$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Isla Grand Beach Resort

3 stars
500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Very convenient to everything

Great pool, live music 39 feet from our room overlooking the pool! Clean rooms, comfortable beds! See full review

  • Austinitex007
  • Sep 2, 2014
Fun weekend

We had a fun weekend at this hotel. The rooms were nice, the food was good, and the amenities were... See full review

  • Mr n' Mrs Smith
  • Jul 28, 2014
Welcome to ten acres of tropical paradise at the Isla Grand Beach Resort. Our cabana rooms overlook lush foliage cool pools and tennis courts just steps from the beach. The two-bedroom condominiums located in the high rise tower overlook the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Business is pleasure at the Isla Grand. Our 10000 square feet of meeting space can adapt to your special needs. Relax in the Windjammers Beachfront Cafe while you enjoy an elegant seafood dinner with a panoramic view looking over our pools to the surf. For a more casual fare dine on the Hammerhead Deck or the Whiskey Shack will serve you poolside. Once the sun goes down the heartbeat of the island nightlife pulses at the Quarterdeck Night Club featuring the best bands from all over the United States and hot local talent.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Isla Grand Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Isla Grand Beach Resort Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Cabana Pool and Garden View Double Non Smoking Outside entry cabana room with two double beds. Full bath. 1st floor patio or 2nd floor balcony. LCD TV. Fridge. Wireless internet. Satellite TV. Non-smoking.
Standard
Cabana Beach Front Double Non Smoking - Outside entry cabana room with two double beds. Full bath. 1st floor patio or 2nd floor balcony. LCD TV. Fridge. In Room Digital Safe. Wireless internet. Satellite TV. Non-smoking rooms.
Standard
Limited view 1 King NSK
Two Bedrooms
Tower 2 Bedroom Condominium Non Smoking - 2 baths with full kitchen. Queen sofa bed in living room. Master bedroom has one king bed. Two twin beds in guest bedroom. 3rd through 12th floors with balconies facing the beach. Bath and Body Works Bath Products
Standard
Cabana Beachview King Non Smoking - Outside entry cabana room with one king sleep number bed/full bath 1st floor patio or 2nd floor balcony wireless internet Satellite TV Bath and Body Works Bath Products.
Standard
Cabana Pool and Garden View King Non Smoking Outside entry cabana room with one king sleep number bedsfull bath/1st floor patio or 2nd floor balcony wireless internet Satellite TV/Bath and Body Works Bath Products
Standard
Cabana Beachfront King Non Smoking - Outside entry cabana room with one King Sleep Number bed/full bath 1st floor patio or 2nd floor balcony/ wireless internet Satellite TV Bath and Body Works Bath Products
Standard
Accessible Angle Beach view 2 Double Beds Nonsmoking
Standard
Quarterdeck 2 dbls NSK Standard
Standard
Cabana Beachview Double Non Smoking - Outside entry cabana room with two double sleep number beds. Full bath. 1st floor patio or 2nd floor balcony. LCD TV. Refrig. Wireless internet. Satellite TV. Non-smoking rooms.
Standard
Limited view 2 Dbls NSK
Standard
Quarterdeck 1 king NSK

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Vending machines
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Dining

Coffee Hut -proudly brewing Starbucks Coffee-
Islands only Coffee Shop serving Starbucks Coffee. Convienently located in the lobby of the Isla Grand Beach Resort. Blue Bell Ice Cream bagels assorted pastries and much much more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Isla Grand Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
duketxboy
Business
Uvalde,Texas
Aug 30, 2012

NEED'S WORK

Front Staff at hotel was rude, while swimming at the pool with my fiance security guard followed us like a hawk than asked if we were even suppose to be there & asked 21's felt interrogated while he didn't approach any other people at the pool. Night manager was horrible really rude didn't solve any problems for me, till the morning when the general manager went in only got a refund for a little less than half a day but hey better than nothing I guess along with $50 to spend at the restaurant which was average. Overall probably will never stay here again after a 6 hour drive I expect excellence not rudeness nor interrogation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Needed to getaway
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 5, 2012

Disgrace

This hotel was HORRIBLE and was a DISAPPOINTMENT! When we walked in we said "wow this hotel is beautiful", not knowing that we would get sent out of the main hotel section and be located around back to the side of it, in some OLD MOTEL with NO elevators, so be ready to walk up and down stairs. We walked in at 3:30 to check in (check in is at 3:00), staff said our room was not ready and housekeeping was running behind. When asked if we could just get our key, they said no and that we would have to wait. The beds are 2 FULL SIZE beds and NO microwave in room either. At MIDNIGHT the safe (which we DO NOT need)in our room was beeping and would not stop, so we had to call and get someone to come fix it, we waited about 45 mins and called 2 more times until someone FINALLY CAME, mad at us as if we were bothering him. We couldnt sleep because of the loud thumping music from the bar they have right next to us, it sounded as if we were at a club. There is NO walk way to the beach, like EVERY HOTEL HAS there at the island. NOT WORTH THE $300, we spent! We have spent less on other hotels and got better rooms, service and FREE breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diappointed terri
Business
S Padre Island, TX
Aug 27, 2012

Disappointment with hotel room

The rooms shown on line were beautiful rooms. I booked with an agency which appeared on the website thinking I was getting a cabana or condo room. We were placed on the side in an old 2 story wing. We did have a balcony but had to drag suitcases up stairs-no elevator! There wasn't a coffee maker or a microwave! I could've gotten cheaper rates thru the hotel itself. The grounds were beautiful & very easy access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 19 for breakfast-pleasant surpirse to see dolphins while eating!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dianna Pick'ndaisys
Business
Corpus Christi Texas San Diego Calif
Jul 14, 2013

Beach time

Uncomfortable Double Beds :( Comfy Queen beds with fluffy comforters would be ideal specially paying $300 a night for off season rates, Peeling wallpaper & paint in the bathroom. If your room is located on the bottom floor the entry to your room is a peaceful walk through the garden, if your on the second floor the entry is unpleasant, less desirable. The pool, waterfall & outside bar poolside is great. Enjoyed dinning & entertainment . Umbrella & beach chairs by the surf should be complementary to guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hawks2014
Business
Iowa
Mar 21, 2014

Never Again.

We had issues with this hotel before we even arrived. Our deposit was taken out without notice. When we arrived, our room was not ready by check in, which we didn't find out until after we waited in line for an hour already. The hotel's front desk staff seemed confused at all times. They were no help in checking in on time and had little knowledge of policies. The security was no where to be found when a key got locked in the room. We found the maid service rummaging through our belongings when we walked in the room one afternoon, claiming she was 'tiding up.' The only positive was the location for us as spring breakers. It was decently cheap and a nice pool. Other than that, I wouldn't recommend this hotel, nor will we ever be booking with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tholius
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Sep 2, 2014

In need of renovation

The place is okay, the location is great. We have been coming here for decades (since well before it was a Radisson) and I don't think the rooms have been updated in that entire time. We stayed in a beach view room. When we got up early a few times, it took more than 5 minutes for the hot water to arrive. The sink spigot was tight, hard to use, and leaked to the point that the room below us had to call for service. The bed was a sleep number, but I was not impressed. There is a hill between the two sides. The bedding was odd, you can either be cold with just a sheet or broiling under the blanket. The pillows were awful. Did not sleep well. Many of the fixtures are in disrepair. Things that fail are not replaced, it seems, just patched back together. Now I know the beach chair concession is a separate thing, but the same holds. The chairs are awful, stained, some broken, some missing a vinyl strap. The umbrellas have holes in them and are ragged, and in spite of a huge beach area, they cram them together so close that they touch. We were there labor day weekend, it wasn't that busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Ranch is great food. Louie's Back Yard is iconic, great buffet, fireworks during the season on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trickerlynn
Business
O'fallon, IL
Jun 4, 2012

Nice grounds & pool areas

The first room we were given was not renovated and it was in desperate need of one. We asked to be moved because of the carpet condition and mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, with my allergies I was unable to stay in that room. At first we were told that was the only rooms available but after talking to the Manager, we were offered a room that had been renovated which was much nicer and cleaner. The room was still small with 2 full size beds instead of queen beds, but it was clean. The grounds and pool areas are nice and well landscaped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
freeasabird1913
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2012

Nice getaway close to Mexico

It was a pleasant stay, we went to South Padre Island mainly for windsurfing, so we did not really care whether the hotel was empty, or it was not peak season. The hotel is nice, nothing special, a little kitsch if you will, but ultimately that is the general style in South Padre. we shared a room in 4, so 80 USD/night seemed reasonable, but definitely not cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Zeste tapas, on Padre Boulevard. Very chic and nice tapa place, good food and very good value for your money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DavenGena
Business
Lee's Summit, MO
Mar 4, 2013

Beautiful Views Not So Good for Sleeping

The landscaping was beautiful and the ocean view was great. However the walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone inside or outside. The water was an issue all week, off and on most of the time. Had to wait up to 15 minutes for it to get hot and then hardly any pressure. The maintenance guys were nice but the front desk was not so helpful. I don't think we would be a return customer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Dar
Business
Edinburg TX
Jan 7, 2014

just after christmas break

this is a great location for SPI. Our room was just steps from the beach, and the pool. Im guessing during the colder months there is some routine maintenance going on. repairs here and there. Our room was lacking a Microwave. the room phone did not work. a lamp was broken. It took several minutes for the hot water to come out hot. But I think we got a great price on the room for an overnight get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best Pizza west of the Mississippi. D'Pizza joint.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top