$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

3 stars
View map of 123 Hoefgen, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Tx
Apr 25, 2010

Great Fiesta Trip!

We went for Fiesta, and had a great time! The hotel was conveniently located to all the events we wanted to attend. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 25, 2010

Nice place to stay

There wasn't much not to like about this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and had a great view of downtown San Antonio, the breakfast was good, and the hotel was clean. All this for a price lower than hotels near by. You can walk to the Riverwalk if you want (it is about a mile away to the west) or ride the "yellow" trolley that stops across the street for $1.10 per person. If I were to complain about anything it would have to be the parking. Their lot has ample parking but it is about 2 blocks away so you want to get all your luggage up to your room before parking the car. It is a great place to stay. In fact, we have already booked a second stay there later this summer when we have to return to San Antonio again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexican food restaurant right across the street to the east has excellent food at a reasonable price. Try it at least once.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
old f**t
Business
san antonio texas
Mar 18, 2010

great facility and location

This trip was very relaxing and full city very well maintained making the time very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
college station,tx
Mar 17, 2010

Not a bad place to stay

Visited Sea World. Made a brief trip to the Riverwalk. The guided river boat was very good. Also the Imax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzy Frugal Clean Freak
Business
League City Texas
Jan 19, 2010

Fun Family weekend away from home

We went down to the River walk and Mall and all was just a short walk there. If you go see a IMAX movie in the mall you can park for 3 hrs free if you let them validate your ticket at the movies, that's a deal. There were only 6 parking spots right outside the hotel if you could not park there it was a 2 block hike to the car in another lot kinda scary..Ladies make sure you are not alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall, Alamo, Ripley's (but the price to get in 19.00ea. way over priced for any family to afford) River Walk. All were close to Holel.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma, Az
Dec 6, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Really enjoyed the hotel; the weather wasn't good so we had to stand out in the cold waiting for the trolley; would have been nice to have more restaurants close by; the staff was so friendly; the breakfasts were very good as was the Tuesday thru Thursday feeds. The DVD's were a great idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The trolleys were very reasonable and came by often. It would have been a long walk to the Riverwalk.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sharon, CT
Nov 10, 2009

A great place to stay

I stayed here while attending a conference. The room and hotel were very clean. The room was large, great wi-fi service (unlike other hotels in the area) and the breakfast was phenomenal. The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly. The business center was a great resource if I needed anything. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place as it was a better stay than others I knew who also stayed in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Lulu's for the cinnamon rolls and chicken fried steak. Well worth the short taxi ride there.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coastie Family
Business
Staten Island, NY
Oct 25, 2009

A Great Stay!

The rooms were spacious and clean. Since the weather didn't cooperate while we were there, our kids loved the complimentary DVD checkout at the front desk. The trolley picks you up right across the street and takes you anywhere you want to go. You can buy day passes at the front desk for a discount. If you have trouble walking, you might want to stay closer, but we found the 3 block walk to the riverwalk to be very nice. However, we did not care for Aldaco's. Too expensive and not as good as the other restaurants in town. But, plenty of others nearby to choose from. Would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Our family loves to walk and the 3 - 6 blocks to get to riverwalk, rivercenter mall and alamo area were not bad. However, if you have trouble walking, you can take the trolley.

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Oct 15, 2009

Pleasantly pleased!

I was pleasantly pleased with this hotel and the quality of the room and at the price I got it for made it even better. I arrived around noon on Friday, just to check out the location of the hotel, and by chance I decided to ask if the room was available to check into. Even though check-in is not until 3pm and it was a holiday day weekend, I was surprised when the desk clerk told me yes. I went up to the room to find a very clean, spacious room. To make things even better, when I initially made the reservation, a smoking room is automatically reserved and even though you put your preference in the comment box there's no guarantee. Once again, the service desk made things right and gave me a non-smoking room. As for the room, the king size bed was very comfortable, the kitchenette was stocked with all the cooking dishes and utensils if you want to cook, there's a dishwasher, full sized refrigerator, and microwave. The complimentary breakfast was stocked with a variety of muffins, breads, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, juices and coffees. I really liked that the hotel has a complimentary laundry room for guest w/3 washers and 3 dryers. It's nice to not have to travel home with dirty laundry. There is also a movie and book library, all you have to do is give the front desk your room number. The parking arrangement is a plus. There are a few parking stalls near the entrance of the hotel as well as a parking lot less than 1/2 block away which saves a lot of money on valet fees. All the other hotels in the area charge a fee for parking so not having to pay for parking was a definite plus! This hotel is located on the other side of interstate from the Riverwalk, but it is within walking distance aprox. 10 mins. There are sidewalks and crosswalks so it's completely safe as a pedestrian. Another reviewer complained about the train, but my husband and I sat in the bed one evening and morning and listened for the trains and it was audible if you were listening for it and our room was on the same side of the tracks! I did not hear train whistles or horns. I would not consider the location train tracks a negative. I stayed in this hotel for 3 days and I spent a lot of time in the room because it rained all weekend. The hotel was very nice from the entrance all the way into the room. I could not have asked for better service or a cleaner room and the total cost of the room was a great deal. I have travelled a lot and have paid double the price at other hotels for what I got with Staybridge Suites. If there is a downside, it would be that the hotel does not have a jacuzzi, but that was not a deal breaker. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here the next time I am in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Staybridge Suites SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spdrrdr
Business
Alvin, Texas
Aug 10, 2009

Great Location for the price

We enjoyed our stay at Staybridge. Our room was a nice size and the bed was fantastically comfy. The kitchenette was very small, the two burner electric range would not have worked for us had we traveled with our son. However, the fridge had an ice maker and came in handy. We have stayed in other hotels and never seem to get what is shown in photos. So we were surprised to see a sofa in our room, which makes watching t.v. more comfortable. Breakfast was good but not always hot. A good solution is to carry your plates up to your room and heat them in the microwave. We did this the second day...eating on the sofa and using the coffee table to eat on. Hey, it's what a lot of us do at home anyway. Hot breakfast included: Scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, toasters for bagels & bread. Muffins, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt & fresh fruit were also available. Tues-Thurs. evenings there are refreshments available and again are not piping hot. Tacos & hotdogs were served the two nights we were there. It was a good snack to have before heading out for the evening. Plus you get to mingle with other people. All in all a good bargain for meals. Ask the staff for directions to any place and they will even mark it on a provided map for you. Same goes for bus routes. Get an all day bus pass for $4. The yellow route is basically the travelers route. The bus picks up and drops off across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Japanese Tea Gardens in Brakenridge Park! Giant Koi fish, a waterfall, turtles. It is so beautiful. Take plenty of water or grab a snack there. If you have children this is located down the street from the zoo and across the street from a park. Great place for families to hang out on a budget, no admission fee for the garden. Also the Spaghetti Warehouse is just down the road from the hotel and has great budget friendly lunch menu.

Back to menu Return to top