$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

3 stars
218 College St, Unit 2, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
28 reviews
Weekend Getaway

Everything was wonderful. A very good location for enjoying the Riverwalk. See full review

  • Anon20
  • Oct 15, 2013
Nice Stay, Great Location

I just got back from spending 4 nights in the WyndhamVR. I enjoyed my stay as the room was clean,... See full review

  • 913ShawnT
  • Jul 4, 2013
Exceptional location on the banks of the enchanting River Walk

Setting the pace for urban vacations, the Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio provides a home away from home in an extraordinary setting. Here guests come and go as they please in a relaxed atmosphere, making full use of the range of facilities. There are bistros, bars and restaurants along the River Walk close to the Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel, and The Alamo is also close by, a truly world-famous historical site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Classic historic building with a comfortable, friendly ambiance

  • Wedding services, event space and banquet facilities are available

  • Close to the Alamo and within walking distance of other popular attractions

Wyndham Apollo Hotel rooms

Originally built in 1928, a mini kitchen, two stovetop burners, a refrigerator and a microwave oven are standard provisions in all apartments. Both one and two bedroom apartments are available at the Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio, where guests relax on a lovely outdoor patio and watch the River Walk life go by. Both smaller parties and extended groups enjoy accommodation in the hotel and it is an ideal base for sightseeing trips or historical tours, particularly as the Alamo is a mere block and a half away and many other popular attractions are also within walking distance. The Wyndham Riverside Suites Hotel San Antonio has an elevator and facilities to allow people with disabilities to access the patio area.

Things To Do:
  • San Antonio River Walk (0.08 mi/0.13 km)

  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! San Antonio (0.1 mi/0.16 km)

  • Rio San Antonio Cruises (0.2 mi/0.32 km)

  • Majestic Theatre (0.2 mi/0.32km)

  • Ultimate Mirror Maze (0.2 mi/0.32 km)

  • The Alamo (0.3 mi/0.48 km)

  • HemisFair Park (0.6 mi/0.1 km)

  • San Antonio Zoo (3.8 mi/6.11 km)

WyndhamVR Riverside Suites Rooms

One Bedroom
One queen bed in private bedroom sleeper sofa in living area mini kitchen washer/extractor and Jacuzzi tub in bathroom. Maximum occupancy is 4. Private sleeping area sleeps 2.
Studio
Our studio units measure approximately 300 square feet and include 1 king bed mini kitchen offering a blender coffee maker toaster/toaster oven microwave 2-burner stove refrigerator/freezer dishwasher. Also enjoy complimentary wireless internet. Unit slee
Two Bedrooms
One queen bed in each bedroom sleeper sofa in living area mini kitchen two bathrooms washer/extractor and Jacuzzi tub in master bath. Maximum occupancy is 6. Private sleeping area sleeps 4.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed WyndhamVR Riverside Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4258 -98.489
Nearby airports
San Antonio Intl Airport, (SAT), 15.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.7 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.2 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.7 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CGCFam
Baytown, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Perfect Place To Stay

This place was perfect. I have a 19 month and the room was spacious enough for him to run and play and not disturb the rest of the family. It was close to the river walk and other activities and we never had to drive. I will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tiffanywil
san antonio
Jul 1, 2014

my Verizon 4g tablet c E0168 will not power up not taking a charge what can I do

It needs a pool. I enjoy the room. I didn't know I had to make a deposit when I arrived to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anon20
Bryan Tx
Oct 15, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Everything was wonderful. A very good location for enjoying the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
913ShawnT
America
Jul 4, 2013

Nice Stay, Great Location

I just got back from spending 4 nights in the WyndhamVR. I enjoyed my stay as the room was clean, in a great location, and the staff was very helpful. I especially liked having a small bedroom separate from the living/dining area. I would definitely stay here again. Now the minor negatives. The bed was harder than I liked (personal taste). The washer/dryer didn't dry. Lastly, I wasn't aware that the hotel was part of a time share chain, and I was a pitched a time share by one of the staff on the phone. Not a big deal, but kind of annoying. I had no problems with noise as some of the other reviewers complained. Overall I was very pleased with this hotel, and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lover of San Antonio
DFW, Texas
Feb 16, 2013

Hidden Jewel

This little time share/hotel was lovely. I have stayed at many hotels in San Antonio but none matches the charm and authenticity of San Antonio like the Wyndham Riverside Suites. The staff upgraded our room to a riverview and it was beautiful. Not exactly on the river but within steps of the most populated area and restaurants on the river. If you get a chance, definitely chose this location- we will from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great way to stay togethe
Monroe,mi
Dec 19, 2012

Great way to stay together!

This is an older hotel with lots of character. The view out our windows over the Riverwalk with Christmas lights was fantastic! Parking is a walk and loading/unloading is on the street. It is a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to enjoy the Riverwalk.

Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amber313
Business
Kansas
Nov 25, 2012

Great Location

The hotel is very comfortable and the location is excellent. It is close to food and shopping as well as the Alamo. The staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To get to the restaurants, all you have to do is walk out the hotel and go down the stairs to the Riverwalk.

Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeHouston
Houston, Texas
Jul 9, 2012

Wyndham at River Walk

It's not really a hotel. It's a time share. All of the rooms are 3 room efficiency type rooms. They're very clean and everything is there, but the hotel is very old. Furnature is old, the hallways are very narrow and very little offered in the way of condiments. A comfortable room, but not worth the big bucks they charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk restaurants are excellent.

Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CGCFam
Baytown, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Perfect Place To Stay

This place was perfect. I have a 19 month and the room was spacious enough for him to run and play and not disturb the rest of the family. It was close to the river walk and other activities and we never had to drive. I will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiaR
Odessa, TX, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Surprise getaway

Amazing location for the price! Hotel was very clean, staff was super nice, door security guard was awesome too! Parking was a short distance away, we actually drove around the block a couple of times trying figure out where to park. We ended up not needing the vehicle after we parked because we were so close to everything!! We would deffinately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of WyndhamVR Riverside Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 4, 2011

Not again

The hotel's location on the Riverwalk was great, and the room was fine, considering that it was a very old, historic hotel, but the staff and service left much to be desired, the parking was ridiculously inconvenient, the extra security deposits were excessive, and worst of all, there were two bars directly under us and we had to listen to drunken revelers until 4 in the morning both nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top