$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

3 stars
View map of 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
49 reviews
THE BEST FAMILY GETAWAY

OUR EXPERIENCE AT THIS HOTEL WAS EXCELLENT. WE WILL RECOMMEND YOU HOTEL TO ALL OUR FRIENDS.... See full review

  • Charles mejia
  • Sep 22, 2014
Best value on the island

Our family has stayed here twice now while visiting family in the area and we really enjoy this... See full review

  • JohnnyC3
  • Feb 23, 2014
Budget hotel with outdoor pool blocks from the beach
A budget hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island is located just a few blocks from the beach. Check out Sea Turtle, Inc., and the Birding and Nature Center -- attractions right next door to the hotel, or go for a horseback ride on the beach. So many activities are available nearby. And when it is time to relax, the pool area at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is spacious, with a whirlpool, plenty of room to kick back in the sun and barbecue grills for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Barbecue grills for guest use
Location
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island is located near the South Padre Island Convention Center.
Rooms
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island rooms are classically decorated with modern furniture triple-sheeted beds, 32-inch HDTVs and some with views of Laguna Madre Bay. Guests who have to take work with them will find a comfortable place to concentrate at the oversized desk with ergonomic chair. Book one of the suites and all that extra space comes with a wet bar, a breakfast nook and a sleeper sofa.
Features
Wake up to warm cinnamon rolls every morning with the complimentary continental breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island. It is easy to burn off any extra calories with all the activities available nearby -- horseback riding, walking on the beach, windsurfing and more. There is also a fitness center and an outdoor pool at the hotel. Guests can barbecue by the pool -- grills are available for all.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center (Next to hotel)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 125 guests
  • Wireless Internet access available in public areas and high-speed Internet available in rooms
  • Business center offers photocopying, facsimile, personal computer, printer and Internet services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eduardo yujuuuu
Business
mexico city
Mar 25, 2013

Great!! just perfect!!

It was very nice to stay with my wife, clean, kind people, quiet, just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs B Smith
Business
Pearland, Texas
Sep 3, 2013

Best vacation in a long time!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn! We usually always stay at Holiday Inn's but this location is now our favorite! Hotel and rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff definitely pays attention to detail. Staff was always smiling, friendly and helpful. We spent a week here and didn't want to leave! Hotel within walking distance to beach. We ate the generous and tasty complimentary breakfast every morning which saved us alot of money. Definitely worth the money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge to get good deals on horseback riding, fishing trips, snorkeling trips and eco tours with fireworks! I also recommend you have a massage at the Massage & Healing Arts Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pattyn
Business
SPI, Texas
Sep 2, 2013

great birthday get away

Awesome Hotel In Every Aspect. Staff Was Super Friendly, Hotel Was Clean, Continental Breakfast Was Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnnyC3
Business
Buffalo, NY
Feb 23, 2014

Best value on the island

Our family has stayed here twice now while visiting family in the area and we really enjoy this hotel! It's fairly new, very clean, close to the beach and very family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brownsville TX
Sep 28, 2010

Great Stay

The kids and I had a wonderful time. They spent most of their time in the pool, however, I was able to relax in the hot tub. The weather was spectacular and the sunset view was awesome from our fourth story room facing the bay area. Beautiful atmosphere and great service. The continental breakfast was very fulfilling, many options for the big eater and the picky eater as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

As summer is at its end, we found some nice sales at some of the beach shops. Lots of clearance items and 3 for $10 items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, TX
Oct 13, 2010

Great location

Excellent hotel. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vault_dog
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 11, 2010

Enjoyable Stay

This really was an amazing stay. After reading reviews of other motels and hotels with terrible staff, dirty rooms, small pools, and cockroaches, this was a relief. My wife and I stayed for three nights. The room was clean, the bed was nice, and the staff was helpful everytime I needed my key re-keyed due to me storing it next to my cellphone. Our tv remote broke on the second night and was replaced in 5 minutes. It was also a great location. Very close to the sea turtle research center, the bird/nature watching conservatory, and the beach accesses. The continental breakfast was good, generally with eggs, biscuits, sausage gravy, and cinammon rolls, as well as the other "dry" items like bagels, toast, cereal, and muffins. I really can't say enough about it. For a spring break destination, we were expecting ratholes with staff that only care about a couple of weeks a year. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit South Padre Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 22, 2007

Wonderful Family Hotel

We had a great vacation and the hotel provided us with a very comfortable place to rest each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 4, 2008

Personalized service!

Loved the staff. Manager was awesome. Very accomadating, clean, and beds were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

Terrific place to stay

Our stay at the South Padre Island Holiday Inn Express was very pleasant. We were on the island as part of our Texas vacation and the hotel accommodations were perfect. We were able to relax in our room, which was large enough to comfortably accommodate our family of four. The bathroom was spacious with lots of counter space. The breakfast bar was stocked with a large variety of breakfast foods. We were able to launder our clothes in a washer and dryer conveniently located near our room. The pool was great fun, and the beach was a short walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was a short walk from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top