$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 420 W Market Street, 420 W Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
143 reviews
Weekend trip

Great Hotel. Then Restaurant is OK. The hotel is a overpriced See full review

  • elviaje3
  • Apr 10, 2015
no complains

overall a bit expensive but good experience. Breakfast was a bit cold at the buffet and not so... See full review

  • Tom B.
  • Feb 17, 2015
The Westin Riverwalk San Antonio stands on the banks of the Paseo del Rio and is connected to its namesake. Many rooms and suites offer views of the river and extra-large accommodations. All rooms have an oversized marble bathroom, with separate bath and shower stalls, and spa features. The lobby-level cafe, aptly named Caficito, serves Starbucks coffee, pastries and fresh fruit. Dine on the riverside patio or in the lush interior of Zocca, the in-house Italian restaurant. A poolside bar operates seasonally. Spa features are available poolside.
Rooms

There are 473 oversized guest rooms, including 65 suites, in the Westin Riverwalk San Antonio. The suites feature sitting rooms, junior suites have a couch and easy chair, and luxury suites accommodate more than 10 guests. King and double rooms have wrought iron headboards. All d�cor is in cool greens, soft whites and accents of cayenne. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy an oversized marble bathroom with separate bath and shower stall with spa features, a 42-inch flat-screen TV, Westin Heavenly Bed and 24-hour room service.

Property features

The in-house spa has a full menu of treatments, massages, and mani/pedis, all of which can be done poolside or in-room. Special weekend spa getaways are available. The WestinWORKOUT Gym is accessible with room key. Guests can nibble at Cafecito, which offers seasonal fruit, pastries and Starbucks coffee. Upscale dining at in-house Zocca offers an Italian menu and wine list with more than 75 selections. Many shopping opportunities and dining options are available at the nearby Rivercenter Mall.

Highlights
  • One block from the pedestrian bridge of the River Walk
  • Spa treatments offered poolside or in-room
  • Oversized luxury suites with sitting rooms
  • Marble bathrooms with separate bath and shower stalls
  • Starbucks coffee at Cafecito and Italian dining at Zocca
Nearby attractions
  • River Walk (0.3 mi./0.4 km)
  • Rivercenter Mall (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Casa Navarro State Historic Site (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • San Antonio Museum of Art (1.1 mi./1.7 km)
  • Witte Museum (3 mi./4.8 km)
  • The Alamo (6.7 mi./10.8 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Translation service
  • Currency exchange
Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.7 mi./12.4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
Policies
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of age at check-in.
  • Parking fees range from $20 to $30 per day. Valet service is available.
  • Wi-Fi access fees range from $13.95 to $19.95 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.3 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.3 mi

Dining

Cafecito
Just off the hotel's grand lobby, Cafecito serves breakfast and lunch to go, including Starbucks coffee and espresso drinks, tempting pastries, savory paninis and more. Rustic wooden tables and leather chairs lend a refined charm to the café.
Zocca
Indulge in sophisticated Italian fare with a rustic touch in the inviting atmosphere of Zocca. Our flagship restaurant is one of the city’s most exciting dining destinations, offering all-day dining, indoors or on the riverfront patio.
Rooftop Pool Bar
The cabana-style rooftop pool bar is an ideal place to relax and sip a minty Mojito, San Antonio-style. It's the perfect oasis to socialize, enjoy a light snack, and soak in views of the Tower of America and the River Walk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Harlingen Texas
Dec 25, 2010

aint what it is to be on internet

There was no parking unless you paid 30.00 dollars for a spot. There was no chocolate at the desk, as they described, in our room you would think that they would give you a stir stick for your coffee and some cream that was not empty. Before being able to use shower we had to clean long black hair out of tub.They would not give me a receipt for our stay which now I do not get credit for from my direct travel co. So conclusion I would never reserve a room their again. Who puts a lock on the refegerator, why have one...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

lots to do in san antonio

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Jun 30, 2009

WAY, WAY OVERRATED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OMG!!!! I booked this hotel based on the ratings on this and a couple other hotel sites. I should have paid attention to the few that said this place wasn't worth the money.......NOT EVEN CLOSE! It is an average $80-90 room at best......NOT $299!!!! One example? They only give you TWO fullsize bath towels for two people. I had to ask for an extra two at the front desk. What woman only uses one towel?!?!? Remember? I paid $299 a night for this!!!! Live and learn and never stay at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ignore the high prices on the Riverwalk and just have fun!!!

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anthony Denning
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 14, 2009

beautiful hotel, HORRIBLE service!

Went to check in and was told they only had a room w/ two double beds instead of the king bed room with a river view and a balcony I reserved (though they claim I booked the 2 bed room, my confirmation from Orbitz says "bed", singular). They were unable to give me the right room so they stuck us in a "jr. suit" on the 7th floor over looking a garage (very romantic for my wife and I). The street traffic was so loud I was up at 6am to the sound of trucks. Then managed to get back to sleep only to be awakened by housekeeping at 9am and 10:30am. Both times I showed them the do not disturb sign (stating the word "calm" ironicly) hanging on the door but apparently the only english they knew was "house keeping". I talked to [...] the manager who was for all purposes completely useless. He told me that because I booked through Orbitz he couldn't do anything for me, not even comp the $30 valet which I didn't book through Orbitz. I paid $200 to stay in a four diamond hotel and got to look at a garage and get woken up repeatedly by ignorant staff. Do not stay at this hotel. There are others on the river that have a better location and staff that can actually serve you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Harlingen Texas
Dec 25, 2010

aint what it is to be on internet

There was no parking unless you paid 30.00 dollars for a spot. There was no chocolate at the desk, as they described, in our room you would think that they would give you a stir stick for your coffee and some cream that was not empty. Before being able to use shower we had to clean long black hair out of tub.They would not give me a receipt for our stay which now I do not get credit for from my direct travel co. So conclusion I would never reserve a room their again. Who puts a lock on the refegerator, why have one...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

lots to do in san antonio

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StanHSTX
Business
Houston, TX
May 28, 2012

Wish it would have been better

Girlfriend and I stayed for memorial weekend. Overall, the place itself is nice. The pool is extremely small and crowded (and no hot tub). The staff didnt seem to care about us at all (the only exception was the bellhop). All I can say is that this Westin is nothing compared to the one in Houston. For the money spent, we should have went with the Marriott (which was a hundred bucks cheaper).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cold Showers
Business
California
Aug 6, 2012

Ripped Off

We stayed at this hotel 5 nights and I had a cold shower 4 out of the 5 days. I have a disability and needed to order room service, the service was phenomenal, but the prices were unheard of. To Watch a movie on. Pay per view it was $16 99. I had to ask for a robe 4 out of the 5 times I took a shower. I would pick another 4star hotel on thr Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gentlelman G
Business
SE Texas
Aug 20, 2012

Over Priced and still No wi-fi in your Room

Not a pleasant weekend room. The view was fine, the bed was soft (actually too soft for our taste but not big deal). I could over look the fact that our room had a big low spot in the middle of it. I'm not accustomed to having to pay for parking, but to have to pay for Valet parking daily when I can drive myself was and unnecessary added tab. On business trips I have stayed at many different hotels, but this is the first time having to pay for internet access in 20+ years. they wanted More than $15 for 24 hour use. Free wi-fi was available in the lobby, but I did not want to stay in the lobby. The bath tub did not drain good while I showered and would not hold water when my wife was trying to draw a bath. Fresh wash rags were not placed in the room when house keeping did their thing. I have no idea why an upscale hotel thinks because they charge more for location and a fancy name, it is reasonable that it means the public will be happy paying extra for in room movies. The guitarist in the lobby Saturday even was very enjoyable. Very nice Spanish guitar style

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the Alamo early. Easier to see and to feel the spirit of sacarafice

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita Falls, Texas
Dec 10, 2009

Let Down

First we were given the wrong room -a one bed insted of a 2 bed. We only had a day there and it took over a half hour for the change and only then because we called a second time. We then asked for a roll-away which wasn to be brought right up. An hour laster they called and said they could not give us one. For the money we paid it was a great disappointment!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matthew, Shopper Extraordinaire
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 5, 2009

"Where's the beef?"

Would of loved something thrown in other than the location...I was surprised they didn't charge for the soap. The front staff was a pleasure, the rest however was in dire need of customer service training. Any time we had made a request for anything we were detoured or ignored and I'm not asking for 5 star service but 4 would of been nice. I think I'll take the cheaper route next time and sacrifice aesthetics for substance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Anywhere away from the river-walk isn't a tourist trap and if u look u can find quality 24 hour cuisine.

Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy :(
Business
Belgium
Jul 7, 2011

AUSA Getaway

The bed and shower were great but everything else was bad for what you pay for the room. No dvd player, no fridge, no free wifi, you had to pay ALOT for parking. Was very unhappy :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are alot of great places to eat around.

Back to menu Return to top