$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
View map of 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
weslaco,tx
Jun 21, 2009

Last minute getaway

The location was fine. The room could be bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amber travel RN
Business
Kingman AZ
Jun 3, 2009

good price great view

The beach was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OWN14
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
May 30, 2009

Nice hotel, cant beat the price!

I was skeptical about the hotel when i read all the reviews about the hotel. However me and my family were committed to staying on the beach this year and for $80 a night we figured we would give it a try. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, awesome balcony views, nice hot tub and pool areas with a great beach side view. The only draw back i had was alot of people who were not guests at the hotel would come in through the back and swim and get in the hot tub. I would recommend it to anyone though. Great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time beachers w/an infant
Business
Fort Worth TX
May 28, 2009

What we expected for the price

We were primarily interested in an on-the-beach hotel. This hotel was on the beach and for the price ($80/night) was worth it. It was outdated and slightly rundown but the friendliness of the staff and location made up for the apperance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN ANTONIO TX
May 16, 2009

Love this place.....

The room i had was beautiful. The view was awesome and having our own private patio was nice. Would come back here for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The viewing of the dolphins tour. Its 20 dollars a person but your on the boat for 2 hours long and get to see real fish and hold them and stuff. All kinds of different fish. Great for the kids and adults ...

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cherry creek
May 4, 2009

run away

Aweful will never return dirt bug infested hotel with the rudest staff I have ever met. Run away don't stay here even if you are desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canyon Lake, TX
Feb 21, 2009

No internet / modern amenities

Quaint location close to bridge, shopping, restaurants and beach. Great value with the kitchen and spacious room. Outdated and dull otherwise. No internet! The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cook your own meals in room in the full kitchen.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Friendly staff, old hotel

Although the staff at the Hotel was very friendly, the general hotel maintenance and upkeep could improve A LOT. Sorry, but I dont think I'll be coming back very soon..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A Dennys nearby, open 24 hours.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 15, 2008

great location, great price

while the elevator was out and the halls smelled musty from hurricane dolly, which they are still repairing after, the rest was all positive. large room with full kitchen so we didn't need to eat out much. really nice hot tub and pool with a view of the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to some restaurants and tourist stores on padre blvd., the free island bus stops right at the hotel, runs every half an hour, the downside is it only runs one direction off season, so you always get the scenic tour of the island, which isn't bad. the main grocery store is about 3/4 mile north.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Oct 12, 2008

Worst place to stay at SPI

The room was filthy, we had to walk up 5 flights of stairs because the elevator had been out for 5 months, the staff was very rude, it was over priced for what we got, it had no breakfast and the whole room looked as though it had never been cleaned in it's life time. We were very, very disappointed in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top