$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
137 reviews
Weekend get away

Great view great location comfortable stay and good times. See full review

  • Chango volador
  • May 30, 2014
Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach. See full review

  • MR1451
  • Oct 14, 2013
Apartment-style rooms by the beach
Padre South Hotel on the Beach lives up to its name. Peek at the Gulf of Mexico from a room balcony or from the pool deck, a huge space with a courtyard and a Jacuzzi where guests can relax. The hotel offers apartment-style rooms, efficiencies and two-bedroom units with fully equipped kitchenettes. Save a little vacation money for all the nearby activities and cook some meals in the room.  Just a short path from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach takes guests to the beach.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and courtyard
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Location
The Padre South Hotel on the Beach overlooks the beach, towards the center of South Padre Island.
Rooms
All rooms at the Padre South Hotel on the Beach have balconies and at least partial views of the water. Guests can book an efficiency room with a fully equipped kitchen, queen-sized bed and sofa bed. Guests can also go for a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite, which has a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and private bath, a second bedroom with two twin beds, and a large kitchen and dining area -- perfect for families.
Features
Guests can relax and enjoy vacation at the oversized pool area with Jacuzzi and courtyard with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Borrow a book from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach library, follow the short path from the hotel to the beach and claim a spot on the sand. An array of restaurants and bars are located in the immediate area. Complimentary wireless Internet is available in the lobby.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (1.5 mi/2.6 km)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Port Isabel History Museum (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (3.2 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Meeting room with space for up to 75 people
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
NOTE: During the month of March, full payment for all room nights will be billed automatically. Guests 31 years and younger are required to pay a 250 refundable cash deposit. All guests will pay a 15 USD per person nonrefundable fee for a wristband. The hotel also requires a faxed copy of ID and credit card to confirm authorization. Please contact hotel directly to confirm amount billed. Cancellation policy during the month of March is 14 days prior to arrival or full amount is forfeited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.0955 -97.1638
Nearby airports
Rio Grande Valley Intl Airport, (HRL), 45.00, MI, NW; Brownsville South Padre Island Intl Airport, (BRO), 22.00, MI, SW; Mc Allen/Mission, (MFE), 90.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre South Hotel On The Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Padre South Hotel On The Beach Rooms

Standard
Air Conditioning AM FM Alarm Clock
Standard
Double Efficiency-With 2 double beds. Full kitchen with coffee maker-dishwasher- refrigerator and eating utensils. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Standard
Queen Efficiency-With one queen bed and one queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Seating area. Data port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite-With 1 queen bed and 2-twin beds in the second BD. Living room with queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port and Seating area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Scampis
Serving steaks and seafood
blackbeards
Serving seafood and American cuisine
Padre Island Brewing Co
Serving seafood pasta and meats
jakes
Serving seafood sandwiches and Mexican cuisine
The Lantern
Serving steaks and seafood
Josephs
Serving seafood and American cuisine. Located next door to hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR1451
South Padre iSLAND
Oct 14, 2013

Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SAFE HAVEN
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND
Jun 23, 2014

anniversary

Good location walking distance to beach. Furniture needs to be upgraded . No breakfast offered only coffee. I f you just need somewhere to rest for the night this would be OK. Oh and they do offer bbq pits that was great , I just wished it was closer too pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 19

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nelve
San Juan TX
Jun 23, 2014

Viramontes weekend

I enjoy the access to the beach. The room needs some renovations. When I tried to close the curtains from the living room, the whole curtain with the rod came off completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Beach Bums
Austin, Tx
Jun 12, 2014

Ready to book again!

Great, true not ur luxury hotel but it's ON THE BEACH perfect for us! We've already recommended the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silvia super Daughter
Houston, Texas
Jun 10, 2014

Great Weekend Vacation

I visited South Padre Island just for the weekend and this hotel satisfied all my needs. The location was perfect the room size was perfect. Overall I would recomend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chango volador
Browsnville, Texas
May 30, 2014

Weekend get away

Great view great location comfortable stay and good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
djbucket
dallas, texas
Apr 14, 2014

BEST FOR THE BUCK ON THE GULF

The hotel is dated a bit, but they keep it clean. The desk clerk said they are always updating, painting, fixing during the off season. It shows! I've stayed there at least six times, never been disappointed. Why pay double for a room on the water?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nueva Progresso. Great place to cross the Rio Bravo into Mexico. The taco factory. new place, great tacos for less than $7.00.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR1451
South Padre iSLAND
Oct 14, 2013

Padre South Hotel

Great price rate, nothing fancy but the location makes it worth it. Right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ely M.
Edinburg, TX
Jun 18, 2013

Great location, Not so great hotel!

Hotel is located right on the beach with extremely easy access and every room features a private balcony with a perfect view of the ocean as well as the surrounding neighborhood. It's also very close to the center of town. Granted South Padre Island isn't very large, it's still super close to the most popular restaurants and shops. Other than than, I can't say I particularly enjoyed anything else about this hotel. The walls are very thin and during my husband and I's two-day stay, the first morning we were woken up by a gang of kids in the next room and the morning after we were woken up by housekeeping vacuuming. The building and decor are also really retro and in need of updating. The bed was a little too firm for my comfort and the pillows were lumpy. There was also a small kitchen with a stove, but no microwave, which I thought was odd. The room was clean enough, but there was a stain on one of our pillow cases and I saw a small roach in the bathroom. Also, the only televisions available are probably twenty years old and if you're hoping to hook up your gaming system, like my husband and I wanted to hook up our wii, be prepared to provide your own adapter, otherwise forget about it. The staff was perfectly nice about it though. If you're under 30, be prepared to pay $100 deposit which will be returned, but if you pay by card, if will take a few days. Ours was just a casual visit and so we didn't mind the downsides so much, but if you really want to have a decent vacation, I suggest you go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
djbucket
dallas, texas
Jun 16, 2013

Padre South, 2013

Our room was clean. I never saw an insect. Plenty of towels for the two of us. Everything as promised. We ended up paying $79/night through this site. You'll pay double that for a room on the gulf. Overlook the dated furniture and rude desk help that others complained about, you go to SPI for the beauty and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Progresso, Mexico. Never had a problem.

Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
djbucket
dallas, texas
May 27, 2013

It's cheap

It's the best $100/night hotel on the gulf beach. We've done the Surf motel. The wanna wanna. The Capri (torn down years ago#. If you are looking for immaculate, new, spotless, this isn't the place. Try the Pearl, Hilton or other $200+ places. We can say we never had a problem #3 stays).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top