$30 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Blue Bay Inn & Suites

3 stars
901 padre blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
36 reviews
Perfect for a cheap and beautiful getaway

I placed an order for a two queen sized bed room and the owner was so generous that he graciously... See full review

  • Monica Student
  • Mar 21, 2014
short but enjoyable stay

Excellent front desk staff--room clean and well worth the money--will aty there again! See full review

  • Dave from Arkansas
  • Feb 26, 2014
On the Bay enjoy a sunset and watch the dolphins from your own balcony. Guest rooms offer cable satellite/refrigerator/complimentary wireless internet access and Continental breakfast. Other amenities include outdoor pool and laundry facilities. Taxi and shuttle service available. No pets allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Blue Bay Inn & Suites Rooms

Balcony 2 queen bed
Non smoking Double Queen bed with private balcony bay view medium size fridge microwave coffee maker and free internet free breakfast
Suite king bed
Non smoking Suite with kitchenettes king bed and sofa bed granite counter top fridge and microwave and free internet led tv
Standard 2 queen bed
Non smoking Double queen bed with mini fridge coffee maker and Internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Pool
Boating
Driving range
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DSymns
Business
San Antonio
Jul 16, 2012

Wish It Was Cheaper..

It can get pretty hot in the hallways and lobby area. There were roaches all over the pool area. Continental breakfast includes orange juice that tasted watered down with sea water, cereal, honey buns, bread and a toaster. You can hear everything through the walls, and the beds are really worn down, I kept sinking into the broken part. Overall I think it was way to expensive for the quality. Would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The kid3
Business
Mcallen, Texas
Jun 12, 2012

4th floor challenge

Not a very good experience, I booked a room one week in advance. When I got there the elevator was out of order and they stuck me on the 4th floor. With a baby in hand it was a challenge to say the least. Breakfast was a joke, Debbie snacks should not be considered breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappyguest13
Business
SPRING TX
May 28, 2013

front desk staff could be more helpfull

every time we passed by the front desk the attendant was either on his phone or on facebook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

every restaurant had poor bad service this is sad for a destination!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Buck the victim.
Business
McAllen, TX
Aug 8, 2011

Stay away for your own good.

This was the most overpriced and disgusting hotel we have ever stayed in. We were issued the wrong keys. The four story hotel had only two elevators and one was completely out of service and the other was out for one of our two days there. We had to waite one hour past posted check in time because the staff was still "cleaning". When we finally got the right key cards we found 3 of the 5 lights in the room had burned out bulbs. The staff was overwhelmed. This hotel could ruin any vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
helotes ,texas
Jun 13, 2011

the good ,the bad and really ugly

no ice machines on each floor( four stories tall) , only ice machine on second floor . elevator was too slow , a/c not turned on for the floors . railing in balcony missing caps and dirty . chairs on balcony torn and fifty . lounge chairs by pool area need replacing , all were broken . will not go back to hotel again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several places to dine and shops around hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bosslube
Business
Austin texas
Jul 19, 2014

Don't do

Door required a slam. No shampoo soap etc.towels paper thin. Only positive was tv. Breakfast was sad waffle no one refilling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unfortunate Customer
Business
Rio Grande Valley
Apr 23, 2012

It was a 2 star hotel all around

You can hear EVERYTHING in the hall and rooms next door. There was no iron, ironing board, exercise room etc. They only provided 2 towels and 2 wash clothes and no hand towels. The beds were uncomfortable and there were no blankets. The room was fairly clean except for the roach that visited us early in the morning on the bathroom counter. They have 2 elevators but only 1 worked the whole time we were there and the floors were always wet and slippery. The hallways were hot and you can hear the air conditioners clanking all day. Basically, you get what you pay for. Unfortunately, there were no hotels available so we had no choice but to stay there-would not return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dolphins2012
Business
texas
Jun 4, 2012

vaction time

I had called several times to make sure I had a connecting door and in until the third try I finally got it. But thru all that was never told there was no elevator. Sign at the door did say there was going to be bellboys. Never once did I see one or was I offered one, even when I had to carry my items plus my children had to help me. Morning breakfast was a breakfast, its was a bunch of sweet items i.e. honey buns. Other than that we were not there most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spotter
Business
Austin
Jun 18, 2012

High Priced, Low Value

The management at the hotel are very nice. They were quick to get us checked in and we had no issues there. The location was great, just inside the island, easy to access. The only downside was the actual hotel itself. There was a huge hole in our ceiling in the bathroom, the patio door did not lock, and the whole placed smelled like a strong chemical, maybe they had just cleaned the floors and forgot to water down the cleaning agent? For the amount we paid, I would have been much happier in another hotel that was charging the same amount. Be warned, the breakfast includes Orange Juice and Ding Dongs and Rice Krispee Treats. There were no other breakfast foods. There are a few good shops within walking distance which are nice, and the pool is well kept, though the wood and surrounding patios are not well kept. The hotel backs up to the Texas side of the island and has a good view of the bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Surf/Swim shops on the island is located just next door at the huge Shark entrance. I would highly recommend this shop over most of the others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diva216
Business
Houston, tx
Sep 3, 2013

Not worth it!

Hotel is not near the beach. In order to get there you have to drive. Also when we arrived we were getting charged $40 extra for "tax", I had to show my reservation email in order to get the price I was told. The door in room has insects all over. The pool was dirty all the time. Breakfast is just coffee, donuts and muffins. This was too expensive and not worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top