$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

3 stars
218 College St, Unit 2, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
Weekend Getaway

Everything was wonderful. A very good location for enjoying the Riverwalk. See full review

  • Anon20
  • Oct 15, 2013
Great place to stay with family right on the Riverwalkarea

Just a few steps from Hard Rock Cafe, Rainforest and all the fun places at the Riverwalk!!... See full review

  • RiveraDAD
  • Aug 16, 2014
Exceptional location on the banks of the enchanting River Walk

Setting the pace for urban vacations, the Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio provides a home away from home in an extraordinary setting. Here guests come and go as they please in a relaxed atmosphere, making full use of the range of facilities. There are bistros, bars and restaurants along the River Walk close to the Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel, and The Alamo is also close by, a truly world-famous historical site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Classic historic building with a comfortable, friendly ambiance

  • Wedding services, event space and banquet facilities are available

  • Close to the Alamo and within walking distance of other popular attractions

Wyndham Apollo Hotel rooms

Originally built in 1928, a mini kitchen, two stovetop burners, a refrigerator and a microwave oven are standard provisions in all apartments. Both one and two bedroom apartments are available at the Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio, where guests relax on a lovely outdoor patio and watch the River Walk life go by. Both smaller parties and extended groups enjoy accommodation in the hotel and it is an ideal base for sightseeing trips or historical tours, particularly as the Alamo is a mere block and a half away and many other popular attractions are also within walking distance. The Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio has an elevator and facilities to allow people with disabilities to access the patio area.

Things To Do:
  • San Antonio River Walk (0.08 mi/0.13 km)

  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! San Antonio (0.1 mi/0.16 km)

  • Rio San Antonio Cruises (0.2 mi/0.32 km)

  • Majestic Theatre (0.2 mi/0.32km)

  • Ultimate Mirror Maze (0.2 mi/0.32 km)

  • The Alamo (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • HemisFair Park (0.6 mi/0.1 km)

  • San Antonio Zoo (3.8 mi/6.11 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed WyndhamVR Riverside Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

WyndhamVR Riverside Suites Rooms

One Bedroom
One queen bed in private bedroom sleeper sofa in living area mini kitchen washer/extractor and Jacuzzi tub in bathroom. Maximum occupancy is 4. Private sleeping area sleeps 2.
Studio
Our studio units measure approximately 300 square feet and include 1 king bed mini kitchen offering a blender coffee maker toaster/toaster oven microwave 2-burner stove refrigerator/freezer dishwasher. Also enjoy complimentary wireless internet. Unit slee
Two Bedrooms
One queen bed in each bedroom sleeper sofa in living area mini kitchen two bathrooms washer/extractor and Jacuzzi tub in master bath. Maximum occupancy is 6. Private sleeping area sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.7 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.2 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.7 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 22
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leslie Allen
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 28, 2014

Thought we were in a cheap motel

The experience was terrible from the start. The only access to the "resort" was thru what looked like the back door which stays locked at all times & no one was available when we arrived to let us in. Finally a cleaning lady who appeared to be on a smoke break saw us & decided to let us in using her access card. I guess if the check in desk wasn't on a different floor than the entry floor this wouldn't be a problem. Once we finally checked in & was shown to our room we discovered that the king bed studio we purchased online AND had a confirmation for was not the same room we were given. We were then told that room wasn't available because it must always be available for the person who owns it as a timeshare IN CASE they decide to come. So I'm dumbfounded as to why the room is even advertised then??? As compensation for the mix up we were given several discount coupons to local restaurants & theme parks. We were also supposed to be added on to a seminar for Saturday morning #which I was charged a $20 deposit for# where we get a $125 Visa card afterwards only to receive a call that morning to say there was no more room in the 9am session THEY signed us up for but we would be on standby for a later one that day... we never received that call. The room was not cleaned although we stayed two nights & when we asked for more towels after the first night, they were placed on the end table in the living area instead of in the bathroom. The room overall was subpar, I would rate it on the level of a motel or MAYBE a one star hotel. There was dirt & stains on the walls, caked-on dirt in every corner especially in the bathroom and water stains on the ceiling. I CAN NOT believe the Wyndham brand would put their name on an establishment such as this and I will NEVER stay at that location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landry's was outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anon20
Business
Bryan Tx
Oct 15, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Everything was wonderful. A very good location for enjoying the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lover of San Antonio
Business
DFW, Texas
Feb 16, 2013

Hidden Jewel

This little time share/hotel was lovely. I have stayed at many hotels in San Antonio but none matches the charm and authenticity of San Antonio like the Wyndham Riverside Suites. The staff upgraded our room to a riverview and it was beautiful. Not exactly on the river but within steps of the most populated area and restaurants on the river. If you get a chance, definitely chose this location- we will from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeHouston
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 9, 2012

Wyndham at River Walk

It's not really a hotel. It's a time share. All of the rooms are 3 room efficiency type rooms. They're very clean and everything is there, but the hotel is very old. Furnature is old, the hallways are very narrow and very little offered in the way of condiments. A comfortable room, but not worth the big bucks they charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk restaurants are excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 4, 2011

Not again

The hotel's location on the Riverwalk was great, and the room was fine, considering that it was a very old, historic hotel, but the staff and service left much to be desired, the parking was ridiculously inconvenient, the extra security deposits were excessive, and worst of all, there were two bars directly under us and we had to listen to drunken revelers until 4 in the morning both nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dubuque,ia
Nov 16, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

walk the riverwalk,shop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley, CA
Jul 15, 2010

the sites and wonderful experiences.

Wonderful place to staff on the Riverwalk. Quaint, well appointed. great location. Loved having the convenience of a full kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Barbeque

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 3, 2010

Please keep this place a secret.

Our room was beautiful. Two large rooms and great bathtub. Great view. Very clean. Very quiet. Right on the river. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in San Antonio for a night or for a long weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top