$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
nice place to stay

Room was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. See full review

  • plantguy
  • Aug 17, 2014
Good Spot

I went to SA for a NBA Playoff game. Great location and great food. Bar in the lobby is also a hit... See full review

  • DR Brent
  • May 4, 2014
Turn-of-the-century charm with all modern amenities near River Walk
The Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio has equal parts great location, old-world charm and all modern amenities. The hotel was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2007. The on-site bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats. Barron's, the in-house café, serves decadent breakfast items. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic, or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also hosts a happy hour. This hotel has a AAA 4 Diamond rating. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center is available for guests.
Highlights
  • Walking distance of the major attractions
  • 13 conference rooms and one Grand Ballroom
  • 1920s-era barber shop
  • Heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • On-site restaurant and pub
  • Bakery serves fresh-baked goods and chocolate covered strawberries
Rooms

Rooms at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio are sleek and modern, decorated in hues of blonde and blue with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper pillow-top bed, a work desk and leather club chair. Room service and laundry are available 24 hours a day. Club level rooms and suites, including a presidential suite, are available on request. All rooms are nonsmoking and feature mini coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and plush bathrobes.

Features

An old-school barber shop is preserved in 1920s style, right down to the chairs. A heated outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center are available. The Sheraton Gunter Bakery offers cookies and other in-demand treats, including chocolate-covered strawberries. Barron's is the in-house café, which serves decadent breakfast items like eggs Benedict and an indulgent lunch buffet. Guests meet at Barron's before a show at the Majestic or at the hotel bar, McLeod's Pub, which also serves an appetizer-laden happy hour Monday through Friday. In 2007, the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio was officially added to the National Register of Historic Places. A Grand Ballroom 13 conference rooms are available for functions.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
Attractions
  • Majestic Theater (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • HemisFair Park (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • The Alamo (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  •  The Tower of the Americas (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • The Alamodome (1 mi./1.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center with PC workstation
  • Grand Ballroom and 13 conference rooms available
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.8 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.1 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Market on Houston
Market on Houston is an urban marketplace, café, and wine bar. Using local and seasonal ingredients, our downtown San Antonio restaurant offers entrees, sandwiches, cheeses, and cured meats. Join us for our foodie happy hour on weekdays.
Bar 414
Bar 414 pays homage to the hotel’s rich history and to Robert Johnson with prohibition-era cocktails stirred with house-made ingredients and bootleg spirits. Enjoy live music, discreet libations, and delta blues within a speakeasy ambience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guapo
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Decent downtown spot

nice place, older so rooms a little small, we had to request a room change due to barking dog next door- careful, place allows pets. Overall ok, not stellar but good value for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio
Feb 14, 2010

horrible view

great hotel with a bad view of mechanical equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio, tx
Feb 21, 2011

Gunter

Pool area under renovation so could not use hot tub. Disappointed and they would not discount for inconvience. No parking accept valet at 22$. Had to park in public parking that cost 15$. Hotel did not reimburse for that. Overall would not reccomend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DFW Mom
Business
DFW, TX
Aug 30, 2010

Just OK but needs updating

We stayed in this hotel because of the wedding. I have to admit this hotel knows how to organize beautiful, first class wedding party. Can't tell the same about hotel rooms :( we had 2 rooms with 2 queen size beds. the rooms were VERY small. For one room we requested a crib and they gave us bigger room but the other one was REALLY small. When I plan to stay in 4 star hotel I expect to see refrigerator, bathrobes, cosmetic products like: shower cap, cotton swabs, sewing kit but they only gave us tiny bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap and old towels (thank God at least clean). I couldn't believe that there was no fridge in rooms! Good things: perfect location 5 minutes walking distance to Riverwalk, very comfortable beds. I know it's a historic hotel but MUST be renovated because everything looks old inside the rooms especially bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minutes walking distance to Riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio tx
Mar 18, 2011

Great location needs attention

Pretty Historic hotel with great location. Nice bones but needs attention- staff did their job but had little southern hospitality. Rooms were dated- hairy baseboards but clean sheets. Had a coffee maker but suggest you bring extra pods because your allowed one! San Antonio is a great get away but I've stayed in many nicer hotels for the same $$$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

River walk has great dining , bars, shopping & hours of kid friendly things. Alamo, la villitas, tower of America & many more are all walkabouts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wouldlikesomepaidtimeoff
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 12, 2011

Comfortable and Clean

Went there for work, this was my 2nd stay at the hotel. It was clean comfortable, not much to complain about. I had a nicer room the two other times i stayed there. I stayed two nights. It is in the middle of everything very accessible and easy access to many of the tourist stuff/riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good Food and Travel
Business
Chandler, AZ
Jul 30, 2014

Great location but noisy room

The Sheraton Gunther is situated just two blocks from the Riverwalk in San Antonio. Unfortunately, is is located near some very busy streets. It is difficult to enjoy a nap when you are frequently woken-up by the sound of the air breaks from tour busses and trucks. The room was attractively decorated and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is small, but had a nice old bathtub. The sink was in the bedroom. The first day we arrived the room smelled very dusty and the rug had not been vacuumed. The next day we complained and the management was responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Iron Cactus offers excellent Mexican food. The vegetarian enchiladas and the pork and green chile enchiladas are excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn NY
May 22, 2011

NOT WORTH IT

We booked the hotel during a trip we made to San Antonio to plan our wedding. We were staying at the Sheraton to get an idea if we would reccommend the hotel to our guests for that weekend. I am an SPG preferred customer and made sure to book a room with my membership.We are from NY and are used to high prices for little in return. Sheraton Gunter was dirty, ( no one had wiped the mirror, towels were spotted, and floors hadn't been vacumed.) Houskeeping barely moved anything when cleaning so our garbage- even if set in the garbage can, was never taken out. Beds were just thrown together- never completely made. They have old mattresses that squeek and dip in the middle. The cafe downstairs serves a cold and poor breakfast buffet equivalent to airline or hospital food. And parking in the garage is very expensive at $22 per day. The pool is tiny and filthy. My parents were put up in a similar room that had NO closet. In fact, it was 3 feet wide and only 6 inches deep!! How do you hang anything in there?! And when they borrowed a luggage cart from the bellman to hang their clothing, they were threatened and yelled at for "stealing it." How dare them!The hotel is older and we were looking forward to appreciating its charm, but with poor food, untidy rooms, and average location- this hotel is NOT worth it's price. Even on [...]. I highly reccommend the Valencia, Dury Inn, or even the Omni. They are closer to the Riverwalk and well worth their price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,TX
Nov 18, 2009

"Don't Do It"

The room we stayed in had a nonfuncitoning thermastat, and as a result nearly froze. It was explained to me the that hotel was an old building and that the room temperatures were controlled from their control...THANKS!!The television's network was not working and as a result could not order a movie. The valet parking sucked. When I called for my vehicle, I was told they were not taking call in's because they were too busy and was told to just come down and ask for the vehicle in person. They really need to get their cutomer care together there.. On check out when I mentioned the above all I was told was sorry.. I will definetly not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mexican restaurant Mi Tierra is located in the down town market square of san antonio.. It's a great place to stop by and enjoy the mexican culture. The food is authentic mexican food, the real deal.. The employee's are dressed in their india maria dresses and old talented men sing their hearts out..Great way to enjoy the mexican culture without the digusting sanitation found in mexico..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
harlingen, texas
Jun 6, 2009

Fair to Poor

my experience was mediocre at best. The Gunther is a nice hotel, except the quality has declined. Poor valet service, shower pressure was nil, and pillows in beds were horrible. (pillows were extremely flimsy, with no support.) the price was great, but the hotel lacks alot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

if you can put up with poor service, and bad water pressure, then the hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from riverwalk, clubs, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top