$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

3 stars
123 Hoefgen, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
47 reviews
A Great Place to Relax

The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom fixtures could have been a bit cleaner,... See full review

  • Grandmother Get Away
  • Jun 16, 2014
Excellent hotel

Location was good , room was great ,clean and big. The staff was great and girl in the front desk... See full review

  • Jc mpreno
  • Jun 24, 2013
Convenient location in downtown San Antonio, across from Sunset Station
The Staybridge Suites Downtown at Sunset Station is close to the Alamodome and within walking distance of many attractions. It is also directly across the street from San Antonio's Sunset Station. A complimentary happy hour is served Tuesday through Thursday, and the free breakfast buffet provides hot and cold breakfast items. All suites offer full kitchens with stove and refrigerator. Free high-speed wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. The business center and fitness center are open 24 hours. An outdoor pool is open seasonally.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to the Alamodome and across the street from Sunset Station
  • Walking distance to major attractions
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
  • Complimentary daily breakfast buffet, and beverages and hors d'oeuvre served in the great room Tuesday through Thursday.
  • Outdoor pool open seasonally
Rooms

Suites have a TV, CD and DVD players, and an expanded cable lineup with in-room movies. Suites also have full kitchens with refrigerator and ice makers, plates, silverware, pots and pans, dishwasher, stove, microwave oven and toaster.

Features

An Enterprise Rent-A-Car desk is on-site. Every morning a breakfast buffet with hot and cold items is free for Staybridge Suites Downtown at Sunset Station guests. Mingle with staff and other guests at the complimentary happy hour with drinks and light appetizers, served in the great room every Tuesday through Thursday. A 24-hour business center has a computer workstation with Internet and printer capabilities. Also open 24 hours is the fitness center, which comes equipped with two treadmills, one elliptical machine, dumbbells and a universal machine. High-speed Internet is complimentary throughout the hotel. An outdoor pool is open seasonally. Guest laundry machines are on-site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.8 mi./12.6 km)
  • Sunset Station VIA Train (across the street)
  • Amtrak Station (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.9 mi./1.4 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamodome (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • The Tower of the Americas (0.2 mi./0.4 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.5 mi./0.7 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • River Walk (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Meeting rooms with 10,000 square feet, booth options and audio/visual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Pets up to 80 pounds are welcome with their owners, for $15 the first night and $10 each additional night (limit $150)
  • There may be a fee for parking; contact hotel for details

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4202 -98.4788
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Alamodome: 0.2 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.2 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.7 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.6 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.8 mi

Dining

Aldaco Mexican Cuisine
Mexican Cuisine restaurant and bar. Open Monday through Friday for lunch and dessert. Special events and catering available.
Casa Rio
Mexican Cuisine A Taste of History on the River. Casa Rio offers lunch, dinner and cocktail boat service.
Spaghetti Warehouse
The Spaghetti Warehouse combines Old World Italian Traditions with American abundance in hearty, made from scratch dishes.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe has something for everyone! The menu includes a variety of specialty items from seafood, beef and chicken to pastas and pizza. Younger guests can enjoy intems from the kids' menu.
Landrys Seafood Resturant and Bar
Exceptional seafood and Steaks. Inviting atmosphere located on the riverwalk. It is a winning combination for Landrys Seafood House, which offers guests a true taste of Gulf Coast tradition. Landrys offers Happy Hour from 4pm untill 7pm 7 days a week exc

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 47
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Courtball
Saint Paul, MN
Dec 15, 2010

Best Value in San Antonio

Wonderful, courteous, helpful staff from the front desk to the kitchen, especially those serving the hot/cold breakfast buffet and the evening happy hour beer and wine. We stayed 4 nights, loved our clean, new suite with kitchen. About a 10 minute walk to the Riverwalk, a good way to exercise after eating so much. Wonderful weather to explore the sites of San Antonio, 65-75 degrees in December! We were also able to purchase all-day bus passes at the front desk and saw the city this way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase All Day bus pass for $4. Catch the Yellow route 1/2 block away. Connections to all buses along the riverwalk downtown. Bus schedules available at the visitor information center.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Meadow, NY
Oct 20, 2010

Good Price

Everything was good and what I expected except half of the laundry machines were not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phila. PA.
Jun 10, 2010

A very nice hotel

The hotel is in a good location and was very nice, the suites were clean and comfortable, the staff was very polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was not the best but it was adequate. The Riverwalk and Mall is a short walk from the hotel. The parking can be an issue, as the parking area at the hotel is very small and additional parking is about two blocks away. We had a great time in San Antonio, and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in the mood for great Texas B.B.Q., then you have to try RUDY'S, from downtown San Antonio, take Rt 35 north, for about 15 miles and Rudy's is on the right. Be sure to try the brisket.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruben and Meli De La Paz!
Dallas, TX
Jun 10, 2010

Quick Trip.. New Couple

Hotel staff was beyond great! Very friendly! We arrived earlier than expected and the staff was able to find a room for us before the check-in time. The rooms are excellent, no funny odors or noisy and very clean. Only thing that was not convienent was the parking which was a small walk but the overall hotel stay made up for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Have cash a lot of parking lots do not take debit/credit cards.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Achilles Last Stand
Dallas, TX
Apr 26, 2010

Very Friendly

My wife and I stayed at the Staybridge Suites during Fiesta for the weekend. After looking at all the hotels around the Riverwalk, we found that this one had the best deal. I think it's cheaper than most because it's right on the other side of the highway from the Riverwalk. That didn't matter because it was only a 5 minute walk to the mall. If you needed to go to the Market Square, there was a bus/trolley stop right across the street which was convenient. The hotel staff was VERY friendly. I don't remember her name but she helped us out a lot and told us about all the things going on. The only thing I didn't like was the eggs at the free breakfast, but it's free and they had a lot of other good food anyways. Over all I had a very good experience and when we come next year, we will probably book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Mar 25, 2010

Nice place to stay

There wasn't much not to like about this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and had a great view of downtown San Antonio, the breakfast was good, and the hotel was clean. All this for a price lower than hotels near by. You can walk to the Riverwalk if you want (it is about a mile away to the west) or ride the "yellow" trolley that stops across the street for $1.10 per person. If I were to complain about anything it would have to be the parking. Their lot has ample parking but it is about 2 blocks away so you want to get all your luggage up to your room before parking the car. It is a great place to stay. In fact, we have already booked a second stay there later this summer when we have to return to San Antonio again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexican food restaurant right across the street to the east has excellent food at a reasonable price. Try it at least once.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
old f**t
san antonio texas
Mar 18, 2010

great facility and location

This trip was very relaxing and full city very well maintained making the time very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yuma, Az
Dec 6, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Really enjoyed the hotel; the weather wasn't good so we had to stand out in the cold waiting for the trolley; would have been nice to have more restaurants close by; the staff was so friendly; the breakfasts were very good as was the Tuesday thru Thursday feeds. The DVD's were a great idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The trolleys were very reasonable and came by often. It would have been a long walk to the Riverwalk.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Oct 15, 2009

Pleasantly pleased!

I was pleasantly pleased with this hotel and the quality of the room and at the price I got it for made it even better. I arrived around noon on Friday, just to check out the location of the hotel, and by chance I decided to ask if the room was available to check into. Even though check-in is not until 3pm and it was a holiday day weekend, I was surprised when the desk clerk told me yes. I went up to the room to find a very clean, spacious room. To make things even better, when I initially made the reservation, a smoking room is automatically reserved and even though you put your preference in the comment box there's no guarantee. Once again, the service desk made things right and gave me a non-smoking room. As for the room, the king size bed was very comfortable, the kitchenette was stocked with all the cooking dishes and utensils if you want to cook, there's a dishwasher, full sized refrigerator, and microwave. The complimentary breakfast was stocked with a variety of muffins, breads, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, juices and coffees. I really liked that the hotel has a complimentary laundry room for guest w/3 washers and 3 dryers. It's nice to not have to travel home with dirty laundry. There is also a movie and book library, all you have to do is give the front desk your room number. The parking arrangement is a plus. There are a few parking stalls near the entrance of the hotel as well as a parking lot less than 1/2 block away which saves a lot of money on valet fees. All the other hotels in the area charge a fee for parking so not having to pay for parking was a definite plus! This hotel is located on the other side of interstate from the Riverwalk, but it is within walking distance aprox. 10 mins. There are sidewalks and crosswalks so it's completely safe as a pedestrian. Another reviewer complained about the train, but my husband and I sat in the bed one evening and morning and listened for the trains and it was audible if you were listening for it and our room was on the same side of the tracks! I did not hear train whistles or horns. I would not consider the location train tracks a negative. I stayed in this hotel for 3 days and I spent a lot of time in the room because it rained all weekend. The hotel was very nice from the entrance all the way into the room. I could not have asked for better service or a cleaner room and the total cost of the room was a great deal. I have travelled a lot and have paid double the price at other hotels for what I got with Staybridge Suites. If there is a downside, it would be that the hotel does not have a jacuzzi, but that was not a deal breaker. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here the next time I am in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spdrrdr
Alvin, Texas
Aug 10, 2009

Great Location for the price

We enjoyed our stay at Staybridge. Our room was a nice size and the bed was fantastically comfy. The kitchenette was very small, the two burner electric range would not have worked for us had we traveled with our son. However, the fridge had an ice maker and came in handy. We have stayed in other hotels and never seem to get what is shown in photos. So we were surprised to see a sofa in our room, which makes watching t.v. more comfortable. Breakfast was good but not always hot. A good solution is to carry your plates up to your room and heat them in the microwave. We did this the second day...eating on the sofa and using the coffee table to eat on. Hey, it's what a lot of us do at home anyway. Hot breakfast included: Scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, toasters for bagels & bread. Muffins, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt & fresh fruit were also available. Tues-Thurs. evenings there are refreshments available and again are not piping hot. Tacos & hotdogs were served the two nights we were there. It was a good snack to have before heading out for the evening. Plus you get to mingle with other people. All in all a good bargain for meals. Ask the staff for directions to any place and they will even mark it on a provided map for you. Same goes for bus routes. Get an all day bus pass for $4. The yellow route is basically the travelers route. The bus picks up and drops off across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Japanese Tea Gardens in Brakenridge Park! Giant Koi fish, a waterfall, turtles. It is so beautiful. Take plenty of water or grab a snack there. If you have children this is located down the street from the zoo and across the street from a park. Great place for families to hang out on a budget, no admission fee for the garden. Also the Spaghetti Warehouse is just down the road from the hotel and has great budget friendly lunch menu.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search