystal
  • Jun 18, 2012
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa is located on the Gulf of Mexico at the end of the Isabella Causeway on South Padre Island, Texas known for the most beautiful and secluded beaches in the area. The vacation ownership suites are luxuriously designed with Italian porcelain floors, ten foot ceilings and Brazilian furniture. The accommodations vary with 39 units in total: ten studios, five two-bedroom suites and 24 three-bedroom Presidential Suites. The resort features a Five Star Restaurant, Las Olas, directly on the water, and Aveda Exclusive Spa, and Endless Infinity Pool and 24 Hour Concierge Service. The hotel also offers non smoking policy.

Hotel Map

26.0856 -97.1619
Area served
South Padre Island
Nearby airports
The preferred airport for Peninsula Island Resort is Brownsville, TX (BRO-Brownsville-South Padre Island Intl.) - 33.4 km / 20.8 mi.
Area description
Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark - 1.1 km / 0.7 mi Isla Blanca Park - 1.4 km / 0.9 mi Andy Bowie Park - 5.8 km / 3.6 mi Sea Turtle Rescue Center - 5.9 km / 3.7 mi South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center - 6.2 km / 3.9 mi South Padre Convention Center - 6.2 km / 3.9 mi "

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Peninsula Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Peninsula Island Resort Rooms

Luxury Junior Suite
Luxury Junior Suite offers 1 king or 2 double bed and sofa bed.With high quality fixtures and a contemporary style, get ready for a comfortable stay at Peninsula Island Resort All Suites. This beautiful and convenient suite features a fully equipped kitchen, dining room, dishwasher, dryer and washer. Added luxury, such as an over sized whirlpool tub in the master bedroom and flat screen TV's in each of the guestrooms, will make you want to stay forever.
Presidential Master Suite
Presidential Master Suite offers 1 king or 2 double bed and 2 double bed or sofa bed. Exquisite taste combined with a cozy, modern atmosphere is just one of the few details that make the Presidential Suite the room of your dreams. Featuring three spacious guestrooms, a large living area and a dining room, you can be sure that there's enough room to accommodate your friends or family during a luxury-filled vacation.
Presidential Master Suite
Presidential Master Suite offers 1 king or 2 double bed and 2 double bed or sofa bed.Exquisite taste combined with a cozy, modern atmosphere is just one of the few details that make the Presidential Suite the room of your dreams. Featuring three spacious guestrooms, a large living area and a dining room, you can be sure that there's enough room to accommodate your friends or family during a luxury-filled vacation. Enjoy a jacuzzi (outdoor).
Comfort Studio
Comfort Studio offers 2 double bed and sofa bed. Elegant and modern details can be seen in every corner of this studio. This comfortable guestroom is the perfect spot for a get-together with friends and family. Make yourself at home with the fully-equipped kitchen and cozy living area, complete with a leather sofa bed.
Comfort Studio
Comfort Studio offers 1 king and sofa bed. Elegant and modern details can be seen in every corner of this studio. This comfortable guestroom is the perfect spot for a get-together with friends and family. Make yourself at home with the fully-equipped kitchen and cozy living area, complete with a leather sofa bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

LAS OLAS Restaurant
This elegant restaurant serves up delicious combination of fine ingredients and fresh seafood throughout the day. Meat lovers can enjoy a juicy rib eye or Black Angus beef. If you're looking for a spot where you can savor breakfast, lunch or dinner, come to Las Olas restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Peninsula Island Resort

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 11
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.3
Sort by:
Review of Peninsula Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark and Crystal
Texas
Jun 18, 2012

Great Time at the Beach - Hotel Almost There!

Positive: Great pool and super access to the beach. The location is in a perfect spot to enjoy the beach and avoid the crowds. Staff was very friendly! Room was really nice! Overall a awesome property that just needs a few small tweaks to make it top notch. Negative: There was lots of confusion about when the resturnant was or was not open. Needs a few more staff to help everyone get back and forth to the parking lot and beach cabanas. Seems like there were charges for everything you might need to make the trip more relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sea Ranch Resturnant is a great nighttime dining spot!

Review of Peninsula Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ginnylw
Albany, TX
Aug 14, 2013

A rocky start, but overall a nice place.

The only real complaint I have is that there was no way to know how everything operated at the resort unless you had someone to ask. Luckily we were able to get information from another family that owned a timeshare. There was no information available on how to get towels, rent a beach umbrella, how to reach the front desk, etc. By the last day, we finally had it figures out. However, if there had been some literature available like most hotels, we could have enjoyed the amenities a little sooner. Our room was without a remote control for the TV and no hair dryer (which they provided once we trekked down to the front desk to tell them since we didn't know how to call down there). The elevator was broken until the last day so we got plenty of exercise going up and down five flights. All this being said, the staff was very friendly and accommodating if asked. They are not going out of their way to see what you need. The rooms are clean and spacious. (It should be notes that the pull out couch is only a single). The bottom line is that this is a condominium advertised as a hotel. If you go in knowing that, it is a nice place to stay. Do not expect hotel service and be sure to ask lots of questions about how things work when you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakaway Tours has great adventures!

Review of Peninsula Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chilla
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Moms 60th birthday

We expected a much better experience when we booked at this resort, that was priced at about $550 a night. The staff barely spoke English to begin with. We entered a room that already had blinds that were broken. The iron and washing machine did not work. We were also trying to conduct business there and we tried numerous times to get the staff to help us with wifi connections and in our 3 nights there, still never could access the wifi. In the pictures you see beautiful bed spreads, etc, and the rooms looked nothing like this. In fact we got a blanket and sheet on all the 5 beds we had in our room, and we felt lucky to get that because every time we tried to get towels, sheets, even wash clothes they told us they were out, yet the resort was no where near full capacity. They advertise a "fully stocked kitchen" and the room came with 2 frying pans, 2 spoons and a spatula. . . this was not enough to cook breakfast with for 7 people. We inquired about getting more pans, etc and they told us they could not find any. If you expect a hottub with your suite you will be disappointed since it seems they are on the patio but none seemed to be working. As a group we loved the beach, but the resort is not worth the money to be called a "resort." There are other hotels on the island with better pricing and service. I would not recommend this place to anyone who wants to spend $500 a night . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Claytons bar and grill, directly across from the birding center . . . best food on the island and great atmosphere and view! (over looks the Gulf not the bay)

Review of Peninsula Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tripper1234
Austin
Sep 11, 2012

NOT luxury!!! Dirty!!!

This hotel in not clean and is falling apart. The furniture is worn out the hotel is worn out and dirty. My room had black mold, human hair and rust every where.They make the excuse that they are by the ocean and the salt water wear and tear is a constant up keep. Well they shoukd keep it up then, because they do nothing. It takes a good amount of doing nothing for black mold to grow on fhe sink area. The problems with this hotel are far beyond salt water wear and tear. I left the penninsula and checked into the Saphire condos, which were clean and not a bit of rust any where, not salt water wear and tear and they are right on the beach as well. The Peninsula Resort pretty much ruined our vacation. FALSE advertising!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not book this hotel!!! Get a condo!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search