$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

2 stars
409 East Houston Street, 409 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
11 reviews
Great Weekend

Had a great weekend loved the location very close walk to the Villita well to almost everything we... See full review

  • Fany Garcia
  • Sep 9, 2014
Mini vaca

The experience was great. They even provided a clean crib for my baby. Awesome rooms, made me feel... See full review

  • Mommy Mari
  • Apr 29, 2014
A home away from home with plenty of added extras

The TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown offers families flexibility, business travelers workspace, and couples privacy. The suites make the hotel feel like a home away from home with kitchen areas and plenty of living space. A complimentary continental breakfast provides the perfect start to a busy day of sightseeing or business meetings, while the fitness centre and swimming pools ensures relaxation at the end of the day. Close to tourist attractions, military bases and business areas; this hotel is great for any type of guest.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Close to popular tourist attractions such as the Alamo and historic downtown San Antonio

  • Suites rather than rooms give more space and flexibility

  • Fitness center and swimming pool

TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown Rooms

All 117 suites at the TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown offer accommodation that is approximately 25 percent larger than standard hotel rooms. Options include suites with queen or king size beds or two queen size beds, a great choice for families who want to stay together, but relish extra space. Dedicated living and dining areas ensure everyone has plenty of room to spread out and relax in. Kitchens include refrigerators, pantry areas, stove tops, microwaves and dishwashers and are fully stocked with pots and pans, kitchen utensils and crockery, allowing guests to create meals in the comfort of their own room. Bathrooms have combined showers and bathtubs. Visitors staying at the TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown on business will find a designated work area with desk and ergonomic chair, personalized voicemail and free high-speed Internet access. Large flat screen televisions with cable and movies (charges apply), radios and iPod docks offer a range of entertainment options. Suites are decorated in a modern neutral style with splashes of color added to feature walls, bright artwork and colorful bed throws.

Things To Do:
  • San Antonio Children's Museum (0.1 mi/0.18 km)

  • Alamo (0.2 mi/0.32 km)

  • River Walk (0.4 mi/0.5 km)

  • San Antonio Zoo (3.7 mi/6 km)

  • Six Flags Fiesta Theme Park (16.9 mi/27.2 km)

  • La Cantera Shopping Area (17.8 mi/28.6 km)

  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (18.7 mi/30.1 km)

Hotel Map

29.4268 -98.4881
Area served
The Alamo
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.6 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.8 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.9 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.7 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.3 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.7 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fxman
Lubbock, Tx
Oct 16, 2012

I will come back

We didn't take advantage of the breakfast area since we wanted to have it in the street. The pool is tiny, but accessible for handicapped because they have some kind of chairlift. But: We were not interested in spending our time at the Hotel. If you were, the apartment room offers a small kitchen including stove, microwave, dishwasher and so forth. Beds are comfortable, clean bathroom with a huge shower. Walls seem to be thick, we had a quiet room. We chose the Hotel because of its location and reasonable price. Used Valet parking and lived three days without a car (they charge you an additional 24 Dollar/night though!). A few minutes away from the major highways, it is easy to find and about five minutes away from the actual and busy part of the riverwalk. The Alamo is just around the corner. We walked back from the Tower to the Hotel within 20 mintutes. I would recemmend this place and come back to it next time we are visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fany Garcia
Business
Texas
Sep 9, 2014

Great Weekend

Had a great weekend loved the location very close walk to the Villita well to almost everything we don't mind walking. The stay would've been better if check out time was a little later than 12 and If hotel had a babysitter there were alot of bars but couldn't go cause we had our daughter but overall the stay was like being right at home:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Villita

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cincycat49
Business
Ohio
Sep 6, 2014

nice getaway

Room clean, great location, staff great, riverwalk with in minutes!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy Mari
Business
Brownsville, Texas
Apr 29, 2014

Mini vaca

The experience was great. They even provided a clean crib for my baby. Awesome rooms, made me feel like we were in a little condo for the weeked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marjorie Johnson
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 20, 2013

Town Place Suites San Antonio

All staff at the hotel are exceptionally friendly, make you feel welcome and assist you in making your travel lodging complete. The food is very good at the breakfast buffet. The staff were helpful in providing bus arrangements and directing us to the stops. This hotel is worthy of more than a 2 Star. If in the area again we would definitely stay at Town Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The bus service is outstanding. You can travel around the city for one day at a cost of $4 and not all trips need to be made consecutively.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fxman
Business
Lubbock, Tx
Oct 16, 2012

I will come back

We didn't take advantage of the breakfast area since we wanted to have it in the street. The pool is tiny, but accessible for handicapped because they have some kind of chairlift. But: We were not interested in spending our time at the Hotel. If you were, the apartment room offers a small kitchen including stove, microwave, dishwasher and so forth. Beds are comfortable, clean bathroom with a huge shower. Walls seem to be thick, we had a quiet room. We chose the Hotel because of its location and reasonable price. Used Valet parking and lived three days without a car (they charge you an additional 24 Dollar/night though!). A few minutes away from the major highways, it is easy to find and about five minutes away from the actual and busy part of the riverwalk. The Alamo is just around the corner. We walked back from the Tower to the Hotel within 20 mintutes. I would recemmend this place and come back to it next time we are visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elchindechi
Business
houston, tx
Sep 17, 2012

really nice hotel

I really enjoyed my visit to this hotel, I recomend this hotel and probably stay for a second time in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

la gloria restaurant on the north side of downtown is a really nice place to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YRYR
Business
Juarez, Chih
Aug 13, 2012

Noisy on weekend

Excellent location, well equipped kitchen, including dishware, good breakfast. Pool very small, the weekend we were there there was considerable noise in the adjoining rooms. Walgreens in the next block to provide themselves with all the basics. On a block away riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolina Tex
Business
Brevard, NC
Mar 22, 2012

Towne Place Suites near the San Antonio Riverwalk

The Hotel was great! The room was just what we wanted, the bed was comfortable, the towels were good. Breakfast was just OK at best, but the biggest issue we had was the lack of parking. It will cost you another $25 per day for valet parking plus whatever you tip the valet person. To me that is a hidden cost and should be advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of Landry's Seafood on the Riverwalk. We waited 45 minutes for a table, which was fine because we knew ahead of time. While we waited, we had watered down drinks, and when seated, the waiter was horrendous. Our drinks ran empty, we never got our appetizer, and when the meals arrived, my wife's steak was not cooked as she requested and my food was cold. We spoke to a manager, who was very accomodating in that he didn't charge us anything. But that's not what we were looking for. We only wanted to eat a nice meal with good service. He was right not to charge us, but as late as it was, we didn't want to take a chance on them preparing more food. We went back to our Hotel and ate snacks. Very disappointing! Go to Pappasito's. It was fantastic. 15 minute drive from downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Conklin, MI
Aug 8, 2011

Family Vacation

Clean, friendly, helpful staff, decent breakfast, air condidtioning was nice and cold, great location, modern decorations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous location - close to Riverwalk, Alamo, Buckhorn Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, Ca.
Nov 16, 2010

A walkaway from the River.

We booked into the Townplace Suites at the last minute, actually 4 days before arriving on the 12th of november. We did not realize that a marathon was schedule for the same weekend and all the hotels near the famous "San Antonio River Walk" started to get booked fast. We found the Townplace suites reported 0.3 miles from the river...it was actually 1/2 block away. The hotel was not only near the river but it was within close proximity to everything downtown. The accommidations were pleasant with the service excellent. It was more than we expected for the price we paid for 3 nights stay. We had stayed in another hotel on a previous visit and the difference was like night and day. I recomment the hotel and plan on staying here again on my next trip. GB

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the river barge ride and you will see all the eateries available and to your chossing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top