$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

3 stars
View map of 7000 Padre Blvd, 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
74 reviews
Beach Vacation

This hotel is at the end of the island next to a very popular bar. We visited during Spring Break... See full review

  • Roaming traveler
  • Jun 29, 2015
No complaints

This was probably one of the best hotel experiences I've had in a long time. The staff were... See full review

  • 8of8
  • Oct 8, 2014
The combination of budget and beach blends at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach. The inn is located on the beach, across from the South Padre Island Convention Center. Guests can relax by the water and enjoy lunch or dinner at the on-site Beach Bar and Grill. Adventurous travelers have many activities to choose from in the immediate area -- from parasailing to Jet Skiing, horseback riding, kite boarding and surfing. Guests should not miss the complimentary breakfast and summertime happy hour at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach.
Location
La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach is located on the beach on South Padre Island, directly across from the South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center.
Rooms
Spacious rooms at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach have a private balcony, a sleeper sofa, a microwave and a refrigerator. Rooms are clean and have contemporary decor and furnishings, and some even have whirlpool tubs. Guests will fall in love with the views of the water.
Property features
Guests wake up at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach to a free bright side breakfast with waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and all-you-can-drink coffee and juice. Take advantage of the beachside pool and whirlpool, or grab a bite to eat at the on-site beachside grill. During the summer, the hotel hosts a happy hour where guests can mingle with complimentary drinks.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free wireless Internet
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Located on the beach
Nearby attractions
  • South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (16 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Offers 3,266 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 18, 2007

My review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach Resort

I'm very disapointed. Our stay at La Quinta was very uncomfortable. The first experince was getting the wrong room. Then we got a room that was covered in humidity. After that we discovered that the sofa bed was broken. Also the parking was very limited. Overall our stay was very unsatisfactory. NEVER AGAIN WILL I OR MY FAMILY STAY AT LA QUINTA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Black Beard's Restaurant was excellent.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brashemi
Business
Spring, TX
Apr 19, 2011

Not so good

Service staff needs to get it together. Poor service, placed room service tag on the door when we left in the morning and stayed out all day, when we came back, tag still hanging on the outside. We call for room service and no one came. We asked for fresh towels, again nothing. We had to stop them in the hallway and get it our selves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommed Louie's restaurant very nice place, loved it.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tehcaube J.
Business
N/A
Jul 10, 2015

Smelly room!!!

The room smelled like mildew and must. Hotel is too big and remodeling was done very poorly. Paint all over door knobs an peeling in areas. Dirty feel. Expensive for what it was. Location is ideal, but not worth the cheap feel of rooms. Painted terrible colors. Bed linens are the worst! Don't waste your money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elsa Garza
Business
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

inconvenience check in

The check in experience was such an inconvenience, check in time is at 4 and the room was not ready till about five...This is the 2nd time this summer I stay at this hotel and the same check in situation occurred you would think after paying 350 a night the rooms would be ready... I work hard to take a few leisure summer vacations and then having to wait even longer to began to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moose2012
Business
Texas, USA
Apr 18, 2014

LQ @ SPI

Couldnt sleep the entire trip, kids upstairs constantly stomping on floor, racing back and forth, then the club next door, i mean right next door, had live bands and stage was just outside my balcony. I will not go back to that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sand in My
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Sand Castle Days Visit

Busy weekend very noisy hotel with little sound barriers between rooms. Hotel needs attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
X Traveler
Business
South Padre, Texas
May 3, 2013

Neds that special something

Rooms were large and well apponted although the floors were dirty and the room smelled pretty dank. Maintenance was done on the plumbing from 2am to 4am on Tuesday night and the workers were very noisy in the hallways, laughing and yelling. I was first put in a handcapped room with no water pressure in the shower(just a hose) and had to request another room.The desk clerk said that another room wouild not be possible until the next day. I decided to leave a day early because of the reasons mentioned above. Can I get a refund for my last night wjhich I didn't use? Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Toybaby
Business
Humble,TX
Jun 5, 2013

Could have been a beter Bday

When I got there they did not have the room I reserved they gave me a handicap room right next to the elevator so we heard it running all night and the room was right next to an exit door so we had to hear people passing all through the night and people kept trying to open our door mistaking it for the public restroom that was right next to our. the next day they had us wait until around noon to move us to the room I reserved. I am a member of the RIU so this experience was not even close to RIU hotel experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Aug 24, 2010

Disappointed

The best thing La Quinta offered was Ned! This gentleman works as an entertainment advisor in the hotel. He was extremely polite and knowledgeable of all activities and when I had questions he had all the answers. We did everything. Parasail, dolphin watch, jet skis, tubing, atv's and schlitterbahn. The staff at La Quinta specifically the front desk was rude and be prepared for the extremely loud music from the Hilton next door. So loud it rattled the windows and when asked to turn it down it was raised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Talk to [...], he is located by the front door inside the hotel.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
May 27, 2011

At least it's on the beach...

Negatives: 1) Breakfast area was tended by the maintenance man -- Yuck!! 2) Front desk couldn't provide enough towels for the beach 3) Housemaid forgot to clean our room one day 4) Beach area behind hotel is severely eroded & ugly 5) Parking is a serious problem 6) Only one computer of two in the business center has internet capability or printer access Positives: 1) Locking safe is available in each room 2) Polite front desk staff 3) Great hot shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Best recreation event near this hotel is at the Island Equestrian Center a mile or so north of the hotel... I recommend the sunset ride along the beach.

Back to menu Return to top