$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Weekend get away

Great view great location comfortable stay and good times. See full review

  • Chango volador
  • May 30, 2014
Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach. See full review

  • MR1451
  • Oct 14, 2013
Apartment-style rooms by the beach
Padre South Hotel on the Beach lives up to its name. Peek at the Gulf of Mexico from a room balcony or from the pool deck, a huge space with a courtyard and a Jacuzzi where guests can relax. The hotel offers apartment-style rooms, efficiencies and two-bedroom units with fully equipped kitchenettes. Save a little vacation money for all the nearby activities and cook some meals in the room.  Just a short path from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach takes guests to the beach.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and courtyard
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Location
The Padre South Hotel on the Beach overlooks the beach, towards the center of South Padre Island.
Rooms
All rooms at the Padre South Hotel on the Beach have balconies and at least partial views of the water. Guests can book an efficiency room with a fully equipped kitchen, queen-sized bed and sofa bed. Guests can also go for a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite, which has a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and private bath, a second bedroom with two twin beds, and a large kitchen and dining area -- perfect for families.
Features
Guests can relax and enjoy vacation at the oversized pool area with Jacuzzi and courtyard with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Borrow a book from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach library, follow the short path from the hotel to the beach and claim a spot on the sand. An array of restaurants and bars are located in the immediate area. Complimentary wireless Internet is available in the lobby.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (1.5 mi/2.6 km)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Port Isabel History Museum (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (3.2 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Meeting room with space for up to 75 people
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
NOTE: During the month of March, full payment for all room nights will be billed automatically. Guests 31 years and younger are required to pay a 250 refundable cash deposit. All guests will pay a 15 USD per person nonrefundable fee for a wristband. The hotel also requires a faxed copy of ID and credit card to confirm authorization. Please contact hotel directly to confirm amount billed. Cancellation policy during the month of March is 14 days prior to arrival or full amount is forfeited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre South Hotel On The Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Padre South Hotel On The Beach Rooms

Standard
Air Conditioning AM FM Alarm Clock
Standard
Double Efficiency-With 2 double beds. Full kitchen with coffee maker-dishwasher- refrigerator and eating utensils. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Standard
Queen Efficiency-With one queen bed and one queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Seating area. Data port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite-With 1 queen bed and 2-twin beds in the second BD. Living room with queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port and Seating area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Scampis
Serving steaks and seafood
blackbeards
Serving seafood and American cuisine
Padre Island Brewing Co
Serving seafood pasta and meats
jakes
Serving seafood sandwiches and Mexican cuisine
The Lantern
Serving steaks and seafood
Josephs
Serving seafood and American cuisine. Located next door to hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 2, 2011

Needs renovating

Hotel pool is dirty and the rooms are very outdated. This is a cheap last minute alternative hotel that is on the beach -- otherwise pay a little more for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LISA...LISA...
Business
EDINBURG, TX
May 3, 2011

GREAT PADRE EXPERIENCE........

THE HOTEL LOCATION WAS AWESOME....... I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT....THE WALKING DISTANCE FROM THE BEACH, NO WORDS CAN DESCRIBE IT...... YOU JUST GOT TO EXPERIENCE PADRE...... ITS UNFORTGETABLE........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ANY WHERE YOU STAY @ PADRE IS A SHORT DRIVING DISTANCE FROM EVERYTHING/EVERYWHERE. IT WOULDNT MATTER ANYWAYS, ITS AN UNFORGETABLE EXPERIENCE JUST DRIVING AROUND......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laredo, Texas
Apr 25, 2011

Good price, Good location

The room had a full kitchen, which was excellent for traveling with small kids, you can save money cooking in, and you have immediate access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen,TX
Mar 19, 2011

never again

I did not enjoy my stay at all! Staff were rude and unpleasant. Beds and pillows are hard and old looking. Since my husband and I went a week before Spring Break, I guess they figured they would charge a deposit of $250 along with some type of wrist bands to identify you as a hotel guest that cost us $15 a piece. I had never experienced this anywhere else even during my Spring Break years!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobeena430
Business
Houston,tx
Sep 6, 2010

Mold,Mildew, and rust!!!

Molds mildew, scum, loud ac unit, loud refergirstor. Mold in bathroom, walls ceiling. Mildest damp carpet. Small bathroom. Bad odor bed. Just bad period. Oh and the hallways look like a scene from the shining. Scary, eerie, smelly, and tasteless decor. Sorry I am being harsh but it is a honest to God truth. I never give our bad reviews. It was so bad, I would have rather stayed on the beach if it was not raining all day. ;(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LadyTwiztid
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 16, 2010

Great getaway for two

The hotel room was perfect for two. It was a small efficiency style room, perfect for a week trip where you dont want to eat out every day. We stayed one night, and it was everything we needed. Perfect location, right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jesse's Cantina and Resturant has amazing mexican food at affordable prices. I have been going since I was a little kid, and the quality hasn't changed a bit. Awesome margaritas, out of the word fajitas, and the best flan I have found yet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 7, 2010

Enjoyed our stay

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, it's just outdated. Compared to the rates of other hotels on the beach, this one had the best price. The convenience of it being located on the beach was the best feature of this hotel. Great place to stay if you need to save some money and stay on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to rent a Wave Runner go see Roger at Windy City Rentals. He was very accomodating with our Jet Ski rental and he was really cool. They stop the rentals around 6 in the evening because of the tide, which is the time my wife and I tried to go the night before. He opened the place up an hour early for us the next morning so that we could enjoy it before we had to check out of our hotel that morning. You get a lot of room in the bay to run around on the jet ski. It never gets more than three feet deep at any point, but you still have to wear a lifejacket. Lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sullivan city, texas
Aug 7, 2010

excellent getaway!!!!

great location !!!! great price !!!! going back next yr!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 2, 2010

Excellent - walk to Beach

Just walk on the beach twice a day, and enjoyed my three days vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brownsville, TX
May 24, 2010

a little outdated

The location is great, and the showers located at the pool area are great to get all the sand off. There were a lot of people in the pool and the hot tub, so that made is not so private, and the room for soem reason was always humid. Also the rooms do not come with dishwashing soap, so bring your won if your going to be eating alot in the room. like i said the rooms are very outdated, i remember staying at that hotel in the eighties, and to tell you the truth it look exactly the same. it was like a flash from the past. They still have the old square TV's and the decore yells out 80's! The stairs are wood, and the elevator didn't have side pannels, it had cardboard. In all i guess if you don't really care about high tech stuff, or humidity, this place is ok. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top