$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
nice place to stay

Room was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. See full review

  • plantguy
  • Aug 17, 2014
Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit... See full review

  • DR Brent
  • May 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers entrees, sandwiches, cheeses, and cured meats. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.
Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 95
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
texsunshine
Business
Ft. Worth, TX
Jun 28, 2013

Girls concert weekend

Used this hotel for a weekend concert. Fairly close to the Riverwalk, (within walking distance). Unable to find a local spa or nail salon that wasn't booked for the day. Hotel was nice. Lots of extra expenses. Parking not free, no continental breakfast. We parked once, and walked the remainder of the time. Ended up paying $20 for the weekend in the self park area. There is a restaurant and bar on premises, with limited hours. No refrigerator in room, extra charge to get one. Staff OK, nothing notable there. Starbucks across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigmanny
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

fiesta 2012

Good location, overpriced, older rooms, no free breakfast, WiFi sucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen n Brian
Business
Austin, Texas, Vereinigte Staaten
Jan 16, 2012

good choice

good hotel, near to riverwalk and downtown minus: i got free wifi at starbucks and mcdonalds but not at a *** hotel - thats poor, very

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

mexican bar at the riverwalk "Barriba Cantina" perfect drinks, great staff, live music, great interior

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lizzyfur
Business
new jersey
Dec 7, 2011

Awesome and central

Price was great, great, central location. Went for a wedding and the hotel made a great venue for that as well. Restaurants and room service were affordable AND high quality. Cannot wait to go back with the fam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kidd
Business
Texas,US
Apr 24, 2011

The good,but small room

I just for my voacation with my friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The distance is very near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Tx
Jan 8, 2011

Great trip

I was skeptical because te reviews weren't great but we had a fantastic stay with very sweet staff members. Always there to help out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to see the river walk the first week of the year. They drain it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 30, 2010

Excellent Service

Easy to find location, in the center of all attractions. I was welcomed with a great smile since the minute I stepped in the doors. I was even upgraded to a bigger room than I had originally booked for the same price. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Minutes from the Alamo, the riverwalk and most of the downtown destinations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Aug 30, 2008

Very accesible

Sheraton Gunther was a good experience! Excellent location, walking distance to River Walk, restaurants. Hotel was very clean, their breakfast area could be better as well as pool area. Other than that Love it! I would defenately stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars, restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top