$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Padre South Hotel On The Beach

3 stars
View map of 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
94 reviews
Awesome SPLASH trip!

This was my 2nd time here at this hotel and i tell all my family & friends to stay here. No... See full review

  • Amanda M.
  • May 1, 2015
great getaway

Great staff, just a little rusty on your check in a little hi and thank you would make my day.... See full review

  • Joe Super Friend
  • Apr 30, 2015
Apartment-style rooms by the beach
Padre South Hotel on the Beach lives up to its name. Peek at the Gulf of Mexico from a room balcony or from the pool deck, a huge space with a courtyard and a Jacuzzi where guests can relax. The hotel offers apartment-style rooms, efficiencies and two-bedroom units with fully equipped kitchenettes. Save a little vacation money for all the nearby activities and cook some meals in the room.  Just a short path from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach takes guests to the beach.
Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and courtyard
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Location
The Padre South Hotel on the Beach overlooks the beach, towards the center of South Padre Island.
Rooms
All rooms at the Padre South Hotel on the Beach have balconies and at least partial views of the water. Guests can book an efficiency room with a fully equipped kitchen, queen-sized bed and sofa bed. Guests can also go for a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite, which has a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and private bath, a second bedroom with two twin beds, and a large kitchen and dining area -- perfect for families.
Features
Guests can relax and enjoy vacation at the oversized pool area with Jacuzzi and courtyard with a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Borrow a book from the Padre South Hotel on the Beach library, follow the short path from the hotel to the beach and claim a spot on the sand. An array of restaurants and bars are located in the immediate area. Complimentary wireless Internet is available in the lobby.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Isla Blanca Park (1.5 mi/2.6 km)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Port Isabel History Museum (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (3.2 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Meeting room with space for up to 75 people
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
NOTE: During the month of March, full payment for all room nights will be billed automatically. Guests 31 years and younger are required to pay a 250 refundable cash deposit. All guests will pay a 15 USD per person nonrefundable fee for a wristband. The hotel also requires a faxed copy of ID and credit card to confirm authorization. Please contact hotel directly to confirm amount billed. Cancellation policy during the month of March is 14 days prior to arrival or full amount is forfeited.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre South Hotel On The Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Padre South Hotel On The Beach Rooms

Standard
Air Conditioning AM FM Alarm Clock
Standard
Double Efficiency-With 2 double beds. Full kitchen with coffee maker-dishwasher- refrigerator and eating utensils. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Standard
Queen Efficiency-With one queen bed and one queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom with bathtub and shower. Seating area. Data port. Cable TV. Smoking room.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite-With 1 queen bed and 2-twin beds in the second BD. Living room with queen sofa-bed. Full kitchen. Adjoining rooms. AC. Balcony with a wonderful panoramic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Private bathroom. Data-port and Seating area.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Scampis
Serving steaks and seafood
blackbeards
Serving seafood and American cuisine
Padre Island Brewing Co
Serving seafood pasta and meats
jakes
Serving seafood sandwiches and Mexican cuisine
The Lantern
Serving steaks and seafood
Josephs
Serving seafood and American cuisine. Located next door to hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda M.
Business
N/A
May 1, 2015

Awesome SPLASH trip!

This was my 2nd time here at this hotel and i tell all my family & friends to stay here. No complaints about it, great prices, location is the best. Staff members are amazing and very kind. Would be awesome if i was able to bring my pet on vacation also :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Super Friend
Business
edinburg
Apr 30, 2015

great getaway

Great staff, just a little rusty on your check in a little hi and thank you would make my day. Checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SERGIO FDZ.
Business
Monterrey
Apr 15, 2015

great deal

Very near from the beach. Excelent for traveling whith young kids and grandpas. Parking area too small for the size of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ron b.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

ok family trip

the stay at the motel was fine the room was pretty clean over all. the staff was a little edgy as i only seen them two times we stayed for a couple of days and the beach was awesome. we will go back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peanut080907
Business
Lockhart tx
Aug 12, 2014

lil girls birthday weekend

When we arrived at front desk they tried to charge me the wrong room rate. The staff wasn't very friendly or welcoming. When we got to the room it wasn't that great the dining table was about to fall apart, fridge had rust in it the tv in the master room was outdated and the channels were very fuzzy. When we went down to the beach there wasn't a mat on the sand to walk to the beach (it was easier to go out to the front and walk beside the hotel where the public has access. Later that evening my step daughter who has very bad allergies got a migraine and a bloody nose; when my husband went to check the filter I couldn't believe it was so thick with dusty and dirty. My husband took a pic and went to the front desk to tell them they gave him a dirty look and sent maintenance up to get the old filter. Maintenance brought us and new filter and didn't bother to put it in my husband had to do there job and put it in. Needless to say we will never stay there again !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pecas
Business
Laredo, tx
Aug 3, 2014

great location

Expected better for what i paid. room was too humid and bathroom was leaking water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bluto72
Business
Rockwell City, Iowa
Jul 31, 2014

family vacation

Came all the way from Iowa, well worth the 2-day drive. Fast and friendly when we checked in, answered any questions from where to eat to directions to somewhere we wanted to go. Housekeeping worked around our schedule, even when that changed daily. Room was great and had a beautiful view from all three of the balconies. Great price for a two bedroom kitchenette. We did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
texmex mom
Business
rio grande valley
Jul 24, 2014

way tooo many people from Mexico

The hotel was in front of the beach making it easy for anyone to use the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to the beach sand was hot hot hot! Hotel showers were being used by outsiders and too many RUDE MEXICAN HOTEL GUESTS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HarleyQuinnXOXO
Business
Arlington, Texas
Jul 16, 2014

Seriously Disappointed

They ignored all of my requests (extra bed, non-smoking room); the bed sheets & blankets looked dirty and old; the sofa "bed" felt like a medieval torture device; they had hidden fees - if you're under 31 (this age doesn't make any sense to me..) you have to give a security deposit. if you do cash, they can only return it to you when the head custodian comes in to work so if you're trying to get an early start, good luck; they staff was incredibly rude; the carpet in the hallway was sticky; the elevator smelled like a toilet; no free breakfast; they're skimpy with the towels; housekeeping passed us up several times; the balcony left much to be desired - you can barely fit a chair out there and the wall of the balcony is too high to see anything if you're sitting down..; the bathroom didn't have ventilation so nothing would dry; the kitchen area was OK & they had free wifi; the pool area was OK; the only reason to stay at this hotel was because it was walking distance from the beach, but next time we would rather walk a little further to the beach than stay at this motel pretending to be a hotel. it might seem like you're saving money, but you're just throwing it in the toilet. never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Padre South Hotel On The Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arizona boo
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 14, 2014

Not worth the money

Paid 525 for 2 nights and the balcony door didn't even open. We called for them to fix it and it worked in that moment, later we tried opening it and it was stuck. Carpets felt dirty. Good thing was we were close to the beach and able to use the stove

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top