$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
View map of 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christian an Malene
Business
Minneappolis
May 22, 2013

Disappointing experience

This is probably the most dated hotel we have ever stayed in. It was clean and the beds were good. Everything else did not work or was partially broken. AC, toilet, leaking windows and doors, internet spotty. pools under repair, rusty refrigerator etc.. No food available in the hotel. This hotel need a complete renovation. Cannot recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaney2
Business
Austin, Texas
May 21, 2013

Good Value - Great Location

Location is great. Right on the beach and short drive/walking to most attractions on the island. The hotel itself is a great value. Don't expect the most luxurious hotel in the world, but it serves its purpose. A good safe place to stay after enjoying the beach or whatever activity. When I travel I prefer to save money and explore and be active and this hotel allowed me to do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a couple enjoy one of the sunset dining cruises. Well worth the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
margaritarox
Business
south padre island
Apr 29, 2013

family vacation

Mildew on in walls. A/c did not work and the manager had the nerve to tell me I didn't know how to turn it on. I checked out early and was charged that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment is all nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agapito Perez
Business
San Juan, Tx
Apr 14, 2013

BDay getaway.

The stay, room and location was great. Thge only thing I was disappointed in was the restroom tub, the water would not drain so when we were in the shower the water was up to our ankles. Another thing that bothered me was that it was not check out time yet and with out knocking housekeeping came in, thank god I was dressed. Other than that, we onjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Black Beards

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stormy12
Business
South Padre Island TX
Mar 25, 2013

Sticky Sheets

Staff was nice, however, the room smelled ..... not good, and the sheets on the bed felt sticky and there was sand on them as well as on the sofa sleeper sheets! the elevator was filthy with sand. arrived there around 4pm and the following morning left at 5:30 am,... the elevator had not been cleaned!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beach lover SMM
Business
Fort Worth TX
Sep 22, 2012

Good for the price

Awesome location! Older hotel but if you are not that picky about that its perfect. Kitchen was good. There was no coffee pot or hair dryer ...a bit disappointed with that. Short walk to beach was perfection. Had a wonderful vacation. Will go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeffersM
Business
College Station, Texas
Aug 17, 2012

Great Place for a Budget

The hotel is old but is fairly well kept up. The room was nice and had a full kitchen and sleeper couch. Mattresses weren't the best but they did. Also had a nice balconey. Not the nicest but great for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Mary
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 22, 2012

Mother/Daughter getaway

I don't know why this hotel is rated as a 3 star; I have been to 2 star hotels in many different countries that were much better. The one and only positive aspect was that is was fairly clean. It is extremely outdated. My guess is that it was built in the 70s or 80s and nothing has been done to it since. The furniture is very old (we wouldn't even sit on the sofa). We wore our slippers all the time inside the room because the carpet was a dark color, but you could still tell that it was dirty. Some kind of bug scared me half to death while I was trying to fall asleep the first night. The beach access seriously needs to be cut and cleaned (all the weeds are overgrown so bad that only one person can fit on the path without moving over or being inside the dense weeds with God knows what kind of critters). The bottom line is that this hotel is way OVERPRICED for what it offers. Last but not least, fraud was committed on the credit card I used to check in and I suspect it was one of the hotel's employees because some of the items bought were bought right in Brownsville, Texas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you're there during the week, dine early because everything closes pretty early although it's a beach resort location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss King
Business
La Villa, Texas
Jun 28, 2012

Awesome experience recommend 100%

Was very Good So close to the Beach which Gave It A Plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To The Beach And Shops Around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crogman
Business
McAllen TX
Apr 3, 2012

Good deal

It's fine. Good deal for beachside. Rooms can get humid but that's everywhere on South Padre. I expected it. Carpet should be replaced with tile. For the money, it's not bad. I like staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not a bad restaurant on the island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top