$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

3 stars
View map of 7000 Padre Blvd, 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oklahoman fam
Business
Blanchard, Oklahoma
Aug 10, 2010

3 night stay not enough!

The picture is a little deciving. There is now a Hilton hotel right next to this hotel that looked a little nicer. However we had a good stay at the La Qunita. It was pretty warm in the lobby during check in, but the rooms were well air conditioned! Rooms were good, beds were comfortable and cleaned daily. Pool was pretty small especially compared to the Hilton pool next door that you could see from the La Quinta. [...] Breakfast was decent with waffles, breads, and scrambled eggs. Staff was friendly. [...]next time we will know to stay longer! Food was great on the island and in very close proximity..all locations were within 3 miles or so. However get your grocery shopping done before you get on the island because prices for groceries are outrageous on the island...and there is a Walmart in Port Isabel right before the get on the island that has decent prices. Beach access from the hotel was wonderful. You can rent umbrellas and chairs on the beach for only $25 for the whole day which was great and needed for the blazing sun! We will defiantely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Rons was a quick drive within a few miles from the hotel and had great food, prices, and staff. There were several great restaurants and we wish we had stayed longer to try them.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Aug 1, 2010

Honest review

Overall it was average, not many complaints. However it seemed like some guests were getting better treatment than others. They made it clear that you can't check in til 3 o clock on the dot, towels felt like sand paper and tv didn't work half the time. Decent location , a little renovation would upgrade this hotel from average to great just cause of it's location. I would recommend the Hilton right next to it, brand new for the same prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rocky & Gang
Business
San Antonio , TX
Jul 30, 2010

Last minute getaway

Really enjoyed our stay there for being the first stay at this hotel. Super close to the beach. Will stay there again and hopefully the check in waiting time won't take as long. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston
Jul 28, 2010

trip to the island

the happy hour drinks are terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 23, 2010

Super for pet lovers

Everyone was vary nice. the rooms were clean and the breakfast was a little above the average. I am handicaped and the staff and guests helped me a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Family of Six
Business
RGV, TX
Jun 28, 2010

Best Choice and Value

This was such a perfect location for the price! I was amazed at how close we were to the beach. The location of the hotel is at the far north of the island which was good for us. As a family we appreciated being away from the clubs (middle and far south of the beach) and the public access part of the beach (far south of the beach). This means you have more beach to yourself and less clogging from the general public. We were able to rent an umbrella and chairs for $25 from an independent company and we were literally steps away from the hotel - no long walks through hot sand! I found it to be the most convenient hotel that faces the beach rather than the bay. The bay will give you a nice sunset, but if you want to swim, you want to be on the beach side. Once we arrived on the island, I noticed the location of the other hotels we had considered and they would have been on the bay side (which we didn't want), or if on the beach side, they were much higher in price or the hotels were separated from the actual beach by condo's or another hotel. That meant you would do some walking to get to the actual sand. This proves to be more daunting when you're carrying towels, beach toys, beach bag, etc. and keeping pre-schoolers from running amok. The room was clean: I checked bedding and restrooms for stray hairs and bugs; fridge and microwave were also clean. I also appreciated an in-room safe since some reviewers of other hotels told of cameras being stolen within the first 45 minutes of arrival. The safe was also big enough for my laptop, a portable DVD player and two purses. The beds were comfortable and we also had a rollout twin size sofa with no complaints from our camp. Through our reservation we were pleasantly surprised to get a room that faced the beach. We had a balcony that gave us awesome views of the Gulf and pool so we could see still see our family members from our room. The only drawback about our balcony was that everyone's AC units dripped water onto the balcony below so we couldn't sit on our chairs without getting wet. It didn't matter, because we weren't on the balcony for very long; the summer heat drove us back inside. The hotel provided complimentary beer and wine during happy hour, but we chose not to partake. The bar is right by the pool so if you're inclined, it's convenient. The bar also doubles as a small grill restaurant with plenty of seating and a big flat screen TV. There's also a covered patio with about 10 patio tables which is handy for picnics by the pool and hot tub, WITH a view of the surf. Drawback: Fridays and Saturdays do get a lot of non-paying guests jumping into the pool and using up the parking spots (see below). We also stayed through Sunday night and found the pool to be pleasantly uncrowded. There were a lot less people in the pool that day from Saturday, but we did meet some nice folks swimming in the pool who were not guests on that day, anyway. This brings me to our experience with the staff. One of the reasons so many non-paying guests take advantage is probably because the staff is so nice...and most don't know English or don't know it well. Either way, I'm bilingual, and they were very pleasant and accommodating. The undesirable parking situation stems from a parking lot that is long and narrow so you may find yourself walking a distance from your car to the hotel. I suggest unloading at the entrance and then finding your parking spot. The hotel does have a spacious golf cart service that can take you to your parking spot if you so wish. There's a free breakfast which eases a liitle pressure on the pocketbook. The temperature of the breakfast area was too hot while we were there; I don't know if it was a temporary issue with the AC, but it was this way for both mornings we were there. Breakfast included TX shaped waffles which the kids enjoyed, 3 different kinds of cereal, sausage and eggs, flour tortillas, instant oatmeal, yogurts, bagels, toasts, fruit, juices, coffee, ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We tried a handful of restaurants based on Valleycentral.com's reviews of clean restaurants. We LOVED Pirate's Landing. It was great food, great service, at a great location. It's on the Port Isabel Side of the bridge, but it's worth it. On a Saturday night we waited about an hour to be sat. This was almost unbearable with tired hungry kids with us, but it was worth it at the end.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orangeville, IL
Jun 14, 2010

Very HOT!!!

We did arive when the lobby was full so it did take a little time to get registered [...]. We got to the room and was very pleased until the heard of elephants moved in above us. The front desk was geat and got us moved to the top floor very quickly. The pool area was nice, the happy hour drink selection is very small. Very close to the ocean and great restaurants. The breakfast was ok but average. We would go here again if we return to the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

First choice for dining would be Blackbeards. WOW great food pleanty to eat, then Daddy's very good southern style sea food then Parrotise good mixture. All very fair pricing. Breakfast. Isibells over the bridge by Wal Mart then Pier 19 both very good.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Llama Mama
Business
Austin, Texas
May 20, 2010

Great hotel, right on the beach!

Spacious, clean rooms. View of the surf. Great breakfast with waffles and eggs plus everything else to choose from. On the north end of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Toms Restaurant, great food. Daddy's Restaurant for great seafood. Amberjacks, too pricy, but good seafood.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
spi
Business
texas
May 10, 2010

La Quinta SPI

everything was o.k. except for the lack of a properly working ac. not able to check-in till close too 5 o'clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
May 6, 2010

Nice place, good price & beach access

We had a relaxing getaway at this La Quinta hotel. Location with beach access was great. We spent time on the beach & in the surf. Kite surfers were great to watch. Dinning around South Padre Isaland was above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Amberjacks is one of our all time favorite places to eat.

Back to menu Return to top