$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

3 stars
7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
117 reviews
good breakfast..

Hotel was great... nice variety of breakfast n wonderful view. See full review

  • eva12
  • Mar 24, 2014
Perfect Location

This hotel is right on the beach. They served a wonderful breakfast of sausage, potatoes and eggs... See full review

  • Best Daughter in Law Ever
  • Nov 4, 2013
Beachside budget hotel with free breakfast and Wi-Fi
The combination of budget and beach blends at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach. The inn is located on the beach, across from the South Padre Island Convention Center. Guests can relax by the water and enjoy lunch or dinner at the on-site Beach Bar and Grill. Adventurous travelers have many activities to choose from in the immediate area -- from parasailing to Jet Skiing, horseback riding, kite boarding and surfing. Guests should not miss the complimentary breakfast and summertime happy hour at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free wireless Internet
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Located on the beach
Location
La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach is located on the beach on South Padre Island, directly across from the South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center.
Rooms
Spacious rooms at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach have a private balcony, a sleeper sofa, a microwave and a refrigerator. Rooms are clean and have contemporary decor and furnishings, and some even have whirlpool tubs. Guests will fall in love with the views of the water.
Features
Guests wake up at La Quinta Inn and Suites South Padre Beach to a free bright side breakfast with waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and all-you-can-drink coffee and juice. Take advantage of the beachside pool and whirlpool, or grab a bite to eat at the on-site beachside grill. During the summer, the hotel hosts a happy hour where guests can mingle with complimentary drinks.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge (16 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Less than a mile from the South Padre Island Convention Center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Offers 3,266 square feet of meeting space

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1379 -97.17
Nearby airports
Brownsville South Padre Island Intl Airport, (BRO), 22.00, MI, SW; Rio Grande Valley Intl Airport, (HRL), 32.00, MI, W; Mc Allen/Mission, (MFE), 56.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brashemi
Spring, TX
Apr 19, 2011

Not so good

Service staff needs to get it together. Poor service, placed room service tag on the door when we left in the morning and stayed out all day, when we came back, tag still hanging on the outside. We call for room service and no one came. We asked for fresh towels, again nothing. We had to stop them in the hallway and get it our selves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommed Louie's restaurant very nice place, loved it.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brashemi
Spring, TX
Apr 19, 2011

Not so good

Service staff needs to get it together. Poor service, placed room service tag on the door when we left in the morning and stayed out all day, when we came back, tag still hanging on the outside. We call for room service and no one came. We asked for fresh towels, again nothing. We had to stop them in the hallway and get it our selves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommed Louie's restaurant very nice place, loved it.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 18, 2007

My review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach Resort

I'm very disapointed. Our stay at La Quinta was very uncomfortable. The first experince was getting the wrong room. Then we got a room that was covered in humidity. After that we discovered that the sofa bed was broken. Also the parking was very limited. Overall our stay was very unsatisfactory. NEVER AGAIN WILL I OR MY FAMILY STAY AT LA QUINTA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Black Beard's Restaurant was excellent.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 18, 2007

My review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach Resort

I'm very disapointed. Our stay at La Quinta was very uncomfortable. The first experince was getting the wrong room. Then we got a room that was covered in humidity. After that we discovered that the sofa bed was broken. Also the parking was very limited. Overall our stay was very unsatisfactory. NEVER AGAIN WILL I OR MY FAMILY STAY AT LA QUINTA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Black Beard's Restaurant was excellent.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san antonio, tx
May 20, 2009

had trouble

We got there, checked in and they asked if it was a prepaid reservation. I answered yes, and still got charged again. I talked to the manager, and they gave me a refund of the second charge and got a receipt for it. Then they charged me again. i have to call them to get my money back. and the room keys hardly ever opened the door. had to get new keys 3 times. and get the keys fixed to open the door a few times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakaway cruises was amazing.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arkansas
May 27, 2011

At least it's on the beach...

Negatives: 1) Breakfast area was tended by the maintenance man -- Yuck!! 2) Front desk couldn't provide enough towels for the beach 3) Housemaid forgot to clean our room one day 4) Beach area behind hotel is severely eroded & ugly 5) Parking is a serious problem 6) Only one computer of two in the business center has internet capability or printer access Positives: 1) Locking safe is available in each room 2) Polite front desk staff 3) Great hot shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Best recreation event near this hotel is at the Island Equestrian Center a mile or so north of the hotel... I recommend the sunset ride along the beach.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 25, 2011

Not so good

I read the reviews before I went and that was part of what made me choose this hotel, I did not find it as good as most people did. I thought it was run down and not very clean. The location is good but the beach was packed with people. The hotel next door (Hilton Garden) was having a pool party for 2 days out of our stay, the music was loud and we ended up checking out a day early. If we had know about it we would not have booked the room. The ice machine on our floor did not work. The maid left out door ajar after she cleaned the room, nothing was stolen but it's not a good feeling when you push the door and it opens. There were stains on the couch in the room and the rug look dirty too. There was vomit and trash in the hallways the day we checked out. The best part of it was we had our dog with us and we didn't have any problems with that. I would not recomend this hotel to say at. The Hilton Garden looked like it was newer and better maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Apr 25, 2011

Not so good

I read the reviews before I went and that was part of what made me choose this hotel, I did not find it as good as most people did. I thought it was run down and not very clean. The location is good but the beach was packed with people. The hotel next door (Hilton Garden) was having a pool party for 2 days out of our stay, the music was loud and we ended up checking out a day early. If we had know about it we would not have booked the room. The ice machine on our floor did not work. The maid left out door ajar after she cleaned the room, nothing was stolen but it's not a good feeling when you push the door and it opens. There were stains on the couch in the room and the rug look dirty too. There was vomit and trash in the hallways the day we checked out. The best part of it was we had our dog with us and we didn't have any problems with that. I would not recomend this hotel to say at. The Hilton Garden looked like it was newer and better maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
McAllen, Texas
May 12, 2009

adequate but...

We always stay at La Quinta with our family. We like the location, it's super close to the beach-and we think the price is reasonable. The rooms used to be pretty clean, but we were able to see the age of the hotel on this last visit. The room had a noticeable odor upon entrance, but we didn't notice it after awhile so we didn't bother to switch. However, when I went to bed that night, I could tell some kind of smell was emanating from the carpet on the side of the bed I slept on. It smelled like someone had been sick there. I had to move to another location to get some sleep! It was 2:30 am so I was too tired to switch rooms by then. The brochure says they'll be getting new carpets and furniture soon, so they better hurry! Or we won't be staying there anytime soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We like to eat at Blackbeard's Restaurant! Always have good food and service there.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moose2012
Texas, USA
Apr 18, 2014

LQ @ SPI

Couldnt sleep the entire trip, kids upstairs constantly stomping on floor, racing back and forth, then the club next door, i mean right next door, had live bands and stage was just outside my balcony. I will not go back to that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top