$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

3 stars
View map of 7000 Padre Blvd, 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
78 reviews
No complaints

This was probably one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time. The staff were... See full review

  • 8of8
  • Oct 8, 2014
good breakfast..

Hotel was great... nice variety of breakfast n wonderful view. See full review

  • eva12
  • Mar 24, 2014
Beachside budget hotel with free breakfast and Wi-Fi
The combination of budget and beach blends at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach. The inn is located on the beach, across from the South Padre Island Convention Center. Guests can relax by the water and enjoy lunch or dinner at the on-site Beach Bar and Grill. Adventurous travelers have many activities to choose from in the immediate area -- from parasailing to Jet Skiing, horseback riding, kite boarding and surfing. Guests should not miss the complimentary breakfast and summertime happy hour at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free wireless Internet
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Located on the beach
Location
La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach is located on the beach on South Padre Island, directly across from the South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center.
Rooms
Spacious rooms at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach have a private balcony, a sleeper sofa, a microwave and a refrigerator. Rooms are clean and have contemporary decor and furnishings, and some even have whirlpool tubs. Guests will fall in love with the views of the water.
Features
Guests wake up at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach to a free bright side breakfast with waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and all-you-can-drink coffee and juice. Take advantage of the beachside pool and whirlpool, or grab a bite to eat at the on-site beachside grill. During the summer, the hotel hosts a happy hour where guests can mingle with complimentary drinks.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (16 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Offers 3,266 square feet of meeting space

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzann W.
Business
St Louis Park
Feb 9, 2015

Great hotel on the beach

Good hotel on the beach, across from bird sanctuary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geydelagarza
Business
Linares
Jan 9, 2015

Great for Family

I found the hole hotel great, good price, but the best thing is the breakfast!! beach is OK, but nothing great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara K.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Pleasant experience

We stayed for a week over the Christmas holiday. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Just steps to the beach. The breakfasts were amazing. The pool was a little small, but it was heated and the kids liked it. Though we didn't bring our dogs, the hotel is pet friendly which we didn't mind being greeted by a 4-legged visitor in the hall or elevator every now and again. Only complaint would be that their poolside bar/food area was only open for a couple hours in the late afternoon...we ended up walking to the next door Hilton hotel for drinks/apps a couple times. It's on the further tip of the island which we preferred not being in the heavier traffic areas of other hotels. For the price comparison of some of the other hotels, the LaQuinta is far worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far down the main road is a little mexican restaurant called Senor Donkey's...doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food and drinks were by far the best we had for the week we stayed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara K.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Pleasant experience

We stayed for a week over the Christmas holiday. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Just steps to the beach. The breakfasts were amazing. The pool was a little small, but it was heated and the kids liked it. Though we didn't bring our dogs, the hotel is pet friendly which we didn't mind being greeted by a 4-legged visitor in the hall or elevator every now and again. Only complaint would be that their poolside bar/food area was only open for a couple hours in the late afternoon...we ended up walking to the next door Hilton hotel for drinks/apps a couple times. It's on the further tip of the island which we preferred not being in the heavier traffic areas of other hotels. For the price comparison of some of the other hotels, the LaQuinta is far worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
susie0101
Business
Spring, TX
Nov 2, 2014

Family getaway

The staff were very friendly, hotel very clean. Beach access great. Breakfast was fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
8of8
Business
Idaho
Oct 8, 2014

No complaints

This was probably one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time. The staff were helpful, cheerful and professional. The breakfast options were fresh, delicious and nutritious. It was clean and spacious. The location was superb. This hotel seems to have the best beach access on the whole island. They even had a library room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Yummies Bistro was excellent for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chromeo
Business
San Antonio tx
Sep 13, 2014

Right off the beach

Great place to get away . Overall experience was fantastic and the fact that it was a few steps away from the beach made it perfect . Plus you can't beat the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jdawg007
Business
Forney, Texas
Jul 3, 2014

Enjoyed the stay

Our experience at this hotel was good, not great. The location was great as it was right next to the beach. On two occasions I was enjoying the beach and returned to the hotel room to use the bathroom and it took minimal time. I have no negative comments, only a few criticisms. The ice makers on all floors were not working. I would have liked to see a better variety for the breakfast, and the hotel allowed for pets. I have no problem with this; however, my wife has severe allergies. This was my issue as I didn't research the hotel as in depth as I should have. In summary, it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Blackbeards and BurgerFI. Blackbeards will cost a little more; however, it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mando D.
Business
Mcallen, Tx
Jun 2, 2014

Difficult to find a parking space.

Good hotel the parking is horrible! This is probably the only reason I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moose2012
Business
Texas, USA
Apr 18, 2014

LQ @ SPI

Couldnt sleep the entire trip, kids upstairs constantly stomping on floor, racing back and forth, then the club next door, i mean right next door, had live bands and stage was just outside my balcony. I will not go back to that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top