$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

3 stars
123 Hoefgen, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Very good

The hotel was fabulous because this stadium against Alamodomo . I highly recommend this and nearly.... See full review

  • Guillermin
  • Oct 14, 2014
A Great Place to Relax

The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom fixtures could have been a bit cleaner,... See full review

  • Grandmother Get Away
  • Jun 16, 2014
Convenient location in downtown San Antonio, across from Sunset Station
The Staybridge Suites Downtown at Sunset Station is close to the Alamodome and within walking distance of many attractions. It is also directly across the street from San Antonio's Sunset Station. A complimentary happy hour is served Tuesday through Thursday, and the free breakfast buffet provides hot and cold breakfast items. All suites offer full kitchens with stove and refrigerator. Free high-speed wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. The business center and fitness center are open 24 hours. An outdoor pool is open seasonally.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to the Alamodome and across the street from Sunset Station
  • Walking distance to major attractions
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
  • Complimentary daily breakfast buffet, and beverages and hors d'oeuvre served in the great room Tuesday through Thursday.
  • Outdoor pool open seasonally
Rooms

Suites have a TV, CD and DVD players, and an expanded cable lineup with in-room movies. Suites also have full kitchens with refrigerator and ice makers, plates, silverware, pots and pans, dishwasher, stove, microwave oven and toaster.

Features

An Enterprise Rent-A-Car desk is on-site. Every morning a breakfast buffet with hot and cold items is free for Staybridge Suites Downtown at Sunset Station guests. Mingle with staff and other guests at the complimentary happy hour with drinks and light appetizers, served in the great room every Tuesday through Thursday. A 24-hour business center has a computer workstation with Internet and printer capabilities. Also open 24 hours is the fitness center, which comes equipped with two treadmills, one elliptical machine, dumbbells and a universal machine. High-speed Internet is complimentary throughout the hotel. An outdoor pool is open seasonally. Guest laundry machines are on-site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.8 mi./12.6 km)
  • Sunset Station VIA Train (across the street)
  • Amtrak Station (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (0.9 mi./1.4 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamodome (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • The Tower of the Americas (0.2 mi./0.4 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.5 mi./0.7 km)
  • The Alamo (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • River Walk (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Meeting rooms with 10,000 square feet, booth options and audio/visual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Pets up to 80 pounds are welcome with their owners, for $15 the first night and $10 each additional night (limit $150)
  • There may be a fee for parking; contact hotel for details

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4202 -98.4788
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Alamodome: 0.2 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.2 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 1.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.4 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.7 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.6 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.7 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.6 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.8 mi

Dining

Aldaco Mexican Cuisine
Mexican Cuisine restaurant and bar. Open Monday through Friday for lunch and dessert. Special events and catering available.
Casa Rio
Mexican Cuisine A Taste of History on the River. Casa Rio offers lunch, dinner and cocktail boat service.
Spaghetti Warehouse
The Spaghetti Warehouse combines Old World Italian Traditions with American abundance in hearty, made from scratch dishes.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe has something for everyone! The menu includes a variety of specialty items from seafood, beef and chicken to pastas and pizza. Younger guests can enjoy intems from the kids' menu.
Landrys Seafood Resturant and Bar
Exceptional seafood and Steaks. Inviting atmosphere located on the riverwalk. It is a winning combination for Landrys Seafood House, which offers guests a true taste of Gulf Coast tradition. Landrys offers Happy Hour from 4pm untill 7pm 7 days a week exc

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coastie Family
Business
Staten Island, NY
Oct 25, 2009

A Great Stay!

The rooms were spacious and clean. Since the weather didn't cooperate while we were there, our kids loved the complimentary DVD checkout at the front desk. The trolley picks you up right across the street and takes you anywhere you want to go. You can buy day passes at the front desk for a discount. If you have trouble walking, you might want to stay closer, but we found the 3 block walk to the riverwalk to be very nice. However, we did not care for Aldaco's. Too expensive and not as good as the other restaurants in town. But, plenty of others nearby to choose from. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Our family loves to walk and the 3 - 6 blocks to get to riverwalk, rivercenter mall and alamo area were not bad. However, if you have trouble walking, you can take the trolley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Oct 15, 2009

Pleasantly pleased!

I was pleasantly pleased with this hotel and the quality of the room and at the price I got it for made it even better. I arrived around noon on Friday, just to check out the location of the hotel, and by chance I decided to ask if the room was available to check into. Even though check-in is not until 3pm and it was a holiday day weekend, I was surprised when the desk clerk told me yes. I went up to the room to find a very clean, spacious room. To make things even better, when I initially made the reservation, a smoking room is automatically reserved and even though you put your preference in the comment box there's no guarantee. Once again, the service desk made things right and gave me a non-smoking room. As for the room, the king size bed was very comfortable, the kitchenette was stocked with all the cooking dishes and utensils if you want to cook, there's a dishwasher, full sized refrigerator, and microwave. The complimentary breakfast was stocked with a variety of muffins, breads, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, juices and coffees. I really liked that the hotel has a complimentary laundry room for guest w/3 washers and 3 dryers. It's nice to not have to travel home with dirty laundry. There is also a movie and book library, all you have to do is give the front desk your room number. The parking arrangement is a plus. There are a few parking stalls near the entrance of the hotel as well as a parking lot less than 1/2 block away which saves a lot of money on valet fees. All the other hotels in the area charge a fee for parking so not having to pay for parking was a definite plus! This hotel is located on the other side of interstate from the Riverwalk, but it is within walking distance aprox. 10 mins. There are sidewalks and crosswalks so it's completely safe as a pedestrian. Another reviewer complained about the train, but my husband and I sat in the bed one evening and morning and listened for the trains and it was audible if you were listening for it and our room was on the same side of the tracks! I did not hear train whistles or horns. I would not consider the location train tracks a negative. I stayed in this hotel for 3 days and I spent a lot of time in the room because it rained all weekend. The hotel was very nice from the entrance all the way into the room. I could not have asked for better service or a cleaner room and the total cost of the room was a great deal. I have travelled a lot and have paid double the price at other hotels for what I got with Staybridge Suites. If there is a downside, it would be that the hotel does not have a jacuzzi, but that was not a deal breaker. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here the next time I am in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spdrrdr
Business
Alvin, Texas
Aug 10, 2009

Great Location for the price

We enjoyed our stay at Staybridge. Our room was a nice size and the bed was fantastically comfy. The kitchenette was very small, the two burner electric range would not have worked for us had we traveled with our son. However, the fridge had an ice maker and came in handy. We have stayed in other hotels and never seem to get what is shown in photos. So we were surprised to see a sofa in our room, which makes watching t.v. more comfortable. Breakfast was good but not always hot. A good solution is to carry your plates up to your room and heat them in the microwave. We did this the second day...eating on the sofa and using the coffee table to eat on. Hey, it's what a lot of us do at home anyway. Hot breakfast included: Scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, toasters for bagels & bread. Muffins, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt & fresh fruit were also available. Tues-Thurs. evenings there are refreshments available and again are not piping hot. Tacos & hotdogs were served the two nights we were there. It was a good snack to have before heading out for the evening. Plus you get to mingle with other people. All in all a good bargain for meals. Ask the staff for directions to any place and they will even mark it on a provided map for you. Same goes for bus routes. Get an all day bus pass for $4. The yellow route is basically the travelers route. The bus picks up and drops off across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Japanese Tea Gardens in Brakenridge Park! Giant Koi fish, a waterfall, turtles. It is so beautiful. Take plenty of water or grab a snack there. If you have children this is located down the street from the zoo and across the street from a park. Great place for families to hang out on a budget, no admission fee for the garden. Also the Spaghetti Warehouse is just down the road from the hotel and has great budget friendly lunch menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessea
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Aug 2, 2009

Great location, price and large suites.

The location was walking distance to Alamodome and Riverwalk. Could not have been better for our trip. Never had to use car. Hotel was fantastic. Large suites with two digital flat screen tvs. Living room, kitchen, dining, and bedroom. 400 sq ft easy. We had a great stay. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Alamodome, Riverwalk, Mall shopping all in short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jun 22, 2009

GREATEST HOTEL EVER!!

This was the best hotel stay and it was a great location. The river walk was only a block away it's walking distance. It saved on gas and money because your car stays parked at the hotel and you dont have to pay for parking at the river walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
May 26, 2009

Good location

Close to Riverwalk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit Fredricksburg

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bastrop,TX
May 10, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

I loved the location easy to get to my business meetings I loved the staffs friendlyness and the free breakfast with business trips no time to go to look for breakfast somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OLIVE BRANCH MS
Apr 22, 2009

ANN. TRIP

VERY NICE HOTEL MEET ALL OUR EXPECTION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

THIS HOTEL WAS IN WALKING DISTANCE OF THE RIVER WALK & DOWN TOWN ATTRACATION

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sujey
Business
guadalajara jalisco mexico
Apr 22, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

so sorry Im liter spik inglish im very jappy in the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMC & LAC
Business
Sterling Heights, MI
Apr 22, 2009

Perfectly wonderful accomodations

Everything was perfect except for the parking. I was a little uneasy having to walk from the parking lot to the hotel, but there was a guard onsite to make me & my daughter feel safer. The staff was very helpful and the service was prompt. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Very close to the Riverwalk and great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Prickly Pear Margaritas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top