$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

3 stars
6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Best value on the island

Our family has stayed here twice now while visiting family in the area and we really enjoy this... See full review

  • JohnnyC3
  • Feb 23, 2014
Best vacation in a long time!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn! We usually always stay at Holiday Inn's but... See full review

  • Mr and Mrs B Smith
  • Sep 3, 2013
Budget hotel with outdoor pool blocks from the beach
A budget hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island is located just a few blocks from the beach. Check out Sea Turtle, Inc., and the Birding and Nature Center -- attractions right next door to the hotel, or go for a horseback ride on the beach. So many activities are available nearby. And when it is time to relax, the pool area at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is spacious, with a whirlpool, plenty of room to kick back in the sun and barbecue grills for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Barbecue grills for guest use
Location
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island is located near the South Padre Island Convention Center.
Rooms
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island rooms are classically decorated with modern furniture triple-sheeted beds, 32-inch HDTVs and some with views of Laguna Madre Bay. Guests who have to take work with them will find a comfortable place to concentrate at the oversized desk with ergonomic chair. Book one of the suites and all that extra space comes with a wet bar, a breakfast nook and a sleeper sofa.
Features
Wake up to warm cinnamon rolls every morning with the complimentary continental breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island. It is easy to burn off any extra calories with all the activities available nearby -- horseback riding, walking on the beach, windsurfing and more. There is also a fitness center and an outdoor pool at the hotel. Guests can barbecue by the pool -- grills are available for all.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center (Next to hotel)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 125 guests
  • Wireless Internet access available in public areas and high-speed Internet available in rooms
  • Business center offers photocopying, facsimile, personal computer, printer and Internet services

Hotel Map

26.137 -97.1719
Nearby airports
Valley International Airport - Harlingen, (HRL), 40.00, MI; McAllen Miller International Airport, (MFE), 0.00, MI; Brownsville - S Padre Island Int'l Arpt, (BRO), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 25, 2008

Great Bargain

The Holiday Inn Express was great. Clean rooms, great breakfast buffet every morning, nice pool and short walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is on the northern part of the island - short drive to secluded beaches and you can drive right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland, TX
Aug 17, 2007

My review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Holiday Inn Express was in a great location but the hotel itself was not very satisfying. The carpet was HORRIBLE and there was only ONE working elevator for summer guests. The walk to the beach wasn't very far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A famous waterpark is nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 27, 2007

Terrific place to stay

Our stay at the South Padre Island Holiday Inn Express was very pleasant. We were on the island as part of our Texas vacation and the hotel accommodations were perfect. We were able to relax in our room, which was large enough to comfortably accommodate our family of four. The bathroom was spacious with lots of counter space. The breakfast bar was stocked with a large variety of breakfast foods. We were able to launder our clothes in a washer and dryer conveniently located near our room. The pool was great fun, and the beach was a short walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was a short walk from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 5, 2007

very friendly staff

The beach was walking distance from the hotel. We had a view of the bay and it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the shops/restaurants were nearby. During the day a nice walk. In the evening better to drive. We enjoyed the location because it was a few blocks fromt the busier part of the strip on the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 22, 2007

Wonderful Family Hotel

We had a great vacation and the hotel provided us with a very comfortable place to rest each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mcallen, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Very family friendly

Very friendly personnel and clean premises, pet friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You need to move around by car, short drive from main business street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 12, 2007

Good Location

The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites was in a good location for the beach. It was clean and the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was a block away and there was a gym down the street that my son was able to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search