$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
View map of 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crogman
Business
McAllen TX
Apr 3, 2012

Good deal

It's fine. Good deal for beachside. Rooms can get humid but that's everywhere on South Padre. I expected it. Carpet should be replaced with tile. For the money, it's not bad. I like staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not a bad restaurant on the island!

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kansas City traveler.
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Too many decades have passed!

We were excited at the online description and price, but after checking in we realized why. We asked for a nonsmoking room but had to go buy an airfreshener to put on the vent. The hallway smelled like an ashtray. The handle was falling off the freezer door, the large burner didn't work on the stove, and you could feel the springs coming through the mattress. Great for poor college students needing a place to stay on the beach for Spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Louie's! Great place.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrb281
Business
Burleson, TX, USA
Aug 30, 2011

no point in renting a condo. stay here instead.

anyone that complains about this place is flat out hard to please. it might be a little dated but you can tell they have made improvements. the room was awesome. it had a full sized fridge, oven and stovetop and plenty of pots, pans, plates and silverware. no microwave in the room but if you're not lazy you can take your food that needs to be heated up and walk 10 steps to the elevator and another 10 steps to the microwave in the lobby to heat it up. there is also a grill outside for your use. also every room has a balcony with an incredible view of the beach. oh yeah and its on located on the beach. oh and another thing it's literally walking distance to cvs if you need to pick up something. the pool is really nice and has several shaded tables for your use. this place is like staying in a condo but about 1/4 of the price. highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go eat the seafood buffet at louie's backyard. find a coupon in hotel lobby for free dessert. amazing buffet.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pierogi
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Location and Rates

This is an older hotel and the rooms themselves aren't likely to wow many people, but what makes this place special is the sensational views of the beach from the rooms (especially from our 8th floor room balcony). The location is outstanding - just steps away from the beach and only a block away from a CVS Drug Store. Another thing great about this hotel was that the rates were very reasonable when we stayed there (which was during South Padre's "high season"), so if you are on a budget and want a good, solid place to stay with a superb location, this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston , Texas
Jul 6, 2011

Padre South Hotel

The best thing about the hotel was the location it was located closely to the beach. The hotel room was ordinary but useful, had a stove and fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants close by which was great.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TX-DAD
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 12, 2011

Old, but not bad

Here is the deal. It is a very old hotel, but if you can get past the 1970/80s carpet and tile, then will enjoy your time. It is right on the beach. Plus, it is real blue/green water in Texas of all places. The staff is pretty nice. The maids do a nice job of cleaning. The pool is okay, but hey the beach is in the backyard. The reason I did not give it a 5 star is because one the hotel is old, and two there was no hot food. But again, I paid $439 for 3 nights,,, which is a great bargain for South Padre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 2, 2011

Needs renovating

Hotel pool is dirty and the rooms are very outdated. This is a cheap last minute alternative hotel that is on the beach -- otherwise pay a little more for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LISA...LISA...
Business
EDINBURG, TX
May 3, 2011

GREAT PADRE EXPERIENCE........

THE HOTEL LOCATION WAS AWESOME....... I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT....THE WALKING DISTANCE FROM THE BEACH, NO WORDS CAN DESCRIBE IT...... YOU JUST GOT TO EXPERIENCE PADRE...... ITS UNFORTGETABLE........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ANY WHERE YOU STAY @ PADRE IS A SHORT DRIVING DISTANCE FROM EVERYTHING/EVERYWHERE. IT WOULDNT MATTER ANYWAYS, ITS AN UNFORGETABLE EXPERIENCE JUST DRIVING AROUND......

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laredo, Texas
Apr 25, 2011

Good price, Good location

The room had a full kitchen, which was excellent for traveling with small kids, you can save money cooking in, and you have immediate access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen,TX
Mar 19, 2011

never again

I did not enjoy my stay at all! Staff were rude and unpleasant. Beds and pillows are hard and old looking. Since my husband and I went a week before Spring Break, I guess they figured they would charge a deposit of $250 along with some type of wrist bands to identify you as a hotel guest that cost us $15 a piece. I had never experienced this anywhere else even during my Spring Break years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top