$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
100 reviews
Great Stay

One block from access to the famed RiverWalk, easy access to Alamo, Old Market and Breckinridge... See full review

  • Vicar from Texas
  • Jul 26, 2015
Conference in San Antonio

Hotel and staff met expectations. Historic hotel restored to modern expectations. See full review

  • Aaron A.
  • Jun 24, 2015
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Property features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Nearby attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Policies
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.2 / 5 258 reviews
★★★
$81
4.0 / 5 138 reviews
★★★
$69
3.6 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$179
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$75
3.6 / 5 228 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.5 / 5 314 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 133 reviews

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.
Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers farm-to-table contemporary American cuisine with a twist. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 100
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy L.P.
Family
Central Texas
Aug 7, 2014

Great stay!

Loved the history and nostalgia of the hotel! Large rooms and beautiful woodwork that cannot be found in newer hotels. Clean and nicely updated. Convenient to the Riverwalk, Market , and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom is proud
Family
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Mar 10, 2014

Sheraton San Antonio

The location was perfect for the price. The staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E.Jack
Family
CHICAGO
Feb 18, 2014

convinenance place

even old hotle, and privercy is not perfect but, staff is good and lacation is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jvcdad
Family
San Antonio
Oct 30, 2012

Great location, old building

Very nice staff, decor. Fast elevators. Pet friendly. Rooms were kind of noisy. We had to switch because we were right next to the air conditioning units. TV and remote didn't work very well. The location is great. You are right in the middle of downtown, 1 blk from the riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are sick of Mexican food for breakfast, try the hotel cafe, Barron's. It has a nice american style breakfast.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rcassidy
Family
berkshires, ma
Sep 17, 2012

very unhappy expierience

I came to texas to see my son graduate from the air force. I had purchased a hard rock cafe shirt for him for his birthday. seeing he was in boot camp and i missed it. shirt costing $36.00. It was taken from my room and the hotel didnt seem to concerned and said their staff wouldnt steel. I was only told they would reimburse me $30.00. I still havent recieved that or my $50.00 deposit yet. its been a week. totally unacceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
primus
Family
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Mar 21, 2012

Nice historic hotel

The Gunter is one of those historic hotels that gives you a special feeling since the moment you check in. Personally, I love the old pictures hanging in the lobby and the old telephone switchboard near the elevators is fabulous. Once you get pass the lobby, room was clean and comfty, but average. On the plus side, bed was great. On the downside bathroom is a little bit small and does not have windows or odor eliminator system. Restaurant was above average, with a good breakfast. Had a drink at the bar which maintains the same “historic” feeling as the lobby, but with most tables being too small for my taste. Crowd was your usual business travel, just want a drink; so nothing very exciting. Location is quite good. With easy access to local theaters and riverwalk. If you get a good rate, I believe the Gunter is a good deal for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Valet parking was around $30 dlls a day/night. Just walk across the street and get a $8 overnight ticket.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David52
Family
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Mar 3, 2012

Week in San Antonio

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Beds were comfortable. Carpets appear worn and stained in a couple places but not very noticeable at all. Bathroom very small with single basin but this is an old historic hotel so this is quite understandable. Restaurant was great!! Lobby is fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not need a rental car if you stay here because the downtown area has a fantastic, cheap and easily understood Streetcar system...$4 a day unlimited rides on three different colored lines (Red, Yellow and Blue) with easy to read map.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Brooklyn NY
May 22, 2011

NOT WORTH IT

We booked the hotel during a trip we made to San Antonio to plan our wedding. We were staying at the Sheraton to get an idea if we would reccommend the hotel to our guests for that weekend. I am an SPG preferred customer and made sure to book a room with my membership.We are from NY and are used to high prices for little in return. Sheraton Gunter was dirty, ( no one had wiped the mirror, towels were spotted, and floors hadn't been vacumed.) Houskeeping barely moved anything when cleaning so our garbage- even if set in the garbage can, was never taken out. Beds were just thrown together- never completely made. They have old mattresses that squeek and dip in the middle. The cafe downstairs serves a cold and poor breakfast buffet equivalent to airline or hospital food. And parking in the garage is very expensive at $22 per day. The pool is tiny and filthy. My parents were put up in a similar room that had NO closet. In fact, it was 3 feet wide and only 6 inches deep!! How do you hang anything in there?! And when they borrowed a luggage cart from the bellman to hang their clothing, they were threatened and yelled at for "stealing it." How dare them!The hotel is older and we were looking forward to appreciating its charm, but with poor food, untidy rooms, and average location- this hotel is NOT worth it's price. Even on [...]. I highly reccommend the Valencia, Dury Inn, or even the Omni. They are closer to the Riverwalk and well worth their price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 27, 2011

A great Historical Location

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a upgrade on the 12th floor with a concerige. The breakfast and horderves were plentiful and tasty. The kids had fun in the pool. We got great ideas where to eat at the riverwalk. Just a great overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Unknown
Mar 18, 2011

Nice place!

Nice hotel. Service was great. Only thing that I saw was the carpet in my room needed cleaned that would have made the room appear much nicer. And bathroom towel fixture needed fixed it was detached from the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top