$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Blue Bay Inn & Suites

3 stars
901 padre blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
51 reviews
Perfect for a cheap and beautiful getaway

I placed an order for a two queen sized bed room and the owner was so generous that he graciously... See full review

  • Monica Student
  • Mar 21, 2014
short but enjoyable stay

Excellent front desk staff--room clean and well worth the money--will aty there again! See full review

  • Dave from Arkansas
  • Feb 26, 2014
On the Bay enjoy a sunset and watch the dolphins from your own balcony. Guest rooms offer cable satellite/refrigerator/complimentary wireless internet access and Continental breakfast. Other amenities include outdoor pool and laundry facilities. Taxi and shuttle service available. No pets allowed

Hotel Map

26.0916 -97.1656
Nearby airports
BRO, (BRO), 38.70, KM, NE; HRL, (HRL), 65.70, KM, SE;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Bay Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Blue Bay Inn & Suites Rooms

Balcony 2 queen bed
Non smoking Double Queen bed with private balcony bay view mini fridge coffee maker and free internet
Suite king bed
Non smoking Suite with kitchenettes king bed and sofa bed granite counter top fridge and microwave and free internet led tv
Standard 2 queen bed
Non smoking Double queen bed with mini fridge coffee maker and Internet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Pool
Boating
Driving range
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica Student
South Padre Island
Mar 21, 2014

Perfect for a cheap and beautiful getaway

I placed an order for a two queen sized bed room and the owner was so generous that he graciously gave us a king sized bed suit! It was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The Wave is a free bus that goes around South Padre and you tell them where you want to go.

Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave from Arkansas
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Feb 26, 2014

short but enjoyable stay

Excellent front desk staff--room clean and well worth the money--will aty there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louie's Backyard great for food and value

Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chabel
McAllen, TX
Feb 17, 2014

Cheap

I reserved a king-sized bed and got a double because they were out of king-sized rooms. i got in late so i didn't feel like arguing, even though i technically still got charged for the king-sized bed. overall a decent place to stay when on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diva216
Houston, tx
Sep 3, 2013

Not worth it!

Hotel is not near the beach. In order to get there you have to drive. Also when we arrived we were getting charged $40 extra for "tax", I had to show my reservation email in order to get the price I was told. The door in room has insects all over. The pool was dirty all the time. Breakfast is just coffee, donuts and muffins. This was too expensive and not worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappyguest13
SPRING TX
May 28, 2013

front desk staff could be more helpfull

every time we passed by the front desk the attendant was either on his phone or on facebook!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

every restaurant had poor bad service this is sad for a destination!

Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steven182
houston, texas
Mar 19, 2013

attention

they would hardly ever have ice, the rooms where really not that clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob funny guy
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 14, 2012

Fantastic Couple Getaway

Had a great time. Hotel was very clean. Bed & pillows were very comfortable. The hotel was also close to everything. Great location, Great place, Great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DSymns
San Antonio
Jul 16, 2012

Wish It Was Cheaper..

It can get pretty hot in the hallways and lobby area. There were roaches all over the pool area. Continental breakfast includes orange juice that tasted watered down with sea water, cereal, honey buns, bread and a toaster. You can hear everything through the walls, and the beds are really worn down, I kept sinking into the broken part. Overall I think it was way to expensive for the quality. Would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spotter
Austin
Jun 18, 2012

High Priced, Low Value

The management at the hotel are very nice. They were quick to get us checked in and we had no issues there. The location was great, just inside the island, easy to access. The only downside was the actual hotel itself. There was a huge hole in our ceiling in the bathroom, the patio door did not lock, and the whole placed smelled like a strong chemical, maybe they had just cleaned the floors and forgot to water down the cleaning agent? For the amount we paid, I would have been much happier in another hotel that was charging the same amount. Be warned, the breakfast includes Orange Juice and Ding Dongs and Rice Krispee Treats. There were no other breakfast foods. There are a few good shops within walking distance which are nice, and the pool is well kept, though the wood and surrounding patios are not well kept. The hotel backs up to the Texas side of the island and has a good view of the bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Surf/Swim shops on the island is located just next door at the huge Shark entrance. I would highly recommend this shop over most of the others.

Review of Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The kid3
Mcallen, Texas
Jun 12, 2012

4th floor challenge

Not a very good experience, I booked a room one week in advance. When I got there the elevator was out of order and they stuck me on the 4th floor. With a baby in hand it was a challenge to say the least. Breakfast was a joke, Debbie snacks should not be considered breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top