$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
108 reviews
Conference in San Antonio

Hotel and staff met expectations. Historic hotel restored to modern expectations. See full review

  • Aaron A.
  • Jun 24, 2015
Perfect spot

Hotel was great for night life after a spurs game. Very close to bars and dining See full review

  • Ryan B.
  • Apr 30, 2015
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Property features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Nearby attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Policies
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.
Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers farm-to-table contemporary American cuisine with a twist. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 108
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LM320
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Sheraton Gunther

The only reason I dinged it on cleanliness is not because the staff didn't clean the room beautifully but because the carpet was stained. But the staff are really so incredibly accommodating--it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Kentucky.
Mar 29, 2010

Very Good

I was ttending a conference. I was able to relax. Felt as if i was in a second home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The lounge on the third floor was great. I enjoyed the continental breakfast and the late afternoon soiree.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron A.
Business
Champaign
Jun 24, 2015

Conference in San Antonio

Hotel and staff met expectations. Historic hotel restored to modern expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Myrtle108
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 17, 2014

Historic Comfort and Convenience

As a frequent visitor to San Antonio, I've often wanted to stay at the Gunter, but my plans took me elsewhere. This time it was the perfect choice, just a block or two from the River Walk and in the heart of downtown. The lobby was beautiful, and the lobby bar, McLeod's, served a tasty and very reasonably priced omelet, a good option on a Lenten Friday. My room was nicely appointed with very comfortable bedding. My only complaint was the thermostat -- when I raised the temperature, I got cold air! Fortunately the bed was so inviting, I just hopped in and went to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out McLeod's bar for tasty and very reasonably priced fare.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DR Brent
Business
Dallas, TX
May 4, 2014

Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit especially for wine enthusiasts. Centrally located also. Only complaint...the hotel is old so the bathrooms are TINY and the old plumbing places the shower head about 5' high. Otherwise cool spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorgeman
Business
Connecticut
Feb 26, 2012

Business trip

Great location, very comfortable room, service at bar excellent, and nice breakfast affair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

near everything downtown

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exployer01
Business
Redding Calif.
Mar 14, 2012

Convention center conference

Pleasant walk partly along the Riverwalk to get to the Convention Center. 4 short blocks to the Alamo. Beautiful old style lobby, nice staff and exercise equipment. Riverwalk is about a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Trolley rides are only $1.10 for seeing most of the downtown sites. The trolley stops just outside the hotel entrance.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buck Snort
Business
Houston TX
Jun 12, 2009

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

There on business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Riverwalk, but away from noise.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Midwest
Apr 24, 2011

This place is great!

I was in town for a conference, and the people here were fantastic. Every day, they locked up my laptop with no hassle. Their tech person came right up to my room when I had a hard time getting my internet connected. The concierge was kind. Everyone was professional and made me feel like they were happy to help. The hotel itself has a very distinct look, and they preserve its historical charm. For music fans, you might be interested to know that Robert Johnson recorded a number of big albums right there in one of the hotel rooms. It's my understanding that this hotel was welcoming to Black and Mexican patrons in the early 20th century, and this is where he made some of his music. Pretty cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For good sushi, you can walk to Sushi Zushi in about 7 minutes.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Mar 28, 2010

great style, great downtown

the location is great. downtown san antonio was a terrific surprise. the riverwalk is a great tourist area. all the downtown buildings are interesting. beautiful area. alamo and riverwalk and mall/market are within walking distance of this hotel. the hotel staff was okay, not great. the elevators were remarkably fast. conference rooms aren't particularly soundproof, but the regular hotel rooms are. beautiful, historic lobby and facade. great stay if you can get a good price. service in the hotel bakery is terrible, but there's a good, cheap coffee shop breakfast place (sip) right across the street, so that's not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are about a zillion great, inexpensive restaurants on the riverwalk, so don't eat at any overpriced chains.

Back to menu Return to top