$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Weekend get away

Great view great location comfortable stay and good times. See full review

  • Chango volador
  • May 30, 2014
Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach. See full review

  • MR1451
  • Oct 14, 2013
Apartment-style rooms by the beach
Padre South Hotel on the Beach lives up to its name. Peek at the Gulf of Mexico from a room balcony or from the pool deck, a huge space with a courtyard and a Jacuzzi where guests can relax. The hotel offers apartment-style rooms, efficiencies and two-bedroom units with fully equipped kitchenettes. Save a little vacation money for all the nearby activities and cook some meals in the room.  Just a short path from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach takes guests to the beach.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and courtyard
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Location
The Padre South Hotel on the Beach overlooks the beach, towards the center of South Padre Island.
Rooms
All rooms at the Padre South Hotel on the Beach have balconies and at least partial views of the water. Guests can book an efficiency room with a fully equipped kitchen, queen-sized bed and sofa bed. Guests can also go for a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite, which has a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and private bath, a second bedroom with two twin beds, and a large kitchen and dining area -- perfect for families.
Features
Guests can relax and enjoy vacation at the oversized pool area with Jacuzzi and courtyard with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Borrow a book from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach library, follow the short path from the hotel to the beach and claim a spot on the sand. An array of restaurants and bars are located in the immediate area. Complimentary wireless Internet is available in the lobby.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (1.5 mi/2.6 km)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Port Isabel History Museum (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (3.2 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Meeting room with space for up to 75 people
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
NOTE: During the month of March, full payment for all room nights will be billed automatically. Guests 31 years and younger are required to pay a 250 refundable cash deposit. All guests will pay a 15 USD per person nonrefundable fee for a wristband. The hotel also requires a faxed copy of ID and credit card to confirm authorization. Please contact hotel directly to confirm amount billed. Cancellation policy during the month of March is 14 days prior to arrival or full amount is forfeited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre South Hotel On The Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Padre South Hotel On The Beach Rooms

Standard
Air Conditioning AM FM Alarm Clock
Standard
Double Efficiency-With 2 double beds. Full kitchen with coffee maker-dishwasher- refrigerator and eating utensils. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Standard
Queen Efficiency-With one queen bed and one queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Seating area. Data port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite-With 1 queen bed and 2-twin beds in the second BD. Living room with queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port and Seating area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Scampis
Serving steaks and seafood
blackbeards
Serving seafood and American cuisine
Padre Island Brewing Co
Serving seafood pasta and meats
jakes
Serving seafood sandwiches and Mexican cuisine
The Lantern
Serving steaks and seafood
Josephs
Serving seafood and American cuisine. Located next door to hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, TX
Mar 18, 2010

Great Stay

The stay was great. I went for spring break 2010 with 5 friends and the location was perfect for coca-cola beach during the day and some great bars at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was within short walking distance to some great nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Netherlands
Nov 8, 2009

OK place

The front desk people are quite snooty and the carpet in our room was wet all over. The place smelled musty. On the other hand, the room was nice and big and the view from the balcony can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young G-mom
Business
San Angelo, Texas
Nov 3, 2009

Great time @ a great hotel!

We have plans to return next year with our children and grands. We want to share the fun with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Oct 5, 2009

Great location, very helpful

Very good hotel experience. No crowds, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Tree TN
Sep 26, 2009

Good price for the location

Friendly, & helpful staff. Close to shops and eating places. Nice hot tub. Can walk to beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reynosa, Tamps
Sep 21, 2009

Excellent hotel to relax

Excellent way to relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Excellents rates

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burleson, TX
Sep 18, 2009

Not so Great!

This hotel was well located. We went to their Mexican Fiesta and enjoyed good food and drink for $8. Couldn't beat the price. The only complaints we had were some of the staff (not all of the staff) were rude and really too busy to take care of guests. On our last night, there were workers on the roof with jackhammers, and down the hall taking up tile in the room on our floor. Very Noisy. When I knocked on the room door the worker said I would have to call downstairs in order for him to stop making so much noise. Also we were told by some timeshare owners that this hotel has gone way down in quality since the new owners took over. These people seemed to think that the rooms were not furnished until they were rented. Then the furniture was moved into the room. That could very well be as our Futon was shoved up against the sliding glass door that you walked out of to the balcony. The room we had was not ready at 3:30 in the afternoon! This hotel was not near capacity. This was our first trip to Padre and we will probably stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Two Beach Lovers
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 18, 2009

Great No Frills Place to Stay

If you want a convenient place to stay without the high prices, or frills, then this is the place to stay. You walk out the back door right to the beach. It is also located near most of the shopping and dining spots. We rented an umbrella and lounge chairs on the beach 2 of the 3 days we were there, took our ice chest with drinks and lunch, and just spent the day. The water was clean and the weather was great. It is also just a short drive to Port Isabel where there are more major grocery stores and some interesting shoppings and sightseeing. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had one minor problem with the A/C but once we reported it, it was taken care of immediately. The worst part of the room was that the furniture was very uncomfortable, especially the sofa bed. The bed was also very hard. There was free coffee in the lobby each morning, but it would have been nice if they had some type of contenental breakfast. The coffee alone just did not do it and we ended up walking over to Denny's each morning. If you are looking for more than just the basics, this may not be the place. But for us, we spend all our time outside the room and when we do come back we are so tired nothing else much matters. We just want something clean, safe and convenient that won't empty our wallets. I like this place and would recommend it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weslaco, TX
Sep 16, 2009

Good Hotel for the Price Paid

It was not a five star hotel, but the location was nice. It was right on the beach. The hotel was quiet and the staff was polite. It was a good hotel for the price paid. I will probably visit it again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cmallen
Business
San Antonio Texas
Sep 14, 2009

Not handicap friendly

My biggest objection to this location was that it is not ADA friendly. My husband is in a wheel chair. Elevator to small to turn a wheel chair around. Bathroom was not designed for a disabled person to bathe. Lack of ADA accommodations not listed when placing reservation. Could not find a phone number to call and verify ADA accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top