$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

4 stars
View map of 205 East Houston Street, 205 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc
Jan 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel!

Sightseeing weekend, lovely accomodations. Staff friendly, helpful and courteous. Huge room and well appointed. Would highly recommend, within walking distance of all the nicest attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Mar 28, 2010

great style, great downtown

the location is great. downtown san antonio was a terrific surprise. the riverwalk is a great tourist area. all the downtown buildings are interesting. beautiful area. alamo and riverwalk and mall/market are within walking distance of this hotel. the hotel staff was okay, not great. the elevators were remarkably fast. conference rooms aren't particularly soundproof, but the regular hotel rooms are. beautiful, historic lobby and facade. great stay if you can get a good price. service in the hotel bakery is terrible, but there's a good, cheap coffee shop breakfast place (sip) right across the street, so that's not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are about a zillion great, inexpensive restaurants on the riverwalk, so don't eat at any overpriced chains.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jan 30, 2011

Nice location

Went to the river walk every day. It was very close (2 minute walk at most). The hotel staff was friendly and the bakery inside was very good. Bathrooms are kind of small and Wifi costs in the rooms itself, but WiFi is free down in the lobby if you don't mind going down there. Nice widescreen tv! Good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the River Walk bars between 2 and 7! During this time, almost every bar is doing happy hour in which drinks are much cheaper than usual.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Valley, NJ
Oct 19, 2009

very nice hotel -- overall

Overall the Sheraton Gunter is a great hotel. Very close to the River Walk. Only complaints: a little mold on bathroom ceiling. They need better ventilation. And my room (#1133) was above fans for either the kitchens or HVAC. Definitely on the loud side! The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flguest2011
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Could have been better.

The location was ideal (although this obviously means expensive parking) and the lobby was beautiful, but once I got to the floor with my room, everything smelled like mildew. The room was ok besides the smell, but the bathroom was not very clean at all and had no counter space. There were hairs on the floor all around the toilet and base of the sink. The first morning, I showered before I realized there were no bath towels at all and had to dry off with hand towels. Once I requested some bath towels, the staff was helpful and apologetic. However, by far the best thing about this hotel was the bakery! Pastries were delicious and it was so nice to sit out at the tables on the sidewalk and enjoy my morning coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Gunter Bakery was fantastic - Starbucks coffee (including all the lattes, mochas, etc, not just the coffee) and delicious pastries. Highly recommend the cream horn.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lion King fans
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 24, 2009

very nice

Very nice hotel and a refreshing experience after a long drive. They politely accepted our 2 large dogs as well. Directly across the street from the Majestic Theatre...if you're going to see a show there, you can't find a closer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Unknown
Mar 18, 2011

Nice place!

Nice hotel. Service was great. Only thing that I saw was the carpet in my room needed cleaned that would have made the room appear much nicer. And bathroom towel fixture needed fixed it was detached from the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1 GOD
Business
Houston,TX
Jun 14, 2009

Great

We saw all the sight San Antonio had to offer. The location is right in the center of everything and the staff was grear. Great trip Orbitz rocks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Five Star Lady
Business
El Paso Texas
Mar 17, 2011

We loved it!

We go to San Antonio twice a year or more and the Gunter is our favorite hotel. It has history but the rooms are updated. The restaurant and coffe shop are great and the bar cozy and warm. We recommend the Gunter to all our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dinner at Acenar. It's only a few steps away and the food is fabulous. We liked the duck tacos and carmel crepes.

Review of Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single in San Antonio
Business
San Antonio, Tx
May 31, 2011

Weekend Escape!!

I enjoyed the Riverwalk Shops. Nothing was missing, New just were to go.Been here before and will keep coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top