$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

3 stars
6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Best value on the island

Our family has stayed here twice now while visiting family in the area and we really enjoy this... See full review

  • JohnnyC3
  • Feb 23, 2014
Best vacation in a long time!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn! We usually always stay at Holiday Inn's but... See full review

  • Mr and Mrs B Smith
  • Sep 3, 2013
Budget hotel with outdoor pool blocks from the beach
A budget hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island is located just a few blocks from the beach. Check out Sea Turtle, Inc., and the Birding and Nature Center -- attractions right next door to the hotel, or go for a horseback ride on the beach. So many activities are available nearby. And when it is time to relax, the pool area at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is spacious, with a whirlpool, plenty of room to kick back in the sun and barbecue grills for guests to use.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Barbecue grills for guest use
Location
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island is located near the South Padre Island Convention Center.
Rooms
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island rooms are classically decorated with modern furniture triple-sheeted beds, 32-inch HDTVs and some with views of Laguna Madre Bay. Guests who have to take work with them will find a comfortable place to concentrate at the oversized desk with ergonomic chair. Book one of the suites and all that extra space comes with a wet bar, a breakfast nook and a sleeper sofa.
Features
Wake up to warm cinnamon rolls every morning with the complimentary continental breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites South Padre Island. It is easy to burn off any extra calories with all the activities available nearby -- horseback riding, walking on the beach, windsurfing and more. There is also a fitness center and an outdoor pool at the hotel. Guests can barbecue by the pool -- grills are available for all.
Transportation
  • Brownsville/South Padre Island International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Valley International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center (Next to hotel)
  • Andy Bowie County Park (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • South Padre Island Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Port Isabel Lighthouse (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Treasures of the Gulf Museum (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 125 guests
  • Wireless Internet access available in public areas and high-speed Internet available in rooms
  • Business center offers photocopying, facsimile, personal computer, printer and Internet services

Hotel Map

26.137 -97.1719
Nearby airports
Valley International Airport - Harlingen, (HRL), 40.00, MI; McAllen Miller International Airport, (MFE), 0.00, MI; Brownsville - S Padre Island Int'l Arpt, (BRO), 40.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
McAllen, TX
Oct 7, 2010

Perfect weekend

Great Hotel for a nice comfortable weekend with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Great beach, sand, water and weather.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brownsville TX
Sep 28, 2010

Great Stay

The kids and I had a wonderful time. They spent most of their time in the pool, however, I was able to relax in the hot tub. The weather was spectacular and the sunset view was awesome from our fourth story room facing the bay area. Beautiful atmosphere and great service. The continental breakfast was very fulfilling, many options for the big eater and the picky eater as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

As summer is at its end, we found some nice sales at some of the beach shops. Lots of clearance items and 3 for $10 items.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Aug 19, 2010

Good Value

Check-in was quick and easy, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great and offered a variety of foods. The hotel was quiet and the rooms were really nice, especially for the price. Our rooms were cleaned on time, and the front desk even provided us with first aid items when we needed them. They extended our check-out too. Overall, a great stay for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coconuts was an awesome place that offered wave runners, parasailing, and snorkeling for a great price! There is also a bar/restaurant. The staff was super friendly and outgoing, and wanted to give you the most for your money. We will definitely go back next time.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Aug 12, 2010

The best hotel option on South Padre...

This is one of the nicer hotels on the island and is very easy to access. Lots of great restaurants and activities close by. There always seemed to be plenty of room to park and it is only one block from the beach. Breakfast in the morning was always crowded (especially on the weekend), so try and get an early start to avoid the rush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have children, Pirate's Landing (in Port Isabel) was a great experience. The Black Dragon cruise was a blast and we ate dinner at Pirate's Landing Restaurant afterward. A little pricey overall, but a very memorable experience.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
De
Jul 27, 2010

Great and relaxing

It was very relaxing and I really enjoyed my vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston Tx
Jul 24, 2010

Great Room Great Vacation

The room was very nice friendly staff great location, the breakfast was good, close to the beach, nice pool, and my stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel had discount passes to all the sight seeing tours and to the waterpark.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vault_dog
Austin, TX
Jul 11, 2010

Enjoyable Stay

This really was an amazing stay. After reading reviews of other motels and hotels with terrible staff, dirty rooms, small pools, and cockroaches, this was a relief. My wife and I stayed for three nights. The room was clean, the bed was nice, and the staff was helpful everytime I needed my key re-keyed due to me storing it next to my cellphone. Our tv remote broke on the second night and was replaced in 5 minutes. It was also a great location. Very close to the sea turtle research center, the bird/nature watching conservatory, and the beach accesses. The continental breakfast was good, generally with eggs, biscuits, sausage gravy, and cinammon rolls, as well as the other "dry" items like bagels, toast, cereal, and muffins. I really can't say enough about it. For a spring break destination, we were expecting ratholes with staff that only care about a couple of weeks a year. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit South Padre Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
randyspi lovr
Granger, tx
May 4, 2010

beautiful beach

Serene and quiet all week. Saturday was crazy, but I understand that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrive on Sunday, bask all week. Get out on Saturday!

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex from Texas
South Padre Island, TX
Apr 20, 2010

ultimate comfort

stayed in the executive suite. very spacious! clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mcallen, TX
Apr 5, 2010

Friendly, clean and good location

The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. The room was a step above other hotels on South Padre Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search