$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
139 reviews
Weekend get away

Great view great location comfortable stay and good times. See full review

  • Chango volador
  • May 30, 2014
Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach. See full review

  • MR1451
  • Oct 14, 2013
Apartment-style rooms by the beach
Padre South Hotel on the Beach lives up to its name. Peek at the Gulf of Mexico from a room balcony or from the pool deck, a huge space with a courtyard and a Jacuzzi where guests can relax. The hotel offers apartment-style rooms, efficiencies and two-bedroom units with fully equipped kitchenettes. Save a little vacation money for all the nearby activities and cook some meals in the room.  Just a short path from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach takes guests to the beach.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and courtyard
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Location
The Padre South Hotel on the Beach overlooks the beach, towards the center of South Padre Island.
Rooms
All rooms at the Padre South Hotel on the Beach have balconies and at least partial views of the water. Guests can book an efficiency room with a fully equipped kitchen, queen-sized bed and sofa bed. Guests can also go for a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite, which has a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and private bath, a second bedroom with two twin beds, and a large kitchen and dining area -- perfect for families.
Features
Guests can relax and enjoy vacation at the oversized pool area with Jacuzzi and courtyard with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Borrow a book from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach library, follow the short path from the hotel to the beach and claim a spot on the sand. An array of restaurants and bars are located in the immediate area. Complimentary wireless Internet is available in the lobby.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (1.5 mi/2.6 km)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Port Isabel History Museum (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (3.2 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Meeting room with space for up to 75 people
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
NOTE: During the month of March, full payment for all room nights will be billed automatically. Guests 31 years and younger are required to pay a 250 refundable cash deposit. All guests will pay a 15 USD per person nonrefundable fee for a wristband. The hotel also requires a faxed copy of ID and credit card to confirm authorization. Please contact hotel directly to confirm amount billed. Cancellation policy during the month of March is 14 days prior to arrival or full amount is forfeited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.0955 -97.1638
Nearby airports
Rio Grande Valley Intl Airport, (HRL), 45.00, MI, NW; Brownsville South Padre Island Intl Airport, (BRO), 22.00, MI, SW; Mc Allen/Mission, (MFE), 90.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre South Hotel On The Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Padre South Hotel On The Beach Rooms

Standard
Air Conditioning AM FM Alarm Clock
Standard
Double Efficiency-With 2 double beds. Full kitchen with coffee maker-dishwasher- refrigerator and eating utensils. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Standard
Queen Efficiency-With one queen bed and one queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Seating area. Data port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite-With 1 queen bed and 2-twin beds in the second BD. Living room with queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port and Seating area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Scampis
Serving steaks and seafood
blackbeards
Serving seafood and American cuisine
Padre Island Brewing Co
Serving seafood pasta and meats
jakes
Serving seafood sandwiches and Mexican cuisine
The Lantern
Serving steaks and seafood
Josephs
Serving seafood and American cuisine. Located next door to hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 139
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR1451
South Padre iSLAND
Oct 14, 2013

Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ely M.
Edinburg, TX
Jun 18, 2013

Great location, Not so great hotel!

Hotel is located right on the beach with extremely easy access and every room features a private balcony with a perfect view of the ocean as well as the surrounding neighborhood. It's also very close to the center of town. Granted South Padre Island isn't very large, it's still super close to the most popular restaurants and shops. Other than than, I can't say I particularly enjoyed anything else about this hotel. The walls are very thin and during my husband and I's two-day stay, the first morning we were woken up by a gang of kids in the next room and the morning after we were woken up by housekeeping vacuuming. The building and decor are also really retro and in need of updating. The bed was a little too firm for my comfort and the pillows were lumpy. There was also a small kitchen with a stove, but no microwave, which I thought was odd. The room was clean enough, but there was a stain on one of our pillow cases and I saw a small roach in the bathroom. Also, the only televisions available are probably twenty years old and if you're hoping to hook up your gaming system, like my husband and I wanted to hook up our wii, be prepared to provide your own adapter, otherwise forget about it. The staff was perfectly nice about it though. If you're under 30, be prepared to pay $100 deposit which will be returned, but if you pay by card, if will take a few days. Ours was just a casual visit and so we didn't mind the downsides so much, but if you really want to have a decent vacation, I suggest you go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
djbucket
dallas, texas
Jun 16, 2013

Padre South, 2013

Our room was clean. I never saw an insect. Plenty of towels for the two of us. Everything as promised. We ended up paying $79/night through this site. You'll pay double that for a room on the gulf. Overlook the dated furniture and rude desk help that others complained about, you go to SPI for the beauty and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Progresso, Mexico. Never had a problem.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
djbucket
dallas, texas
May 27, 2013

It's cheap

It's the best $100/night hotel on the gulf beach. We've done the Surf motel. The wanna wanna. The Capri (torn down years ago#. If you are looking for immaculate, new, spotless, this isn't the place. Try the Pearl, Hilton or other $200+ places. We can say we never had a problem #3 stays).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christian an Malene
Minneappolis
May 22, 2013

Disappointing experience

This is probably the most dated hotel we have ever stayed in. It was clean and the beds were good. Everything else did not work or was partially broken. AC, toilet, leaking windows and doors, internet spotty. pools under repair, rusty refrigerator etc.. No food available in the hotel. This hotel need a complete renovation. Cannot recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaney2
Austin, Texas
May 21, 2013

Good Value - Great Location

Location is great. Right on the beach and short drive/walking to most attractions on the island. The hotel itself is a great value. Don't expect the most luxurious hotel in the world, but it serves its purpose. A good safe place to stay after enjoying the beach or whatever activity. When I travel I prefer to save money and explore and be active and this hotel allowed me to do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a couple enjoy one of the sunset dining cruises. Well worth the time.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agapito Perez
San Juan, Tx
Apr 14, 2013

BDay getaway.

The stay, room and location was great. Thge only thing I was disappointed in was the restroom tub, the water would not drain so when we were in the shower the water was up to our ankles. Another thing that bothered me was that it was not check out time yet and with out knocking housekeeping came in, thank god I was dressed. Other than that, we onjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Black Beards

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beach lover SMM
Fort Worth TX
Sep 22, 2012

Good for the price

Awesome location! Older hotel but if you are not that picky about that its perfect. Kitchen was good. There was no coffee pot or hair dryer ...a bit disappointed with that. Short walk to beach was perfection. Had a wonderful vacation. Will go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss King
La Villa, Texas
Jun 28, 2012

Awesome experience recommend 100%

Was very Good So close to the Beach which Gave It A Plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To The Beach And Shops Around

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crogman
McAllen TX
Apr 3, 2012

Good deal

It's fine. Good deal for beachside. Rooms can get humid but that's everywhere on South Padre. I expected it. Carpet should be replaced with tile. For the money, it's not bad. I like staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not a bad restaurant on the island!

Back to menu Return to top