$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
100 reviews
Great Stay

One block from access to the famed RiverWalk, easy access to Alamo, Old Market and Breckinridge... See full review

  • Vicar from Texas
  • Jul 26, 2015
Conference in San Antonio

Hotel and staff met expectations. Historic hotel restored to modern expectations. See full review

  • Aaron A.
  • Jun 24, 2015
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Property features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Nearby attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Policies
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.2 / 5 258 reviews
★★★
$81
4.0 / 5 138 reviews
★★★
$69
3.6 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$179
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$75
3.6 / 5 228 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.5 / 5 314 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 133 reviews

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.
Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers farm-to-table contemporary American cuisine with a twist. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 100
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalina
Couples
Shawnee, OK
Nov 27, 2011

Big Hotel

Clean, Luxery, very animal friendly, very fun. I never stayed in a hotel that big. Staff was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out luggage, and parking, and doggie potty situation, before making reservations.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TXredkat
Couples
Katy, TX
Feb 15, 2012

Nice Valentine's Getaway

Historical elegant hotel and exceptional staff! The hotel staff anticipated every need and answered questions in detail, including local history. Everywhere you looked were reminders of the famous patrons that have graced The Gunter Sheraton. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is located close to the River Walk. We look forward to visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Palm - excellent!

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nice and Relaxed Mama
Couples
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio this weekend. Our stay was amazing! The staff was super helpful and always courteous, the room was beautiful, and the location of the hotel was perfect. The River Walk and Alamodome are just a short walk along with tons of other things. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Very elegant for the price.

The Sheraton Gunter was a very classy yet simple and friendly hotel in a ideal area close to the Riverwalk, and many other Downtown spots of entertainment. The bedding was first rate, and the room was very comfortable. There is a very nice bar that was very entertaaining. Although we did not eat in the resturant the menu looked very appetizing. Parking was provided by the hotel, however if you wanted to save a little money, there was ample parking just right across the street. I would stay in this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast in the bakery.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
California
Jul 6, 2011

Sheraton Gunter Hotel AWESOME review

We were in San Antonio for a concert. The hotel was just fine. The ONLY complain I would have is that guests are charged for Parking. Come now can't that just be built into the cost of staying there? The charge is excessive, expecially when we could park across the street for a quarter of the cost that it does in the hotel parking. This is just not right. For the most part staying in a hotel is just for sleeping, prices are high enough, a hotel chain the size of sheraton can't comp for the parking? Really?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gunter is close to EVERYTHING touristy; like the Riverwalk, one of the malls and lots of restaurants,and theatres.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robbie & Roxie
Couples
Thida, Ar. USA
Sep 5, 2010

A wonderful place!!

First I would like to say that my wife and I are from the VERY rural, deep South. Hospitality and politeness are practically part of our DNA. We travel a lot and have grown used to the rudness and indifference of "Big City" people. So we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Sheraton/Gunter hotel. From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were greeting warmly and treated as if we were old friends returning. (this was our first stay here) The staff was very helpful, answering all of our questions and even making calls for us when they didn't have the answer readily available. The hotel itself is very charming and seems to have an intense aura of history in every nook and cranny. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. You couldn't ask for a better location in San Antonio. We were within walking distance of all of the sights we had planned on seeing. The only, ONLY negative thing about our stay here was the fact that we had to leave!! But we left feeling very pampered, and sure a return visit is in our future!! Thank you to the staff and management of the Sheraton/Gunter for the great weekend!! sincerely, Robbie and Roxie Ashmore Thida, Ar. USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pleasanton, tx
Mar 19, 2011

Nice couples retreat

Staff from arrival to departure were exceptional. Room was comfortable and the cleanliness a breath of fresh air. We were very satisfied with the whole experiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 16, 2011

Winter vacation...special event

My wife and I had a great time in San Antonio and the Gunter Hotel. The room and was clean and the hotel personnel were very nice and helpful. When we asked for suggestions where to eat or go, the establishments were first class. Our stay at the Gunter Hotel was a special visit and we've talked about our trip with friends and the special hotel we stayed at in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus fares were $1.10 vs the $10 to $15 cab rides that would have cost us to get around. We were in town for the All-American High School US Army sponsored football game at the Alamodome on January 8th, and we would go up to the Alamo football stadium at Trinity Univ.to watch the All-American high school marching band practice. This a was special because my daughter was chosen to be in the band.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Feb 1, 2008

Cool atmosphere, great location

This is a really cool old hotel that has been updated with all the modern needs. We stayed on the club floor, which was a great idea since breakfast was included each morning. The location is close to everything you want in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a cheaper to park in the garage across the street if you want to save about 10.00 a day.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, TX
Apr 22, 2007

Great Weekend Getaway

Great Location within walking distance of River Walk and Market Square for dining and shopping. Hotel Staff welcoming and professional and offered options of local activities. Rooms a little small but clean and comfortable. Valet parking only. There is a city parking garage across the street that offers a less expensive option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top