$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Pearl South Padre

4 stars
310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
anniversary getaway

We were very happy with the service. Thank you!!!! See full review

  • Mevla Super Mom
  • Nov 14, 2014
Pretty good location

The stay experience was nice in this hotel. Very good location. Easy access to beach. Had a... See full review

  • Saravanan Chandru
  • Oct 6, 2014
Ocean-view rooms with private balconies and a swim-up bar
Take in the stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico from the sundeck of the Pearl South Padre -- it is the largest on South Padre Island and an excellent place to catch the sunset. The most popular area of the hotel is the enormous outdoor pool, complete with a swim-up tiki bar, waterfall, Jacuzzi and separate pool for kids. Guests of the Pearl South Padre can relax with an in-room massage, play volleyball on the beach or enjoy any of the many other options available nearby.
Highlights
  • A 6,000-square-foot outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Massage therapist available by appointment
  • Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access throughout hotel
  • Fitness room with up-to-date equipment
  • Beach access
Location
Pearl South Padre is located just off Padre Boulevard on South Padre Island, near the Queen Isabella Causeway.
Rooms
The Pearl South Padre rooms have a fun, modern ambience mixed with a bit of southern charm. All come with contemporary furniture and balconies with views of the beach or bay, and many have the convenience of full kitchens. Condominiums offer two bedrooms, much more space and include dining and living areas. Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access in all rooms.
Features
Spend all day at the 6,000-square-foot, outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, waterfall and Jacuzzi at the Pearl South Padre. The grass-roof bar, palm trees and lush landscaping evoke a tropical paradise. Or, get active with a game of volleyball or parasailing -- the hotel offers all the equipment needed on the beach out front. Guests who still have energy to burn can hit the cardiovascular machines in the on-site fitness facility. The Beachside Bar and Grille offers international cuisine in a casual atmosphere.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (20 mi/33 km)
  • Valley International Airport (32 mi/52 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Golf Club (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (19 mi/31 km)
Business
  • Nine meeting rooms cover 8,500 square feet
  • Complimentary wireless, high-speed Internet access in meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment and technicians

Hotel Map

26.0832 -97.1649
Area served
Brownsville City Center, Harlingen City Center, City Center
Nearby airports
Brownsville South Padre Island International, (BRO), 25.00, MI, NE; Harlingen International Airport, (HRL), 50.00, MI;
Area description
Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pearl South Padre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Pearl South Padre Rooms

Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 282 sq ft with sofabed and refrigerator as well as a private balcony or patio with views of the island and the Gulf of Mexico. 1 rollaway allowed.
ADA Deluxe 2 Double Beds
Approx. 282 sq ft. Enlarged door openings.Grab bars available in tub and near toilet.Standard tub and shower head.Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 in from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available. Private balcony or patio and partial ocean view. No rollaways allowed.
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds. Approx 282 sq ft with refrigerator and a private balcony or patio with views of the island and the Gulf of Mexico. No rollaways allowed.
Premier Room 1 King Bed
Premier Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 282 sq ft with sofabed and refrigerator as well as a private balcony or patio with views of the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. 1 rollaway allowed.
Premier Room 2 Double Beds
Premier Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 282 sq ft on a high floor with refrigerator and a private balcony or patio with views of the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. No rollaway allowed.
Suite 1 King Partial Ocean View
Suite 1 King Bed Partial Ocean View. Approx. 440 sq ft with a separate living area with a sofabed and refrigerator as well as a microwave and private balcony overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. 1 rollaway allowed.
1 Bedroom Condominium
1 Bedroom Ocean View Condominium. Approx. 675 sq ft with partial ocean view and separate bedroom as well as a fully equipped kitchen and private balcony or patio with partial views of the Gulf of Mexico. 1 rollaway allowed.
2 Bedroom Condominium
2 Bedroom Condominium with 1 King and 2 Double Beds. Approx. 1125 sq ft with 2 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Full kitchen and living room with sofabed as well as a private balcony or patio with partial views of the Gulf of Mexico. 1 rollaway allowed.
2 Bedroom Condominium
2 Bedroom Condominium with 1 King and 1 Double Bed. Approx. 973-1050 sq ft with 2 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Full kitchen and living room with sofabed as well as a private balcony or patio with partial views of the Gulf of Mexico.
2 Bedroom Condominium
2 Bedroom Full Ocean View Condominium with 1 King and 2 Double Beds. Approx. 1243 sq ft with 2 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Full kitchen and living room with sofabed as well as a private balcony or patio with full views of the Gulf of Mexico.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Golf
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Beachside Bar
Relaxing lounge for that after-dinner cocktail or coffee special. Listen to live nighttime entertainment. Daily Hours 0630 - 2200
Beachside Grille
Enjoy a relaxing meal in the Beachside Bar and Grille overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Choose from our menu of steaks as well as seafood and much more. Make a reservation for our Friday night seafood buffet or our champagne Sunday brunch. Daily Hours 0630 - 2200
Palapa Bar and Grill
Palm-thatched swim-up bar and grill that is a perfect place to take a break from the sun and have your favorite beverage. Serving grilled sandwiches and hamburgers as well as nachos and ice cream. Bar stools in the pool. Bar closing subject to weather. Daily Hours 1200 - 2000

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Pearl South Padre

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Worth, tx
Jul 7, 2011

ok vacation

this is one of the ugly hotel that i've ever stay. It advertise at 4 &1/2 stars,it was a lie. the floor, ceiling and the whole room need to be update, and remodel. it's not even close to 2 stars. Air conditioning unit make too much noise, it's going on every minutes, i can't stand the noise. the hotel allows dogs, and i've never seen any 4 stars hotel that allows dogs to be in. the room is small and floor is dirty. The first day that i was there, the pool was so dirty, debris all over the place.and i's one of the dirtiest pool. I would not recommend to anyone. i stay for five days, i enjoy the beach though, i was happy to be home, so i don't have to listen to the noisy air conditioning unit.it needs to stop put 4 and 1/2 stars on it. it's false advertisement. internet is suck too. i can't use my computer for the last two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

get away from hotel,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bobonthebeach
Business
corpus christi, tx
Sep 10, 2014

Past it's prime

The "Pearl" is the old Sheraton, and it's been around a long time. Room was musty and damp. Tile floor also damp. Necessary to wear shoes at all times. No desk to work, no chair to sit and read. Old AC. Nice restaurant / bar. Friendly staff. Yes, it is on SPI, but that means a lot less than it used to. Fried foods, cheap drinks, way too many t-shirt shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gabriel Redd
Business
Crest Hill, IL
Aug 13, 2012

Just Okay Experience

For the price, the Pearl doesn't measure up to a 4-star hotel. Location is the best aspect of this place. Pool is small and dirty and guests of the Sapphire can use the Pearl pool, but we cannot use the nicer bigger Sapphire pool. Room service is outrageously priced as are the drinks pool-side. The king room was small and we were just above the a/c vent fans which make a lot of noise as well as being too close to the smelly garbage disposal containers outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to quite a number of restaurants and the hands down restaurant was Gabriella's Italian. Awesome place, but expect to wait to be seated - no reservations are accepted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OCdoc
Business
Orange County. CA
Jun 21, 2013

very disappointed

Disappointment started on arrival. We were given 2 non adjacent rooms. Each room had 2 double beds a desk with a very filthy desk chair and an arm chair. The arm chair in my wife and daughter room was so filthy it may me want to puke. It took 3 trips to the desk and 2 days to get it replaced. The toilet backed up twice in that room. The room I shared with my son had a leaky AC unit that flooded the floor on arrival. Their fix was to throw a towel under the unit. Of course after 2 days it got soaked. They finally moved us to a different room. There, every time the AC unit started which was after about a minute of quiet time, it sounded like a race motorcycle was speeding through the room. I could not hear the TV unless I played it very loud. The emergency alarm went off 5 times in 5 days, including three times in one night! Needless to say that they had an issue that they could not pinpoint and therefore could not fix. The pool area was clean and well maintained. But most of staff spoke no English at all. It was really hard to order food or drinks. The beach was nice and access. We rented umbrellas and cheapo loungers. Every hour or 2, someone wanted to check our receipt. It was quite annoying. There were no other services provided at the beach. Overall, it is was a very disappointing experience and we could not wait to get back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Searanch restaurant was the only semi-decent place to eat in town. All others were fast food quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommy to be 2013
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 10, 2013

Over priced, and under delivered......

My family and I wanted a nice little getaway near the beach and choose this hotel based on website and reviews. Once we got there the hotel was not well keep, its old and dirty and the pool water looked as though it had never been cleaned. Upon check in we were surprised by an additional security deposit that was needed, per night and per room. The location was great, weather and beach were fantasic but each day I dreaded going back to the smelly room to sleep. I would not recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whit90
Business
South padre island, Tx
May 23, 2014

Quick Getaway

The hotel was okay it is older in the inside than it appears to be from the lobby. The pool is open 24/7 which is great and the staff is nice. The pool was suppose to be heated but it didn't seem like it was. This place would be great if the pool was heated and the interior of the hotel was more vaction friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The dining on the island was pretty bad. Try the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 31, 2007

Improvement Needed

The Sheraton South Padre Island is in need of improvement. Although the rooms were comfortable and clean, the common areas seemed to be in need of repair. The hotel is an older property and is beginning to show its age. The room was comfortable and clean. Although not very large it was veey comfortable for my wife and I. Access to the Sheraton is very easy. However due to the construction next door baggage handling is something less than appealing. There was no detectable valet service upon arrival, and due to the temporary facilities, unloading baggage seemed to be unorganized and lacking any direction for guests. Even the doorman seemed to be somewhat unclear on the procedures and directions in place. All in all the stay was not terrible, but for the money could have been a whole lot better. On a scale from 1 - 10 with 10 being the best, I would rate the stay as a 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is right off the back patio. Schlitterbahn Waterpark on eblock from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

no good

first of all they need to update there internet to windows vista and it said on the rez that it was free local calls they charge me for them..not very happy need to use the int did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 9, 2010

" Relaxing fun"

The location was great, right on the beach. Hotel is clean but a bit out dated. It has thin walls, when at 3 in the morning you can hear all the druken rants coming from the room next door. Pool is nice, but needed to be cleaned more effectively.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pearl South Padre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cory956
Business
McAllen, TX, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Good for a weekend getaway.

The bed was comfortable. The a/c unit was a bit loud and the hot water in shower was not working well. Outdoors was very nice, enjoyed the hot tub and heated pool. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top