$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Weekend get away

Great view great location comfortable stay and good times. See full review

  • Chango volador
  • May 30, 2014
Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach. See full review

  • MR1451
  • Oct 14, 2013
Apartment-style rooms by the beach
Padre South Hotel on the Beach lives up to its name. Peek at the Gulf of Mexico from a room balcony or from the pool deck, a huge space with a courtyard and a Jacuzzi where guests can relax. The hotel offers apartment-style rooms, efficiencies and two-bedroom units with fully equipped kitchenettes. Save a little vacation money for all the nearby activities and cook some meals in the room.  Just a short path from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach takes guests to the beach.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and courtyard
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Location
The Padre South Hotel on the Beach overlooks the beach, towards the center of South Padre Island.
Rooms
All rooms at the Padre South Hotel on the Beach have balconies and at least partial views of the water. Guests can book an efficiency room with a fully equipped kitchen, queen-sized bed and sofa bed. Guests can also go for a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite, which has a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and private bath, a second bedroom with two twin beds, and a large kitchen and dining area -- perfect for families.
Features
Guests can relax and enjoy vacation at the oversized pool area with Jacuzzi and courtyard with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Borrow a book from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach library, follow the short path from the hotel to the beach and claim a spot on the sand. An array of restaurants and bars are located in the immediate area. Complimentary wireless Internet is available in the lobby.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (1.5 mi/2.6 km)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Port Isabel History Museum (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (3.2 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Meeting room with space for up to 75 people
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
NOTE: During the month of March, full payment for all room nights will be billed automatically. Guests 31 years and younger are required to pay a 250 refundable cash deposit. All guests will pay a 15 USD per person nonrefundable fee for a wristband. The hotel also requires a faxed copy of ID and credit card to confirm authorization. Please contact hotel directly to confirm amount billed. Cancellation policy during the month of March is 14 days prior to arrival or full amount is forfeited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.0955 -97.1638
Nearby airports
Rio Grande Valley Intl Airport, (HRL), 45.00, MI, NW; Brownsville South Padre Island Intl Airport, (BRO), 22.00, MI, SW; Mc Allen/Mission, (MFE), 90.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre South Hotel On The Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Padre South Hotel On The Beach Rooms

Standard
Air Conditioning AM FM Alarm Clock
Standard
Double Efficiency-With 2 double beds. Full kitchen with coffee maker-dishwasher- refrigerator and eating utensils. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Standard
Queen Efficiency-With one queen bed and one queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Seating area. Data port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite-With 1 queen bed and 2-twin beds in the second BD. Living room with queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port and Seating area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Scampis
Serving steaks and seafood
blackbeards
Serving seafood and American cuisine
Padre Island Brewing Co
Serving seafood pasta and meats
jakes
Serving seafood sandwiches and Mexican cuisine
The Lantern
Serving steaks and seafood
Josephs
Serving seafood and American cuisine. Located next door to hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kansas City traveler.
Kansas City, MO, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Too many decades have passed!

We were excited at the online description and price, but after checking in we realized why. We asked for a nonsmoking room but had to go buy an airfreshener to put on the vent. The hallway smelled like an ashtray. The handle was falling off the freezer door, the large burner didn't work on the stove, and you could feel the springs coming through the mattress. Great for poor college students needing a place to stay on the beach for Spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Louie's! Great place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stormy12
Business
South Padre Island TX
Mar 25, 2013

Sticky Sheets

Staff was nice, however, the room smelled ..... not good, and the sheets on the bed felt sticky and there was sand on them as well as on the sofa sleeper sheets! the elevator was filthy with sand. arrived there around 4pm and the following morning left at 5:30 am,... the elevator had not been cleaned!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
margaritarox
south padre island
Apr 29, 2013

family vacation

Mildew on in walls. A/c did not work and the manager had the nerve to tell me I didn't know how to turn it on. I checked out early and was charged that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment is all nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burleson, TX
Sep 18, 2009

Not so Great!

This hotel was well located. We went to their Mexican Fiesta and enjoyed good food and drink for $8. Couldn't beat the price. The only complaints we had were some of the staff (not all of the staff) were rude and really too busy to take care of guests. On our last night, there were workers on the roof with jackhammers, and down the hall taking up tile in the room on our floor. Very Noisy. When I knocked on the room door the worker said I would have to call downstairs in order for him to stop making so much noise. Also we were told by some timeshare owners that this hotel has gone way down in quality since the new owners took over. These people seemed to think that the rooms were not furnished until they were rented. Then the furniture was moved into the room. That could very well be as our Futon was shoved up against the sliding glass door that you walked out of to the balcony. The room we had was not ready at 3:30 in the afternoon! This hotel was not near capacity. This was our first trip to Padre and we will probably stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
san angelo ,texas
Sep 11, 2009

South Padre vacation

the bed was very uncomfortable you could feel the wire springs also the bedspread was very worn out ughly to the touch. the air condition broke twice we had 2 nights with out air, all in all it was the most depressing place I have evered stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Aug 25, 2009

I would not recommend this.

We stayed away from the hotel as much as possible. At all times there was only one staff on premises that spoke English. Everything was in poor repair, or past it's prime. The balcony had no furniture. the lobby was ugly and old. The pool was totally full all day long with screaming, unsupervised children. You're better off at a Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Scampi's. It's on the bay side. Go at sunset. Very attentive wait staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Mary
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 22, 2012

Mother/Daughter getaway

I don't know why this hotel is rated as a 3 star; I have been to 2 star hotels in many different countries that were much better. The one and only positive aspect was that is was fairly clean. It is extremely outdated. My guess is that it was built in the 70s or 80s and nothing has been done to it since. The furniture is very old (we wouldn't even sit on the sofa). We wore our slippers all the time inside the room because the carpet was a dark color, but you could still tell that it was dirty. Some kind of bug scared me half to death while I was trying to fall asleep the first night. The beach access seriously needs to be cut and cleaned (all the weeds are overgrown so bad that only one person can fit on the path without moving over or being inside the dense weeds with God knows what kind of critters). The bottom line is that this hotel is way OVERPRICED for what it offers. Last but not least, fraud was committed on the credit card I used to check in and I suspect it was one of the hotel's employees because some of the items bought were bought right in Brownsville, Texas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you're there during the week, dine early because everything closes pretty early although it's a beach resort location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christian an Malene
Minneappolis
May 22, 2013

Disappointing experience

This is probably the most dated hotel we have ever stayed in. It was clean and the beds were good. Everything else did not work or was partially broken. AC, toilet, leaking windows and doors, internet spotty. pools under repair, rusty refrigerator etc.. No food available in the hotel. This hotel need a complete renovation. Cannot recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Oct 12, 2008

Worst place to stay at SPI

The room was filthy, we had to walk up 5 flights of stairs because the elevator had been out for 5 months, the staff was very rude, it was over priced for what we got, it had no breakfast and the whole room looked as though it had never been cleaned in it's life time. We were very, very disappointed in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
cherry creek
May 4, 2009

run away

Aweful will never return dirt bug infested hotel with the rudest staff I have ever met. Run away don't stay here even if you are desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search